4/25 mocha pmps 81 +2 76 MC +3 75

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeterDevonMocha

Very Active Member
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12807

WCR: was quiet pretty much most of the night. woke up this morning and she was sleeping on her stand next to our bed. Now she is eating breakfast with twix who still hasn't forgiven her for going out of the house yesterday and has done nothing but hiss at her since. I hope this doesn't last as long as last time.

One more cycle at this dose tonight if no action today .. then we go back up.
 
Re: 4/25 mocha amps 263

Yellows are so boring, no? Maybe Mocha has lingering scent of the vet office...can you rub some piece of clothing that you have worn all over her so the smell goes away? Hope she pulls herself into some nice numbers today....Shadow did this morning after I threatened an increase. Maybe she will read your threat and do the same....Come on Mocha!!!
Increase if these numbers don't get better during this cycle...didya hear that girl? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/25 mocha amps 263

Sorry you're so frustrated. Maybe you need to have a heart-to-heart with Mocha. It hasn't worked with Gabby but you never know!

I read through your experience with the vet visit. It sounds like Mocha travels about as well as Gabby! We get pukus every time she's in the car. My carrier has access on top as well as front. If someone else is driving, I can keep an arm around Gabby and that keeps her calmer.

I did look up the ProDen product that Ele recommended. There's nothing in it that's sugary. I'm not so sure about the product your dental vet recommended. Someone on Health may know more about it.
 
Re: 4/25 mocha amps 263

God morning/afternoon Devon & Mocha...
Poor Mocha.. I hate that Twix is hissing, Sadi does that to Baby when Baby comes home from a Vet visit & I really get stern with Sadi.. it makes me mad.. it's like.. they smell the Vet on them & are mean to them & it is not their fault :?

I see you got some good responses in Health regarding the Dental Treats too

Anyway.. I am hoping Mocha turns your frown upside down soon!! Goooooooooooo Mocha :-D
 
Re: 4/25 mocha amps 263

Hi, Mocha stop frustrating your mamabean!!!! Hoping for some good numbers for you! Sabrina my civvie was so mean to Scrabble after he came home from his surgery 3 weeks ago, I was so mad at her, she was growling and hissing at him! It only lasted a day though and then she forgot about it. Too funny! Have a great Sunday and keep smiling!!!
 
Re: 4/25 mocha amps 263 +10 28 HC gravy

recap

AMPS 263 breffus, not much ate
+3 mm, not much ate
+5 151 not much ate
+7 77 mm, ate better
+8 41 HC gravy
+8.5 61
+10 28 HC gravy

so this cat is very frustrating to us because she goes on and on with yellows and then throws out a blue, just before a dosecrease is scheduled. Then we get ready to go up a dose, and she throws us a 28 which is an automatic dose reduction! She didn't eat much today, she did eat, but not as much as she normally would. She also slept in between the blankets on the quilt rack which isn't uncommon for her, but she doesn't do it alot. I think maybe overall she is still feeling tired for her trip out yesterday and twix being mean to her.

So tonight I guess we go back down to a (F)2.25, right?
 
Re: 4/25 mocha amps 263 +10 28 HC gravy

That looks like the right dose to me! Congrats!! Mocha does like to surprise you.

One thought about how to deal with Twix not liking the way Mocha smells. Take a sock and rub it all over Twix then rub Mocha with the same sock. Do the reverse. Hopefully, that will allow you to transfer the same set of smells between them.
 
Re: 4/25 mocha amps 263 +10 28 HC gravy

MOCHA!!! sigh! LOL...guess you really didn't want and increase to your insulin, eh?
Holy cow! Well, hope you will manage your dosecrease well girl! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/25 mocha amps 263 +10 28 HC +10.5 49 MC

Good catch, Devon!!!! Congrats on the dosecrease -- though you might have preferred it to come a little less surprisingly. I hope Mocha gets back to being herself by tomorrow.
 
Re: 4/25 mocha amps 263 +10 28 HC +10.5 49 MC

good luck with the dosecrease!

Mocha is a challenging one, but if you want to see what progress she has made, scroll up through her spreadsheet. The majority of her time here, she has been in the 3-3.5 unit range, now she is getting closer to the 2 unit mark. There's also a LOT less pink than there used to be (*anti-jinx*). So while she does go up, and down, and back up again, the overall trend is down.
 
Re: 4/25 mocha pmps 81, dose question

ok I know mocha earned an instant dose reduction, back down to (F)2.25 and she hasn't sky rocketed at tonights pmps, but would it be a good or bad idea to stick with the 2.5 she has been on tonight, and change her in the morning? My theory is, go with the 2.5 tonight, and possibly hold back her high bounce that I know is coming in the morning. If I am not thinking right, we will shoot the (F)2.25 tonight.

I know mocha has made progress, there are days I do go to her SS and start from the first day and work my way down with a grin on my face, like yes, we ARE doing something right, heres X amount of days with no pink, or heres X amount of a dose reduction .. but then there are days where I feel like banging my head into a brick wall, thinking, is she EVER going to get this??
 
Re: 4/25 mocha pmps 81, dose question

Dang, between the parties and the threats, LL has got it all figured out on how to handle stubborn kitties! Congrats on the decrease!
 
Re: 4/25 mocha pmps 81, dose question

I think it's worth a try to hold the old dose tonight, if you're up to monitoring and HC-ing if needed. She dropped so late today that it could be a long night, if she doesn't bounce. But it might be what she needs and would be a good experiment.
 
Re: 4/25 mocha pmps 81, dose question

ok thanks libby! We will hold the dose, we have MC and HC and karo and plenty of test strips on hand ... I hope this teaches us something!
 
Re: 4/25 mocha pmps 81

((((Mocha))))!!! Devon.. BE ENCOURAGED she does do this!!! I tell you.. lil momma moves at her own pace.. but she is moving...!!
 
Re: 4/25 mocha pmps 81

Yay Mocha!!! Yay Devon! Wow - she does such shocking stuff with her numbers! 28???? Holy crap. That's scary.

Why is Twix being mean to her? That's kinda sad. Did Mocha take one of her toys or go in her bed or something?
 
Re: 4/25 mocha pmps 81

Traci, Mocha had to go to the dental vet yesterday for her one month checkup after her extractions. We give Mocha a bath when she gets home so she doesnt smell like the vet, but that's just how Twix is, she hisses and won't go near Mocha for a few days.
 
Re: 4/25 mocha pmps 81

Ahh, yes, I remember that happened with my boys too. The one that didn't go to the vet is offended by the vet smell. Poor Mocha. First she has to go to the vet, then she has to have a bath! :lol:
 
ok, she seems to be staying steady which is nice! We saw just a few points drop in that first 2 hour spot check so we decided to feed her MC in hopes of keeping her steady ... don't know if it is the food that is helping, or if she is just staying low cause sometimes she does that! Anyways, now that she is steady we are going to bed and will do a spot check at +4 to see how things are going.

Traci, mocha actually likes taking a bath. We use bath wipes and she sits on the edge of the tub, and peter washes her all up and then she gets told over and over again how beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeautifulllllllllllllll she is .. she loves it!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top