4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 +6.5=61

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

+5.34 =41 going lower

i'm having a tough time keeping her up as she is beginning to peak. just gave her another tsp of lc with 3 drops ms.
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

tpr said:
+5.34 =41 going lower

i'm having a tough time keeping her up as she is beginning to peak. just gave her another tsp of lc with 3 drops ms.

It is time to forget about the lc food. Go with the gravies from hc food and karo/honey/syrup.
Remember that all this hc items wear off fast so in 20min the numbers could start to drop again.
When is nadir? You need to keep watching and keep her up until past that point.

Do you have an ER near you? If she does not come up and stay up, and you are not yet to nadir, you may need to take her to the ER to bring her up. All of this hc gravies/karo can make her sick and result in diarrhea, and she may not want to keep eating.
Can you post the time in the cycle for that 41?

She was at 46, so the 41 is not that much of a change but it's still in the wrong direction.
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

Keep giving her little snacks with carbs, and hopefully it will keep her from getting lower as the insulin fully kicks in. Are you holding up OK?

MJ
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

Hey Tamara? Is no news good news? Just checking in before I check out soon!
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

Good night, Carolyn :cool:

OK, so far we have:
PMPS 295
+2 124
+3 64
+3.8 46
+4 34
+4.5=46
+5=48
+5.34=41
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

Tamara, Just keep doing what you're doing. As long as Ella is behaving normally, you will be OK. I hate to see you have another sleepless night and hope that the maple syrup (Canadian) will do the trick. (New York maple syrup is good, too!! :smile: ). You know, of course, that Ella has earned another reduction and you should take it tomorrow (new dose would be 0.75 unit). If she is too low for your comfort to shoot your new dose tomorrow morning, you might consider giving a token dose (maybe a fat 0.25), just to make sure that she won't bounce too high. This is especially important if you will be going to work. I hope that Dyana, or someone else with experience in these matters will be around to help you decide what to do in the early morning.
I must turn in now, since I am not as young as I once was(!), but you know what to do, and there will be West Coast people around to help you. Keep the "help" in your subject line to get eyes on Ella's numbers.
I know that she will be fine. You are doing such a great job.

Hugs to you and Ella,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. Happy to see MJ and Gayle here. Good night, Carolyn.
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

ok i got her up to 61 but she's still not at nadir. still collecting data but she usually goes lower closer to 7 and 8 and sometimes will continue to drop until the next dose.
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

The ss is showing a 61 at +6.... if that is correct, please keep watching and testing because when the gravy wears off, the numbers could drop again as you are not at nadir yet?
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

How's she acting? She eating the gravy and stuff ok still?
You want to see some nice rising numbers, and I bet she's going to have an upset stomach in the morn!
Often, after big lows, cats are more sensitive to insulin, OK?

She's going to bounce but if you even give her a shot in the morn, the most would be half dose.
I would say .5u max but depends where she is in the morn.
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

Hi Tamara.....wow...Imjust got home from work and had dinner and look at Miss Ella! She is not wasting time. I want to look back through your condo really quick and see who is still up and who had to go to bed. If everyone is Ni Ni, I can easily stay with you. Brb
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

Thanks Ella!
Will keep on doing what I'm doing. Not sure what I will shoot her by the morning as I will have to go to work and I don't want to worry about her. I don't understand how she can get two reductions within 2 days. Is that common?

gayle, we do have an er about 10 minutes away.
good night carolyn. thanks for your help tonight:)
mj: i'll try and remember to post my numbers in here. i'm getting a bit sleepy.
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

Looks like I am officially saying goodnight! :mrgreen:

Hang in there Tamara (and ella) :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

Gayle,

I have been switchng between the gravy and lc with drops of syrup. I've had to force feed a bit with the syringe.
She's eaten less of her wet food today but it making up for the calories now. Will keep testing.
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

tpr said:
Thanks Ella!
Will keep on doing what I'm doing. Not sure what I will shoot her by the morning as I will have to go to work and I don't want to worry about her. I don't understand how she can get two reductions within 2 days. Is that common?

gayle, we do have an er about 10 minutes away.
good night carolyn. thanks for your help tonight:)
mj: i'll try and remember to post my numbers in here. i'm getting a bit sleepy.

I am glad to hear you have all your ER info handy because when you hit 30s way before nadir, you need to be ready, just in case. If a cat is firm on dropping, sometimes you can do only so much at home.

As for the morn..... skip if you like and give the 2 of you a break. Let her recover from the hc and the low numbers, and then don't give more than the .5u in the pm because you have already seen how well the 1u went over after her string of low greens just the other day.
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

she's just sleeping..even when she was at 34 she was sleeping. she is super snnoyed with the pokes...her ears must be sore:(
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

Ok.....I think a big breath is needed here. It is important to keep her up at this point and we don't want her to get too full too soon so you are doing great. We're not going to worry about tomorrow and dose right now, ok? Lots of time to go and things can change so let's put that aside.

Since she's at 61, why don't you test her 30 mins from the last test? If she comes back down, we can adjust the time but we don't want to wear her ears out when she's at a safe number...but since she nadirs later and HC wears off, we want to be vigilant.

Are YOU doing ok Tamara?
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

No problem with the numbers -- I wanted to repost them since we're now on Page 2.

I'm here for at least another hour or so.

Has Ella had any adverse reactions to gravy or maple syrup in the past? We don't want her to puke or get liquipoo. Some cats don't tolerate it well, but if her only complaint is she wants to nap and you keep waking her to squish carbs into her mouth, it's all good. Let's see some higher numbers now, Ok Ella? Then you can sleep.

MJ
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

I'm tired but ok. There's not much I can do at this point. It would be nice if she could go up a bit and then I could sneak in a nap but seeing as the insulin is kicking in it might not look good for me:(
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

yesterday was the first time i had to give her hc and maple syrup. her poo was pretty good this morning..a little soft at the end.

do you think that because she ate less of her canned food today that it had an effect on her bg?

testing in 5 minutes as it will have been 30 minutes since the last one.
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

tpr said:
she's just sleeping..even when she was at 34 she was sleeping. she is super snnoyed with the pokes...her ears must be sore:(

I know the feeling when your cat is like go away! but you know that you need to keep watching the numbers.

When a cat is on a mission, you have no choice but to go along with it. There is no rule that states every cat is going to go off insulin or decrease dose in a certain speed.
If Ella does not need that much insulin well, she has let you know, hasn't she!

You want to keep testing to ensure she is rising and a decent amount, and if she starts soaring before nadir, you would likely be safe to head to bed.
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

When Donovan played these games with me as I was attempting to head to sleep, I'd lie down next to him and rest, setting my cellphone alarm in case I really dozed off. Here's hoping the extra carbs show up soon.

MJ
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

one more thing.... when you get your next test ( should be now?) can you change your subj to put the + and the BG so people are not scared by that 34.
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

+6.5 =61

she is the same from the last test but still not that high considering the insulin will be peaking for her. should i give her some mc?
 
How much solid food has she had so far? If not much, what about give her some of the hc food left over from the gravy? Were you draining some gravy off the hc before?
 
That's fine. Just be sure she doesn't get too full.

Eta. I would not give her HC at 61. Just try the MC. We want her to stay up but you don't want the carbs to gang up on her and cause a really high bounce. As long as you are testing every 30 mins right now, we can adjust carbs as needed.
 
If you look at the 24th, she was 69 and then dropped more to her nadir so you are in the same spot as that day, only earlier. That's why I thought maybe go with the hc solid and see if she can hang onto this 61 and not drop more in an hour or so
 
she doesn't like the food with the gravy in it. she just transitioned to wet and is very picky. i usually have to assist her in eating it...spoon feeding but it has to be the perfect consistency. she has probably eaten 1 1/8 of a can of wellness today. (5.5 oz)
 
Do you remember what you did on the evening of the 23rd? She was clearing a bounce that day and night, too. You got her up nicely by +6. I still think MC and retest 30 mins after last test is reasonable.
 
you see on her ss, how I am comparing the am cycle on the 24th to now?
Ella's an hour ahead of schedule and on the 24th, she took a dive at +8 so what you want to do is try to manipulate the 61 she has right now.
If you give just gravy, it will last 30min or so, but if you can get her to eat some mc or hc solid, she may hold onto the 61 for over an hour or more and pas her nadir.
 
There was no bounce on the 23rd, and tonite is like the 24th am cycle.
You need to watch for Ella doing another drop at the nadir point in this cycle.
You want to raise that 61 a decent amount and help it to stay up
 
I don't remeber what i did on the 23 marje:(
i need to improve my recording skills. perhaps i just gave lc after the mc?!

she won't eat the solids from the hc or mc...i only take the gravy and mix it with her lc...i can try tho
 
so she's due for her 30 minute test in a few...should i skip that and feed her and then test 30 min after that or should i go ahead and test?
 
tpr said:
so she's due for her 30 minute test in a few...should i skip that and feed her and then test 30 min after that or should i go ahead and test?
there is no reason why you can't do both..... test and then give some food.

You want to see how well she is holding the numbers that resulted from her last feeding, and then if you test again in 30min, you will see the results from the food you give now.
 
If she'll eat the gravy/maple syrup mixed with wet food that she likes, give her that.
You could wait another 15 min to test (so 45 min from the last one), but I hesitate to predict anything with this girl. She's doing her own thing!

MJ
 
ok going to mix some mc in with lc if she'll eat it. i don' t think i've fed her in over an hour.
 
forget the lc; have you reached her nadir yet? Look at the 24th when she took a dip very late in the cycle.
Go with the mc and then test in 30min to ensure she is still rising.
 
gayle, she doesn't eat the solid mc. she only eats her lc so i have to mix in the gravy, it's either that or syrup or dry kibble. she's very finicky:(
 
hi tamara! just got home from a night out with girl friends and it looks like you're having a little action.

great job handling the evening so far! you doing ok?
 
you mentioned mc with gravy earlier; what was that food?
what foods are you calling lc mc and hc; maybe that will make it easier to understand
you do want to be sure she does not go for another dip so more solid food will last longer to hold her numbers up.
 
Feed her whatever she'll eat, and lace it with whatever carbs you can (HC gravy, maple syrup, pixie stix... :razz:) Would like to see her a little higher for a little longer before we can relax and call it a night.

Didn't someone here find out accidentally that baked ham was HC? Would she eat that?

MJ
 
+7.5=79

lc-wellness 4% her main diet
mc:friskies 12% she hates the shred but will eat the gravy
hc ff grilled turkey 18%
 
Hi Julie:)

A little action? :lol:

I should make this some sort of fundraising event like jump rope for heart only it would be called 'all nighter for fd"
Do you think I could raise money for the board?

I'm exhausted....

glad you had some fun times out with the gals:)
 
That's a great assortment of foods, very nice!
OK for the me, maybe you can try a few diff kinds of the friskies gravy flavors... I know mine were picky but once I found one or two they liked, we were good to go.

The 70s are getting good, so I hope her next BG is into the 80s which would be nice and safe.
 
Hi Julie (&Punkin :cool:)

I think we're looking for at least one more rising number. This sneaky little girl had a crazy dip before PMPS yesterday, so who knows what else she has up her sleeve. I think we're almost there though.

MJ
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top