4/25 Jetta PMPS 405 +2 377 LEV day 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jacspets

Member Since 2011
Yesterday Jetta 4/24
Good morning all,

Thanks again for the well wishes and vines for Jetta's pancreatitis and all the great input on our Lev switch. Marje-wow-great info- and thank you.

After much thought and re-reading of yesterday's condo, we did make the switch to Lev this morning. I gave her 1U. After weighing the pros and cons of waiting, we decided now was best. I'm not travelling (overnight anyway) until early June so it's a good time for me to get Jetta figured out (wishful thinking) before I leave her in DH and DM's hands. And as far as the pancreatitis, she's over the acute stage. I wonder if it takes some time for the enzymes to clear and return a lower result on the fPLI test? She was at her worst last Tues/Weds with complete refusal of food, but the last few days she's been eating like a champ. So, that's our reasoning in a nutshell. I know I'll need to sleep test and that shouldn't be a problem. I get up every night at +5-6 and +9-10 to feed Jetta since we cannot use an autofeeder. I don't often test at those feeding times now because there's really no need to on Lantus based on her "pattern". So, the good news is that I'm already used to being up at those times (and oh how I relish my out of town trips and enjoy sleeping straight through... ;-) ) The bad news is I need to get used to turning on the light and coming enough out of my haze to test.

So, there we have it. Patience pants are firmly in place, I'm thinking all good thoughts for our switch and I'm hopeful that we see (in time!) the results on Lev that we so very much want to.

Wishing a great day for all kitties and beans.
 
Re: 4/25 Jetta AMPS 377- LEV day 1

Please monitor Jetta very carefully today. It's generally recommended to reduce your initial dose by 30% when switching. Some cats (and by no means all) do experience a marked response when switching insulin. In case Jetta is among those cats who experience a drop, I wouldn't want you caught by surprise.
 
Re: 4/25 Jetta AMPS 377- LEV day 1

Good luck!! You know Jetta and you are a great bean. So glad to hear that she is eating and the worst of the pancreatitis is over. Have a wonderful day Jaclyn! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/25 Jetta AMPS 377- LEV day 1

Sienne and Gabby said:
Please monitor Jetta very carefully today. It's generally recommended to reduce your initial dose by 30% when switching. Some cats (and by no means all) do experience a marked response when switching insulin. In case Jetta is among those cats who experience a drop, I wouldn't want you caught by surprise.

Thanks Sienne- sound advice. I'm about to get a +2. I waffled on her starting dose quite a bit, and ultimately went with the literature, Marje, and my vet's recommendation. Let the games begin!

HI Amy and Meliss-a it is good to see Jetta feeling better and I'm always thrilled when her appetite is good!
 
Re: 4/25 Jetta AMPS 377 +2 287 LEV day 1

here's hoping this is just the thing for jetta!

so are you saying your vet recommended 1unit lev as the starting dose?
 
Re: 4/25 Jetta AMPS 377 +2 287 LEV day 1

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Good luck and I know you will watch her very closely.
She's making it easy! She's curled up in her bed 2 inches from my elbow on my work desk cat_pet_icon
julie & punkin said:
so are you saying your vet recommended 1unit lev as the starting dose?
Yep! I think my vet read the same literature you sent me a link to yesterday. She also had the caveat that I needed to be home for several days to monitor closely. This was a newer vet I saw, who seems totally on board with my aggressive treatment, not the other vet at this office that's traditionally treated Jetta (and has more of the old fashioned opinions).
 
Re: 4/25 Jetta AMPS 377 +2 287 LEV day 1

of course, that chart was for humans - as sienne said, most of the time cats switch with a reduced dose.

but you're on top of things, so jetta is safe.

enjoy having her at your elbow! ;-) :lol: :YMHUG: sounds like a perfect way to spend the day!
 
Re: 4/25 Jetta AMPS 377 +2 287 +4 90 LEV day 1

Well, well, well, I told DH this morning that with the switchover and one shed draining and one re-filling that we'd likely not see Jetta under yellow today. So much for my predictions! :shock: :mrgreen: Will start testing every 30 minutes now...
 
Re: 4/25 Jetta AMPS 377 +2 287 +4 90 LEV day 1

Hi guys .. Glad to hear jetta is feeling better these days .. fingers crossed that the lev brings you the numbers you are looking for, consistently! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/25 Jetta AMPS 377 +2 287 +4 90 +6.5 79+8 114 LEV day 1

Recap:
AMPS 377
+2 287
+4 90
+4.5 77
+5 67
+5.5 64 (drop of Karo couldn't test until +6.5)
+6.5 79
+8 114

Surfing along nicely, but I'm already getting a bit nervous about the PM shot. Wondering if I should have started under 1U... nailbite_smile nailbite_smile :?
 
Re: 4/25 Jetta PMPS 405 LEV day 1

it can be less nerve-wracking to work up on a dose rather than down.

there is nothing preventing you from dropping to a lower dose tonight.
 
Nice cycle today. And you're welcome ;-) You did great.

Julie has an important point...if it worried you today, drop her dose back. You can always work up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top