4/26 Gizmo F AMPS 535 PMPS Hi +3 586

Status
Not open for further replies.

tobakett

Member Since 2018
Yesterdays convo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-25-gizmo-f-amps-355-pmps-265-4-302.194658/#post-2178373

Ugh, I'm going to be sick. I don't know what to do. I have a Dr's appt at 7:30 and then have to be to work by 10 and can't call out. Maybe if I get out early enough I will have time to speed home quick but I don't know. I closed myself in a separate room to cry while hes eating so he doesn't see/hear me and upset him. I don't know what black means. I don't understand. Things were getting better I thought. I ripped apart the house and there's nothing he got into. The temptations treats were put into my car to start giving a neighborhood cat that comes by. And I have to call the vet today and report his numbers, I'm worried she's going to tell me to bring him in..I can't afford a hospitalization, hes acting fine, woke me up 15 minutes before my alarm and stalked me around the house begging for food until it was time.
 
:bighug::bighug:

No worries. You will get there. You have only been giving insulin a very short time.

I completely understand the behind door crying. :bighug:

Maybe forget to call the vet?:D

Are you testing for ketones?
 
Not yet...I'm not exactly what to buy and not sure how to do it...do you just follow them to the litterbox and hope they let you stick it under the stream?

I hate leaving him home...he went and curled up under the couch but he does that a lot after eating so it's not unusual for him....is he going to be safe while I'm at work with that high of a number? The spreadsheet turned it black which is scary.
 
Try to breath, George was a sea of red and black for a few weeks when he started insulin.

How is he? Remember he is more than just the numbers
How are the 5 p's?
Peeing
pooping
preening
playing
purring

Is his apetitie normal?

If he's behaving normally try not to worry.:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
5 Ps are good and he wolfed down his food.

Chatted with my doc this morning when she asked how life was going and apparently even humans go all over the board when they start Lantus, she was shocked they even give it to cats, lol.

Now I'm waiting in line to get MY blood tested. Do - I - get a treat after? :P They take a whole lot more from me...(I think 9 tubes this time, ugh)
 
is he going to be safe while I'm at work with that high of a number?
Yes. Realize that this was possibly the norm before you started insulin and testing. I know it is scary (take a look at my Gizmo's 2016 SS/when we started). Gizmo has a multitude of complications so he isn't well regulated currently (or ever for that matter). No matter what his numbers are, remember they are better than doing NOTHING!

Also realize there isn't much you can do about the high(er) numbers except to keep doing what you are doing. Gizmo has to get used to better numbers, adjust to the low(er) numbers and while doing that his little body will "revolt" with a bounce :eek::smuggrin:. Who knows how low he got the AM cycle of 04/25 but it could have been lower than he is used to and - hence the black (bounce) this morning.

As you test more (gather data) you will be able to see patterns in his numbers. Others here will help point them out too (I didn't see them for a long time - lol). The more tests you can get the easier it will be to see those patterns (which I know is difficult working) :bighug:
 
Well, vampires took too long so no time to run home, but I feel a lot better that he is probably okay. Thanks all.

Gonna swing by Target real quick and pick up some neosporin and some cotton rounds since I am sure those will be more comfy than paper towel folded up. Can't wait to get home today and give him some extra lovin' though.

Like kitty, like catmom...they had to stick me 7 times to get enough blood....let's see how MY numbers look, lol.

My treat is chocolate raspberry covered almonds :)
 
My treat is chocolate raspberry covered almonds :)
sounds nice

To answer your question
it's ketostix you require for ketone testing should be easily available at pharmacy
ketostix_1.jpg


And the method I found easiest with George was to scooch a large spoon/ladle under his bottom to gather some pee. Once he starts he won't stop, though I do get a bit of an indignant look from him.:oops:
 
PMPS the meter just says HI. I don't know what that means?! I'm guessing that means it's off the charts? Hes acting just fine, but I'm kinda kinda lost and scared.

He ate all his food today. No vomit I can find. He greeted me at the door, and seemed to like the cotton pad and the neosporin made the blood test easier. Litterbox has plenty of pee, but Target was sold out of ketostix. Just giving him his normal dose of insulin even though my brain is screaming to give him more I know because of the depot I shouldn't do that.

My mother sent him a get well card in the mail.

And while typing this he just jumped over me to go steal the treat I had set aside for him for after shot.
 
When did you stop the dry?

It sounds like he's feeling good. Cheeky little monkey stealing the treats.

Shooting the 1u was the right choice, I know how hard it is to see those blacks numbers.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last time they had any dry food at all was the day he started insulin, and then it was just a few small pieces that were in his puzzle. So 5 days ago?

I'm suddenly paranoid I'm not injecting him right or something. I pinch near the back of his neck by his shoulder blades and pinch up like a tent and I poke down into the "pocket" (fold?) that is made that the vet showed. I will usually gently blow first just to make sure I am hitting skin and I angle it slightly down ward to make sure I am going into him and not just skimming the surface or going through and through. I never met any resistance. I try to pull back a little to make sure I am not hitting a vein but honestly I don't think I have gotten the hang of that and I get worried I am going to pull back too far and sick up something I shouldn't. I always gently let him after to check for any blood or wetness and haven't felt any yet. I try and switch between left, center and right so I don't inject the same area twice in a row.

When loading, I push and pull the plunger out a few times first to make it pull easy then push it in as far as I can to squeeze out as much air as I can and co tongue to hold that down as I insert it into the pen. I then carefully pull back and pull out slightly more than I need (roughly 1.25 unit) since there is always a tiny airbuble that I suspect is what is in the needle itself that can't be pushed out. I then hold the plug for steady as I pull out so the pen can't suck it back in. I carefully hold the syringe needle side up and tap the air bubble free and carefully twist the plunger until a tiny drop comes out, then the airbuble and any excess to bring it to the 1 unit mark.

The pen gets store in the fridge, in a cup where it doesn't get jostled or moved. The extra ones stay in their box in the dark near the back where they wont get touched.

I have a huge phobia of needles and blood (that apparently I have managed to put aside for him, but not for me as I passed out cold today having my own blood drawn) so I have zero experience with them.
 
Deep breath. I had lots of times the meter greeted me "Hi". It just means over 600. In this case I suspect that during the day yesterday he got lower than he is used to, and he's bouncing. This will pass.

I too am not great with blood and needles. My friends were astonished that I could blood test and shoot the cat. Gotta do what you gotta do. :bighug:
 
I think I might try and get a +3 and +6 tonight, I doubt I'm sleeping before midnight-30. Unfortunately I don't think I can get a good curve until Sunday since Saturday we have plans and my boyfriend is really trying to make me not just shut myself in the house every time I don't have to be at work. We did re-arrange some of our commitments to host at our place (like an RPG game we were playing on Thursdays) just so that it's easier to just step away for a few minutes rather than having to show up super late or leave for an hour or so for injections. But Saturday was a big board game event at a local bar so we committed to go to it, it goes all afternoon and evening, so I am planning on getting a +6 before we leave, ducking out for an hour to come home and do evening shot, and then test when we get home at probably between +4 and +6 that evening. But Sunday is D&D at our house so we should be home all day. He might hate me with all the testing but maybe by then his little liver will have calmed the beep down.

He did eat like 80% of his dinner, then got distracted by BF doing stuff in the kitchen. Knowing his patterns he will probably meander back and eat the rest in like half an hour. In comparison, his civvie sister only ate like half her food.
 
Just get what tests you can get. It is important to still have a life too :D

Years ago we would have shuffle board tournaments that were all day/evening events on Saturdays. So much fun.

I use a blood ketone meter. It (and the strips) are more expensive than the pee stix but Gizmo would never allow me to "watch" him in the LB :rolleyes:

This is the meter
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/3401/nova-max-plus-glucose-ketone-meter-kit

The strips take more blood than the glucose strips so if you decide to go this route just be aware of that. The strips are ~$2/each :eek::smuggrin:
 
+3 586 coming down, I guess. Gonna try and get a +6 and hopefully he comes down more. I'm nervous about giving them their bedtime meal in about an hour or so but I know I gotta stick to the routine so his body can learn to adjust.

Opened up the windows so he could enjoy the fresh breeze and he spent some time chirping at the neighbors who walked by. His ear bled a lot when I stuck him for the +3, I think I might have hit right on the vein but he didn't seem to notice much, he seemed much more focused on when he would get his treat, I gave him the smallest little piece of purebite I could spot from the top of the package. He did a loop around the house and now has come back to curl up at my feet on the couch.
 
Because hes so high, should I skip mixing in his old prescription food that is the higher carb that I've been weaning him off or just stay the course? I was planning on making the switch this weekend when I have a little more time to observe (and after he has had the insulin for a full week) but I'm wondering if cutting the carbs now hoping to bring down his numbers is a good idea?
 
I decided to play it safe and stick to the course, did a mix of the old food and Fancy Feast classic, mixed with 2 tablespoons water. Gizmo cleaned his plate, although he did take a 10 minute break, I suspect because he was waiting for Widget to finish so he could move into her spot to lick from a different angle. He does that a lot.

It's almost midnight and hes in good spirits and I don't feel like getting him all stressed by testing again. If the number is still high I can't do anything about it and it will just stress me out more...it seems silly to take a 50/50 shot at less sleep when I can't -do- anything.

Let's hope a good nights sleep will be good for us both and the morning will be better :( This all black day has been H E double toothpicks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top