? 4/25 Simon AMPS 441 Dose Review

Katrina & Simon

Member Since 2025
Recent post
This is day 3 and PM will be 6 cycles after dose increase of 0.25, so depending on his numbers today, he will need an increase of 0.25 tomorrow (morning of 7th cycle), is that right? Sorry for so many questions! I appreciate all the guidance here, I'm constantly doubting myself and how to follow this protocol.
 
Recent post
This is day 3 and PM will be 6 cycles after dose increase of 0.25, so depending on his numbers today, he will need an increase of 0.25 tomorrow (morning of 7th cycle), is that right? Sorry for so many questions! I appreciate all the guidance here, I'm constantly doubting myself and how to follow this protocol.
Hi Katrina, I would use the ? Prefix and ask for “dose review” in your tile.

Are you able to get a second test in in the evening perhaps even before bed?
With TR, you should be doing at least a second test after your pre-shot to see where Simon is heading for the night. (That goes for the daytime as well a second test).
You would want to know if you need to do any further testing, if he’s dropping lower, if it were overnight, especially.
A good time to test is around +3 and that usually gives you an indication of how the cycle will go for you.

Remember with TR, you want him to be above 50 as a minimum nadir.

Since there aren’t many tests after preshot, we don’t really know how low the dose it taking Simon.
I am hoping if you put up a question, you’ll get some advice on dosing.
🥰
 
Hi Katrina, I would use the ? Prefix and ask for “dose review” in your tile.

Are you able to get a second test in in the evening perhaps even before bed?
With TR, you should be doing at least a second test after your pre-shot to see where Simon is heading for the night. (That goes for the daytime as well a second test).
You would want to know if you need to do any further testing, if he’s dropping lower, if it were overnight, especially.
A good time to test is around +3 and that usually gives you an indication of how the cycle will go for you.

Remember with TR, you want him to be above 50 as a minimum nadir.

Since there aren’t many tests after preshot, we don’t really know how low the dose it taking Simon.
I am hoping if you put up a question, you’ll get some advice on dosing.
🥰
I can try to get more after PM tests in, I'll need to move his shot time 2 hrs earlier to do so. I know it's the area with the least amount of tests and info and that I need to get more tests. I just sleep through my alarms at night so that's why I think I need to move his shot time earlier. I usually go to bed at +1 from his current PM shot time.

I will change the heading, thank you!
 
I just sleep through my alarms at night so that's why I think I need to move his shot time earlier. I usually go to bed at +1 from his current PM shot time.
I have the same problem. I do wake up to my 4:30am alarm and try to shoot at 5:00am or so.
But in the PM after my dinner, I am soon fast asleep. I need 26 hours in a day.
 
Hi Katrina, This is unrelated to your question, but I see that Simon had a dental. What was the outcome of that? Did he need extractions?

Updated to say SIMON!
 
Do you know how to move the shot time back? You would shoot 15 minutes early each cycle or 30 minutes early all at once every 24 hours. I’ll link the list on that for you. A second test each night is important as many cats start going lower at night. A before bed test would help.

Info - Getting back on a 12/12 shot schedule
Yes, I know it takes some time to move it back, thank you. I've had to move it so much recently for dental and everything...There's just no way to get more PM tests unless I move it back.
 
Yes, he has 7 extractions, I thought I had put that on his spreadsheet but I will have to double check!
Yowza! That's a lot. Poor buddy!!! So, he's still recovering from that, right??

Recent post
This is day 3 and PM will be 6 cycles after dose increase of 0.25, so depending on his numbers today, he will need an increase of 0.25 tomorrow (morning of 7th cycle), is that right? Sorry for so many questions! I appreciate all the guidance here, I'm constantly doubting myself and how to follow this protocol.

With TR, here is the language on the dosing sticky for increases, and I try to always include these when others ask about the dosing method because, for me, looking at the language helps.

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
Pay particular attention to that highlighted language--he is hitting nadirs below 100 (and was on the previous 3u dose). That 84 at the end of the 4/22 cycle suggests he might be hitting some lower numbers at night, causing him to bounce.

Also, I would be super vigilant to test during some of those longer stretches especially right now, due to the fact that he's had the dental, and his mouth is healing--you might anticipate lower numbers as a result of the inflammation clearing up.
 
Yowza! That's a lot. Poor buddy!!! So, he's still recovering from that, right??



With TR, here is the language on the dosing sticky for increases, and I try to always include these when others ask about the dosing method because, for me, looking at the language helps.

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
Pay particular attention to that highlighted language--he is hitting nadirs below 100 (and was on the previous 3u dose). That 84 at the end of the 4/22 cycle suggests he might be hitting some lower numbers at night, causing him to bounce.

Also, I would be super vigilant to test during some of those longer stretches especially right now, due to the fact that he's had the dental, and his mouth is healing--you might anticipate lower numbers as a result of the inflammation clearing up.
Can I correct myself? :) I think you're right about him currently seeing 5 cycles on this dose with nadirs under 200, and tomorrow a.m. would be 7 cycles. Again, that gap at night is an issue, especially since he saw that 84 pm 4/22 (that would worry me a bit). I hope I haven't confused you!!
 
Yowza! That's a lot. Poor buddy!!! So, he's still recovering from that, right??



With TR, here is the language on the dosing sticky for increases, and I try to always include these when others ask about the dosing method because, for me, looking at the language helps.

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
Pay particular attention to that highlighted language--he is hitting nadirs below 100 (and was on the previous 3u dose). That 84 at the end of the 4/22 cycle suggests he might be hitting some lower numbers at night, causing him to bounce.

Also, I would be super vigilant to test during some of those longer stretches especially right now, due to the fact that he's had the dental, and his mouth is healing--you might anticipate lower numbers as a result of the inflammation clearing u

Yowza! That's a lot. Poor buddy!!! So, he's still recovering from that, right??



With TR, here is the language on the dosing sticky for increases, and I try to always include these when others ask about the dosing method because, for me, looking at the language helps.

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
Pay particular attention to that highlighted language--he is hitting nadirs below 100 (and was on the previous 3u dose). That 84 at the end of the 4/22 cycle suggests he might be hitting some lower numbers at night, causing him to bounce.

Also, I would be super vigilant to test during some of those longer stretches especially right now, due to the fact that he's had the dental, and his mouth is healing--you might anticipate lower numbers as a result of the inflammation clearing up.
So many teeth, poor buddy had the hardest time for 3 days after. He's actually basically fully recovered now. We're 10 days out from surgery. We had a recheck yesterday, the vet was super impressed that he's healed so well and quickly for a diabetic. Thank you for sending the sticky, that's where I looked before posting, as I just want to confirm my thinking is correct for TR.
 
Can I correct myself? :) I think you're right about him currently seeing 5 cycles on this dose with nadirs under 200, and tomorrow a.m. would be 7 cycles. Again, that gap at night is an issue, especially since he saw that 84 pm 4/22 (that would worry me a bit). I hope I haven't confused you!!
I think I'm on the same page as you! It doesn't worry me too much as his behavior remains essentially the same no matter his numbers. He will tell me if he's below 50, it has only happened a couple times but he knew something wasn't right, came and sat by me and stared and then made me follow him to the chair I sit in to test him (we use paws, ears are a no for Simon).

I've been getting great support from @Wendy&Neko on dosing so I felt comfortable following their recommendation to increase his dose, despite those numbers in the 80s. I'm just not sure what changed to cause his numbers to skyrocket again, it's making me so anxious. But, we'll increase tomorrow am and hopefully staying the course gets Simon more regulated (soon).
 
I would not increase tomorrow morning. You need to know how low he's going at night. It's possible he is seeing more green like he did on the previous dose. Doses with green nadirs are held 10 cycles. If you can get a couple nights with second tests, then we can evaluate what to do next with the dose.
 
I would not increase tomorrow morning. You need to know how low he's going at night. It's possible he is seeing more green like he did on the previous dose. Doses with green nadirs are held 10 cycles. If you can get a couple nights with second tests, then we can evaluate what to do next with the dose.
Ok I've set my alarms and will make an updated post in the morning. I just tested at +3: 231. Will try to get another test tonight. I will also try to test at PM+9, thank you, I appreciate your support of Simon and me
 
Back
Top