4/25 siujim amps (468) +6 (327) pmps (437)

Status
Not open for further replies.

sun

Member
hey folks,

i disappear for somedays, because my vet is on leave for 3-4 weeks and the other vet at the clinic asking me to do something very different than your practices...

she asked me not to take blood as too many figures will confuse us rathe than help us. and she also says taking too many blood will cause stress for siujim...

but then i realize she losing weight again (though very little) and vomited 5days ago...
and i started to ask... waiting for her reply for 2-3 days...
and then she said she won't say raise the dose yet...

and my vet can only be back in early may.

i am very lost.
so today, i checked siujim blood again and is much higher...
pls note spread sheet that her figures are not too good but lower than 400.
the curve is flat.

and today, it jumps up over 400 for amps and pmps...

i really don't know.
i will send the info to the vet again... but... i am not sure what she will say...

and 10 more days before my vet resume work...

she is eating normal though...
and i started to use a new bottle of insulin today. the old one is used for 25 days. i usually use a new bottle in a month-time.

i know you also don't know what to suggest perhaps... but i just want to share my difficult position...

thx.
anson
 
I understand your position. The truth is, most vets in the US believe the same way yours does. Many of us on the board decide to follow this protocol instead of what our vets recommend, because it makes more sense to us. Some of us are lucky, and once our cats start to do well our vets will listen and learn from what we have done. Others find their vets very unwilling to cooperate. It's a difficult choice, to choose between following your vet's instructions or following some strangers on the internet. You just have to think about what makes sense to you, and what results you want, and how you think you can best get those results.

I think it is unfair for your vet to leave you without help for a number of weeks. In my opinion, if their practices and their advice were satisfactory to you, you would not keep coming back here.

If Siujim were my cat, for the next 3 days I would test at AMPS and PMPS each day, and at least one other time in the middle of each cycle (including at night before bed). Then I would post here again for some input on the dose. I have a feeling he does need more insulin, but cannot recommend that without seeing some numbers over more than one cycle.

I hope this helps a little bit. Almost all of us have been in a very similar situation.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top