4/25 Zoe AMPS 232 +4~126 PMPS 216 Dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sherry & Zoe (GA)

Member Since 2009
Last Condo

I wish I could get her out of the yellows for pre-shots, she comes down nicely and is blue the rest of the day. Zoe was very quiet all day yesterday, ate well, but wasn't interested in her toys or playing....she did poop overnight and then threw-up a little bit, so maybe her tummy isn't feeling well. I am thinking about raising her dose to 1.5 (1.25 currently) - our vet has strongly encouraged me NOT to raise her dose any further but I am leaning towards bumping it a little......any thoughts or suggestions?

She is eating well today and is currently hiding, because the big evil vacuum cleaner is sitting out in the living room :roll:

Healing white light to all the LL kitties and civviess that are not feeling well - hope this is a good week for everyone.
 
Re: 4/25 Zoe AMPS 232 +4~126 Dose?

Sherry, are you feeding Zoe anything in the middle of the night? What works a little for Simon and lower pre-shots is to feed him a tsp. or so of food at +8 after the PM shot. I have an automatic feeder that opens at 2:00 AM and Simon has adapted well to it. You can play around with the time between +7 to +9 to see what works best for Zoe and what might help bring her down from the yellows in the AM.

I can't recommend dose changes but I'm sure someone with more expert dosing advice will be along soon.
 
Re: 4/25 Zoe AMPS 232 +4~126 Dose?

If you want to try Georgia's suggestion, I would monitor Zoe's numbers very carefully. With some cats, if their pancreas isn't kicking in, feeding after nadir may raise the pre-shot numbers since there's less Lantus that's available at the end of the cycle to counteract the effect of the food.

I would see how things go today. I do think you have room to increase Zoe's dose. However, once you say you want to raise the dose, Zoe may decide something different. Check in again closer to shot time.
 
Re: 4/25 Zoe AMPS 232 +4~126 Dose?

@Georgia - I do leave Zoe a big serving of food when I go to bed at her +5 or +6 and it is gone in the morning. I do have an autofeeder and maybe I need to set it back up - I usually use it when we go away - makes it simple for our pet sitter. Her AMPS could be influenced by food, since I don't know when she eats last. I will try the autofeeder over the next couple of nights and see if I get better numbers in the AM - thanks for suggesting it!
 
Re: 4/25 Zoe AMPS 232 +4~126 Dose?

Hi, Sherry.. good luck with the dosecrease.. I agree, please be careful when trying the suggestion.. I had remembered that tip when Baby was doing so well from last time & I would feed her at +9 & guaranteed a lower preshot # always.. however, this time around.. I implemented that & only got higher preshot #s because her pancreas is not ready for that & the Lantus is wearing off at that time. I think it probably works well for Georgia because Simon is mainly greens/blues .
I quickly cut out that snack & try not to feed after +7.. worth a try for Zoe though! Good luck!
 
Re: 4/25 Zoe AMPS 232 +4~126 +5~147 Dose?

Hi Sherry - good luck with the dosecrease. I too agree with all that has already been said. Good luck!

nice cycle this morning!
 
Re: 4/25 Zoe AMPS 232 +4~126 +5~147 Dose?

Hi guys .. no advice here, but I guess you have to do what you feel most comfortable with .. a little extra juice might not be a bad idea, just keep your eyes on her .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/25 Zoe AMPS 232 +4~126 +5~147 Dose?

@Sienne - Thanks for the tip - I understand what you are saying about feeding after nadir and there being less lantus available - Zoe is used to eating about every 2 hours, I don't think I could not feed her from +7 or +8 until PS - she would probably take a bite out of my leg. :shock: I will keep the meals after +7 just small bites of low carb food and nothing after +10. When I go to bed, I just leave out food mixed with a lot of water for her to snack on as she wants - some mornings the food is gone and sometimes there is some left - is this OK or might this be the cause of the higher AMPS?

@Nichole - I remember doing that with Zoe too - doesn't seem like her pancreas is much help right now at all. I may have to set up the auto feeder just so she doesn't have food after +9 - which will be interesting as she is very used to eating when she likes. :roll:

@Devon - thanks for stopping in - always like to see pretty Mocha's face!

@Michelle - I'm still debating the dosecrease - part of me is ready to do it and part of me is not quite there yet. However, I will be home the next 2 days to monitor so I could bump her dose a bit in the am.....hmmmm something to think about! :?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top