? 4/26 Hugo AMPS 413 - Throwing up

Elle D & Hugo

Member Since 2020
Hugo's thrown up the last 2 mornings. Its weirdly silent too. When he puked before all this diabetes stuff we could hear him start for a while before he actually puked. He's eating immediately after. Can the appetite stimulant make him nauseated? He just had an abdominal ultrasound.

I gave him a little cerenia this morning. I hope it helps.
 
Has Hugo pooped recently? What is he vomiting food, bile, foam? Is it hairballs? How often is he fed? Is any of the food he gets new? You mentioned new treats, might stop them for awhile and see if that's it. Has he always gotten Friskies?
 
He's gotten Friskies for a while now. He's vomiting the food right after he eats it. I've seen him pee but not poop yet, which worries me. I'm gonna keep a close eye on the litterbox. I feed him typically 2-3 times a day. I'm gonna stop feeding him the new stuff to make sure it's not that.
 
Might want to feed more often. Cats do better on more smaller meals. If he spits at same time all the time you might try giving a snack 2-3 hrs before that time. Just no food 2 hrs prior to preshot test.
 
The link to your last post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-19-hugo-vet-curve-opinions.228591/

Which appetite stimulant is he getting? Some are supposed to have some mild anti nausea effects, so don't think that's it. I'd carefully track which proteins he's getting, and see if you can find a pattern. My vet was amused by my "vomit log", which tracked which meats and when the vomits. It was useful though. There are some common allergens, like fish, beef, chicken.

What dd

By the way, since you are following TR, looks like the reduction failed. You could increase back up.
 
If he is vomiting immediately after the meal it is regurgitation not vomit.
Is he bolting his food.
Harry used to regurgitate his food often until I put his food on a large plate and spread it out now he hardly ever regurgitates
 
He doesn't eat super fast, usually. He will only throw up once though. When he eats after throwing up, he keeps it down. It has also only happened in the mornings so far.
 
He doesn't eat super fast, usually. He will only throw up once though. When he eats after throwing up, he keeps it down. It has also only happened in the mornings so far.
That’s what Harry does. He loves his food and tends to eat it like he has to catch a train. Now that it’s in a big plate it has slowed him down and he rarely regurgitates. When they regurgitate they don’t Usually make a noise, it just slides out. With a vomit, you can hear the heaving first.
A snack at +9 is a good idea
 
Back
Top