4/26 Dave AMPS 243, +2 290, +5 312, +6 299 Dosing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

panda28

Member Since 2017
Hey there, Jacqui here looking for more advice about Dave. He seemed to be dropping for a bit, but today he's come back up again, and some dosing advice would be great. I'm at school at the moment, but should be able to update his SS in about 2 hours.

He's semi-recently changed to a lower carb wet food, and is currently on 1u twice daily. I'm following TR, but was going to wait until the weekend before increasing the dose if possible. Now it seems like it's coming back up, I'm prepared to change it earlier. His last meal was at AMPS, and then another at +6, so he'll probably have gone up a lot by tonight (he's on 65g of 3% carb canned food each meal). I'll update with any new numbers.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-25-dave-pmps-272-6-126.176932/#post-1948703
 
I think you can go back up to 1.25 whenever you are ready. That flat yellow cycle might be followed by a more active one so do test when you get home.
 
I gave him it about 20 minutes ago - a smidgen more than 1u. Probably close to 1.1u. I'll test him at +6.
Good idea! It's called fattening the dose on the LL board :).

When you update the SS put f1U in the dosage cell so the ppl know what his dose is like. ECID of course but that fattening for a tiny drop made significant difference in response in my cat, check her SS.

I would get the +2 or maybe +2.5 test - you can never be too cautious with the dose increase. If the number at +2.5 safe - you are good. If it is too low compared to PMPS you may need to watch out.

Hope the increase works well for Dave!:bighug:
 
At +2 he's 15.9 (286). Do you think he'll be good until +6?
It could be an active cycle with the +2 being a lower number. When the +2 is the same number as the preshot or lower, it could be active. It's hard to say with any certainty if he'll be okay till +6 as he dropped drastically on 4/20 down to 43 from 338 but, that was a higher dose too. Guess what I am saying is if you can get a test before then it would be best.
 
I am glad you were around Bobbie!
I would take 297 and 286 as the same...:(
Although on the second thought - the 286 is after food number, it makes difference, right?
The two numbers are about the same but when the +2 is the same or lower it could be active , and yes the reason is because it's after food when the BG should be higher after eating. So if the number isn't higher, it means to be vigilant.
 
Dave just vomited - no food, just liquid and a decent sized hairball. His last meal was four hours ago, and his next will be in about two. He also gave a negative ketone reading about an hour ago. Should I do anything different?
 
Dave just vomited - no food, just liquid and a decent sized hairball. His last meal was four hours ago, and his next will be in about two. He also gave a negative ketone reading about an hour ago. Should I do anything different?
Sorry about the hairball and vomit. Good on no ketone. Often after a vomit their BG will go up a little from stress. You should be good till the +6.
 
Another big vomit... no hair this time, just froth. I'll feed him his normal meal. His +6 was 11.4 (205). I'm seriously wondering if he managed to catch and eat a lizard or something...


Edit: he's really eating the food I gave him. Mum said that he vomited (the first time) after licking where she wiped him with baby wipes. I don't know - he's never really been a 'vomitty' cat before.
 
Last edited:
Another big vomit... no hair this time, just froth. I'll feed him his normal meal. His +6 was 11.4 (205). I'm seriously wondering if he managed to catch and eat a lizard or something...


Edit: he's really eating the food I gave him. Mum said that he vomited (the first time) after licking where she wiped him with baby wipes. I don't know - he's never really been a 'vomitty' cat before.
Just keep a close eye on him. Get a urine ketone test in today sometime.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top