4/26 Atlas AMPS 187, +4 179, +8 269, +11 247

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth & Atlas

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

carolynandlatte said:
Hi Beth-
I just wanted to compliment you on that well written article for DCIN. I've shared it in various groups on FB. Thank you for taking the time to share your story.

And still, I am so amazed with Atlas's strength AND yours! You two are an unbeatable pair. :mrgreen:

Thank you Carolyn. Sometimes I do not have much to give, but I can write as long as I have an editor!!! ;-)

Diabetic Cats in Need has stuck with us through a terrible, terrible time. At that time when I contacted Venita regarding Attie and the change in DX....it was to tell her I was going to lose Attie's life...clearly not expecting anyone to save it(vet included). I classify what I witnessed the last week or so, along the lines of Angels and Miracles. Other people believing, when I myself couldn't...even up until a few days ago with the final withdrawal of antivirals and antibiotics. I have been waiting for the other shoe drop, like it did for the siamese cat...

I expected the numbers to bounce up as the antibiotics were withdrawn and Attie's immune system was tested. So seeing this blue this morning is a relief.

Threats from the Outside--One Reason to Keep Vaccinations Current
 
Re: 4/26 Atlas AMPS 187

Nice blues for Attie today! Miracles definitely happen at LL. You are a great great bean and Attie is one lucky guy. Hugs to you Beth!
 
Re: 4/26 Atlas AMPS 187, +4 179

Hi guys .. I love these numbers on attie! I have to agree, miracles do seem to happen quite often in LL .. makes me :-D have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/26 Atlas AMPS 187, +4 179, +8 269

Beth you and Attie are an inspiration to many. Miracles do happen. They don't happen often enough but when one does, it reinforces ones ability to keep hope alive. I saw Maverick come back from being so close to death. I cried for days thinking I had made the wrong decision. My husband wasn't talking to me. I had to try everything I could and seeing him recover I try and give others hope that recoveries can and do happen.

It is amazing how much our "pets" can impact our lives and teach us life lessons - more than humans in our lives. Our heart is open to it. Think of how many people will never understand.

Think of all the people you and Attie has touched on his journey. Pretty amazing. Thank you for being part of this amazing family.
 
Dr. Nappier, DVM just called to check up on Atlas and see how he is doing...

He has Attie's SS bookmarked on his computer! :lol: He wants me to hold this dose for another week or so...

I told him about Attie's latest kibble escapades and I told him what he did was pull off a miracle. He simply said, "It is, I think so too." He knows Attie's whole story now from shelter to foster to surgery to now this. He said, "Atlas deserves to have it easy from now on."

Well I think so too. And if he is to 'have it easy from now on' maybe it is finally time to change his shelter name. Maybe it is time to tell Atlas and all that it implies...his burden is retired and his punishment paid in full.

Atlas was the son of Iapetus. Unlike his brothers Prometheus and Epimetheus, Atlas fought with the other Titans supporting Cronus against Zeus. Due to Cronus's advance age Atlas lead the Titan's in battle. As a result he was singled out by Zeus for a special punishment and made to hold up the world on his back.
 
In thinking about a new name and keeping in mind his orange color, his love of life, and his gentle spirit...

Coupled with his sheer size...

How does Marnier sound? As in Grand Marnier?

A 'neat' cognac, used in life's finest desserts...sweet and of celebration!
 
Sounds good to me, Beth and Marnier! (But I still think of him as Attie). Thanks for posting his story. We are so glad he is feeling better.

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
so glad to hear he's doing better! i've always thought Attie was strong . . . but whatever you name him, i'll do my best to call him! all great news, beth!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top