4/25 Simon PMPS 192

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
At least his AMPS is yellow today instead of pink! I am really starting to think about switching Simon to Lev to see if that might help. Simon just isn't doing as well as he did in the beginning of his diagnosis and maybe a switch to another insulin may help. Thank you Tracy for your helpful information! Now to convince my vet!

Off to tbp. Shouldn't be as bad as yesterday now that my presentation is over. Now I just have to work on my budget :sad: . I am so not a numbers person and would rather spend my day hanging out with our participants. But you gotta take the bad with the good.

Have a wonderful day! Today is my last day at tbp before I take a few days off. Tomorrow is DH's birthday and we are going to spend a couple of days doing fun stuff around Atlanta or a few hours away. Can't really go anywhere because my usual cat sitter (My DM) is out of town. Still will be fun!

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69438
 
Re: 4/25 Simon AMPS 278

Georgia, good luck with talking to your Vet and switching to Lev. I'm glad you have Tracy to talk with since she just made the switch. How exciting to take a few days off to celebrate DH's birthday. So today would be Happy Friday for you. :-D
 
Re: 4/25 Simon AMPS 278

Sunny yellow is much better than the pinks. Good luck with the Lev talk with your vet. I have been toying with the idea as well, but just bought 5 pens.

Glad your presentation is over and now just budget. I am an accountant so I love numbers. However, I originally worked at a mental hospital with the patients as a treatment worker and it never seemed like I had enough time with them. There was always a ton of paperwork.

Enjoy your time off with DH. Sounds like a lot of fun!

Have a great day Georgia!
 
Re: 4/25 Simon AMPS 278

good morning georgia! i was looking at simon's ss because of your comments about him not doing well - looks like he was doing great until the middle of march.

i wonder if his allergies are causing his BG to rise. if inflammation can cause BG to rise, i would think allergies might be in the same category. they cause a rise in eosinophils, which is one kind of white blood cell. i only know this because punkin's got allergies too and the vet just went over the labs with me last week.

is he still on the antihistamine? his ss goes through 9 days of it and then doesn't mention it. either way, i think it's good you're increasing his dose to push him down a little bit. might be something to watch for when allergy season ends, because if you've had to increase to compensate, when the season ends, you might need to decrease.

i looked at last year's numbers around the same time - hard to tell though because he was on baytril, had a dental, and it looks like lots of stuff going on. he did decrease in dose in september . . . i don't know - just throwing it out there as a possibility.
 
Re: 4/25 Simon AMPS 278

Hi guys .. no advice from me on the lev switch, but it sure seems like quite a few people are thinking about switching or have made the switch .. And yes, sunny yellow is better then some "other" colors .. Hope you and your DH have fun this weekend .. have a great day!
 
I'll definitely take the blue!

Ann, unfortunately today was not actually like Friday because I now have to go into work for a few hours tomorrow morning due to some issues this afternoon. Sigh... But, I still will have 1/2 day and whole day on Friday.

Melissa, I didn't realize you are an accountant. I always envy people that can do budget stuff without stressing about it for days.

Julie, you are probably right with the allergies. Unfortunately, Simon seems like he has allergies all year long. Of course, this is probably still the worse time of the year. Simon was on an anti-histimine for 10 days and then I thought I would give him a little break and see how he does without it because his bg seems to always be higher when he is on it. My vet wants to give him Convenia because he thinks it might help but I am way to worried about it due to problems from others with the drug. Simon isn't scratching as much as he was so maybe it is getting a little better (paws and fingers crossed).

Thanks Devon for your wonderful support!

And thanks everyone for well wishes for DH and his birthday.
 
Isn't Convenia and antibiotic? Why would your vet want to give that for allergies? I agree with you...I'd be way too nervous to go that route.

I'm sorry you've got to go in for a bit tomorow, but it sounds like you've got some fun stuff planned...enjoy!!
 
Hey no prob Georgia!! I'm happy to help. It sounds like quite a few beans are considering the switch to Lev, wouldn't it be nice if more vets offered it instead of us having to ask/beg for it?

That's not a bad PMPS for Simon, i hope he comes down to greens for you.

I hope you enjoy your long weekend, and say Happy Birthday to your DH.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top