4/25 Fearless, AMPS=149 +2(79), +3(78) +5(102) +8(117) PMPS=224 +3(170)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Dropped to 79 at +2, so I gave a good amt (1/2 can) of his usual LC FF. Should that keep him from dipping any farther?
 
He just earned a reduction to 1u tonight. I'd check in an 30-60 min to make sure. 79 on AT so early is approaching the too low mark.
 
Could someone explain why a reduction is being suggested? Fearless had only been on 1.25U for 4 cycles (since the failed reduction to 1U on 4/22). Is that enough time given he's still above the <68 threshold? Or since he was on 1.25 before the failed reduction do I count those cycles too (4 + 5 = 9) in determining how long he's been at 1.25U? Look at me ... questioning a reduction instead of rushing into one. What a difference a couple good days make! Sorry I'm so schizophrenic about this.
 
questioning a reduction instead of rushing into one. What a difference a couple good days make! Sorry I'm so schizophrenic about this.
That made me laugh.

And yes, I missed the TR in your signature also .. It's your call Fearlessmom. Why don't' you wait and see how the rest of this cycle goes as he could drop to 68 and then you'd want to take the reduction.

Or since he was on 1.25 before the failed reduction do I count those cycles too (4 + 5 = 9) in determining how long he's been at 1.25U

The count starts with the first cycle of the new dose . ( even if it's the same dose that he was previously on)
 
Thanks all. He's still about the same, though on twice the LC food I would normally give after a test. Have to run out for about an hour. Will give another 1/2 can LC and test again in an hour or so. Should I reserve gravy for when he dips below 68 (the LC food seems to be keeping him steady)?
 
Last edited:
He seems to be surfing nicely. I wouldn't give a whole lot of food that you normally wouldn't at this time. IF he were to drop sharply you would want him to be hungry. Right now he is in good safe healing numbers.
 
Should I reserve gravy for when he dips below 68
Yes, I would reserve the HC for when he goes below 68, OR if you get a cycle where there is a huge low drop very early in the cycle before onset and nadir and you need to boost him back up and help to put the brakes on.

Here is some great info on Feeding the Curve, scroll down to post #15.
Here
 
Thanks, Bobbie. That was very helpful. I believe even the LC does affect Fearless, but hard to say how much since until now I have been feeding the same amount in small increments throughout the day. This week is the first time I'm getting consistently lower numbers (that I don't run from, that is!) When I gave the 1/2 can at +2 the BG might have dipped even more before +3 w/out it. But perhaps the extra 1/2 can +3 was too much. Going to slow down on the food now (maybe just 1/4 can now and then lay off the rest of the day) and see where it takes us in a couple more hours.
 
perhaps the extra 1/2 can +3 was too much.
When you have a dropping cat, it's always a good idea to limit the snacks to a tablespoon or two at a time until you are sure he isn't going to keep dropping - you do not want him to be full and hitting a number that he needs to be pulled up from. Don't worry - it's a very common mistake, especially when kitty is telling you he is going to pass out from starvation any minute! :p
 
Well, we surfed most of the day ... but just wiped out. Still, I'm happy with yellow if we can prevent him from going any higher.
 
Any way to avoid that bounce?
'Fraid not. Generally, as they spend more time in good numbers, their bodies become accustomed to them and they bounce less and for shorter periods. But ECID and we have had cats that bounced all the way to remission. Just consider it your opportunity to take a little break (and give kitty's ears a rest, too)!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top