4/25 Sammy AMPS (+13)=405 +3~319 Go to 1.75??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Maureen & Sammy

Member Since 2010
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12799


Recap All of Yesterday: AMPS=273 +3~389 +3.5~315 +4.5~381 Then at +4.5 0.5cc Lactulose +6~414 +9~400 PMPS=384 +3~290

Then I fell asleep and didn't get up for the +6. The alarm is in such a way you have to get up to turn it off. I obviously did but have absolutely no memory of it. Sammy woke me up at +13. Blurry as I was I could see from his eyes he needed a shot (You guy notice that?) Frantic race downstairs to kitchen. Frantic race back upstairs for the parphenalia. After shoot, mad search of LBs for some sign. Well, there was some poo in one but whose? Beauty was in overnight.

In my haste, I shot 1.5U (11th cycle).

Love that crack about Testaholics. The ONLY good thing about screwing up is Sammy's ear got some relief. Obviously, considering what Sienna found out about Lactulose, we won't be doing THAT again and we better tell everybody else. Yes, I did ask the doctor about MiraLAX instead of Lactulose. Maybe we should turn this case over to Mother Nature.
 
Re: 4/25 Sammy AMPS (+13)=405

Just a thought here, but what about adding a touch of mineral oil to Sammy's food for a couple of days? It was recently suggested for Foster Cat Kitty who has also been a wee bit stopped up (she got Miralax from the vet so don't think the mineral oil was tried.) I've never had any constipation problems with any of our crew so I'm not experienced with any of the options, just thought I'd toss it out there as an option for y'all to consider.

Hope you have a wonderful Sunday! Good luck on the poo patrol... :-D
 
Re: 4/25 Sammy AMPS (+13)=405

I give my 2 cats olive oil in the am and vita coat(omega 3 oil) in the pm..They have had hairball & constipation problems in the past--
Now they get 1/8 tsp of Miralax and I would swear by it--It's like you taking benefiber..They have had great results, and are doing great!
I havent ever heard of mineral oil being used, but I know olive & omega 3 oils are safe..
Hope you see good numbers today!
 
Re: 4/25 Sammy AMPS (+13)=405

Would suggest olive oil....over the mineral oil myself. Omega 3s are good to give...and I have heard that the oil from the tuna can helps too. Miralax is good for the added fiber but we need to make sure we give more water with that....(I think mineral oil blocks the absorption of nutrients....)
Hope you guys have a good day!
 
Re: 4/25 Sammy AMPS (+13)=405

Olive oil huh, well that's something most people have in the cupboard so that's good to know :smile:
 
Re: 4/25 Sammy AMPS (+13)=405

Miralax does not add fiber. It is not like Metamucil or other fiber-based laxatives. It pulls water into the colon.

I would suggest posting about this on Health. As I mentioned earlier, I've seen posts on Health about when Miralax should not be used. It may also help to get some input about the Lactulose and if it is, in fact, the best choice at this time for Sammy. You can always adjust insulin around the numbers just like the beans who have kitties on steroids have to do.
 
Re: 4/25 Sammy AMPS (+13)=405 +3~319

+3~319. Seems a fast slide.

I have no experience with constipation personally or with animals. In looking for a reason why Sammy should be stopped up, I read the fine print from the AB Sammy was taking around the tooth extraction and ironically it often causes diarrhea in cats. Ah, the grass always looks greener.
 
Recap: AMPS (+13)=405 +3~310 +6~362 +9~376

I could sprinkle MiraLax on his food (the food being mixed with water), make sure he eats it and shoot 1.75U. What do you think?
 
OK. So what I did is to raise Sammy's dose to 1.75U (PMPS=424, a level he's not used to). (1.75U is iffy considering the needles.) Took half a can of lc FF mixed with approx half a can of water and 1/4 of a tsp of MiraLax and sat with him or chased him around the kitchen until he ate all but a tsp of the gruel. I'll get the rest of it into him later. Now all I have to do is evict the other cats out into the rain and pray to the godess Cloaca.
 
Hope Sammy feels better soon! Tugger doesn't like high numbers either. When he was up there like that he was pretty much a tiger striped sloth, unless there was food involved. Gosh between the high numbers and the plumbing problems, poor Sammy must be hating it right now. Good luck!
 
I remember when my sis and I spent a week and a half in the Netherlands. She has *ahem* issues. She can't scratch around in any LB but her own so to speak, so she didn't poo for ten days. :shock: We were... enjoying the sights so much that she didn't seem to care much at first, but there towards the end she got a little slothlike. Of course, that could have been the... sights. :lol: But if Sammy is anything like my sis, he's going to feel TONS better once he finally lets go.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top