? 4/25 TR Jenks AMPS 72 +6 45 +7 42 +9.5 58 PMPS 80 +5 96 +8 89

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
4/24

Oh Jenks, what are you up to?

45 at +6, which explains why he was so frisky. Gave him some 12% Mixed Grill and a few dry treats and was ready to head out the door for a bit when I saw him back eating again a little later. A quick check shows we're now down to 42, which means his cycle powered right through the food without so much as a hiccup. So I gave him some 21% gravy with a little karo. That will float him for awhile, but if he starts sinking into PMPS, I may have to consider another half dose or something.

So we're on Day 3 of 3.5U. What's Jenks telling us about this dose? Too much? Wait & see?
 
I think Jenks wants another reduction!!

Since he's an "older" diabetic (over a year) you could wait for 3 drops below 50 before reducing, but he's been holding his reductions lately AMAZINGLY well, so I'd probably just take the reduction tonight!!

Way to go Jenks!!
 
I'd reduce again - it's been long enough since the last reduction that it's not likely to be depot action left over from the 4.0u dose. As low as he is surfing I don't think I"d choose the 3 times under 50 option for Jenks. I'd probably go to 3.0 for his new dose if I were shooting, but you also have the option of going to 3.25u if you want. Either way he still might go lower tonight, so if you don't want that to happen, your half dose idea might be helpful.

He's sure moving fast down the dosing scale!
 
Thanks, as always, for your help @Chris & China and @julie & punkin (ga).

Jenks is driving this bus, so we'll see what stop we're at for PMPS. If he's lower (for Jenks, <70), then he'll probably get a half dose. Higher than that, and I'd go for the suggested reduced 3.0U.

Considering that after treats and gravy/karo he's only up to 58, that tells me that this is a very active cycle and we probably won't get much more out of him. There's not much left to do to bolster his numbers now that we're in the two hour fast before PMPS anyway.
 
Jenks had no carb intervention for the 5 hours leading up to PMPS, and ended up giving us a solid 80. So rather than BCS dose him, we took a reduction to 3.0U. Now we'll just settle in and see what he does.

Nice work Jenks :) Keep it up!
 
Rising a bit as we approach midcycle. Maybe this is a little new dose wonkiness because he exhibited the same thing the first two cycles at 3.5U before settling in.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top