4/26 Ares AMPS 145 +2.5 154 +5 126 PMPS 155 +3 130

I am sure last night was very scary. I don't think you were complacent at all. He didn't give you any indication at pmps that he would go low early and even the +3 was not low. He never dropped under 40 either. It was a fluke. I am glad you took the reduction. One of the things I like about TR is you can always go up if a reduction fails. I don't think it will this time but at least you don't need to wait a week like with SLGS if it does.
 
I would not have expected the BG to go back down after it was up!
PMPS 113 +3 69 +6 56 +6.5 57 +7 66 +7.75 58 ~+8.5 102

How were you complacent?

I took at +3 and it was a lil lower than we were used to at 69...even tho i fed him 7% which is pretty hi for him. Went to bed not worried about it because i had gotten used to him bumping back around 5.
i definitely should have gotten a +4.5 or a +5....it would have saved him all the stress he went thru last night poor guy. He went hypo in there between +3 and +6 and it was prolonged enough to give him a few hours worth of symptoms. If i had just gotten a test i could have given him some MC and kept him from all that. :rolleyes::(
 
Last edited:
I am sure last night was very scary. I don't think you were complacent at all. He didn't give you any indication at pmps that he would go low early and even the +3 was not low. He never dropped under 40 either. It was a fluke. I am glad you took the reduction. One of the things I like about TR is you can always go up if a reduction fails. I don't think it will this time but at least you don't need to wait a week like with SLGS if it does.


i feel like Ares has a low tolerance for getting hypo symptoms...this will be his 3rd time with them.

And yes everytime it is scary. Im more calm dealing with it now, but its still always scary and very sad too.
 
I took at +3 and it was a lil lower than we were used to at 69...even tho i fed him 7% which is pretty hi for him. Went to bed not worried about it because i had gotten used to him bumping back around 5.
i definitely should have gotten a +4.5 or a +5....it would have saved him all the stress he went thru last night poor guy. He went hypo in there between +3 and +6 and it was prolonged enough to give him a few hours worth of symptoms. If i had just gotten a test i could have gave him some MC and kept him from all that. :rolleyes::(

I see! You know your Ares!
There are times I pick up Leo to test him (on the counter or even while sitting on the couch) and he feels limp. I think, uh-oh, he must be low. Nope. Even the few times he's been under 50, he doesn't act like it.
Plus, once Leonis going up, it seems he keeps going that direction until the next shot.

Your post tells us that we need to know our cat.... and testing is the way. Have a good day!
 
So, just my two cents for whatever it's worth - if he were my cat I probably would not be following TR. If he gets symptomatic like that, and you're sure it's BG related, even though its nothing "serious" like being limp or seizures, I wouldn't want to be actively keeping him near that range.

I don't know that that is enough to allow you to go the custom TR route, because from what I've seen that is usually only reserved for cats with underlying issues + undergoing some sort of treatment that requires padding for BG safety (like acro cats on meds or post- radiation).

I don't exactly like the inflexibility of SLGS in this case either, even though you can modify it.

Might get some flak for this, but I think I would be looking to do a sort of custom dosing similar to TR but with a reduction point around 60. Looking at his SS recently that would have been a reduction on 3/25, may have helped avert the symptomatic hypo 2 days later. Reduction on 4/15 may have avoided the lime a few days later but I don't see any symptom notes there. It's not entirely foolproof however, because last night wouldn't have been "avoided" (unless the prior reduction let him run a little higher) and the downside to a higher reduction point is that it may allow numbers to creep up more overall.

Just some food for thought
 
So, just my two cents for whatever it's worth - if he were my cat I probably would not be following TR. If he gets symptomatic like that, and you're sure it's BG related, even though its nothing "serious" like being limp or seizures, I wouldn't want to be actively keeping him near that range.

I don't know that that is enough to allow you to go the custom TR route, because from what I've seen that is usually only reserved for cats with underlying issues + undergoing some sort of treatment that requires padding for BG safety (like acro cats on meds or post- radiation).

I don't exactly like the inflexibility of SLGS in this case either, even though you can modify it.

Might get some flak for this, but I think I would be looking to do a sort of custom dosing similar to TR but with a reduction point around 60. Looking at his SS recently that would have been a reduction on 3/25, may have helped avert the symptomatic hypo 2 days later. Reduction on 4/15 may have avoided the lime a few days later but I don't see any symptom notes there. It's not entirely foolproof however, because last night wouldn't have been "avoided" (unless the prior reduction let him run a little higher) and the downside to a higher reduction point is that it may allow numbers to creep up more overall.

Just some food for thought

I was also thinking along same lines, and also thinking it cud be a good or bad thing... for a reduction at 55. But yes he doesn't get symptoms EVERY time....i believe its just when i dont catch it for like an hour or more...then his brain begins to suffer from too much time being under. (i call this prolonged low bg)
im too am worried about the numbers creeping back up if i reduce too quickly.

great minds think alike.

***i think at this point i need to be more careful and look at his SS with more scrutiny before leaving and before going to bed. ***

I hope u dont get flak just for thinking out loud...because I have been thinking the same. its not like u told me to do it. :confused:
 
I've never shied away from flak ;) the methods and guidelines are in place for a reason and I understand that, but I do also think there's a time and a place to consider that sometimes it doesn't fit every cat.
 
I've never shied away from flak ;) the methods and guidelines are in place for a reason and I understand that, but I do also think there's a time and a place to consider that sometimes it doesn't fit every cat.
me too after all one of the big points on the forums is ECID....so :bighug:
 
Back
Top