4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 +6.5=61

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
Well Ella sky rocketed.

yesterday:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69431

I hope she can come down today. I was able to get some sleep although I woke up a few times just to see how she was doing :-D
She didn't sleep with us on the bed last night and didn't give up any good night kisses and purrs. I did a +3.5 and she was at 82 and for a moment I thought she might be ok. I guess her pancreas still needs a lot of work.
Thanks again for all of your support:) Even though I'm disappointed by the turn of events I have to admit that I learned a lot in the past two days. I now feel pretty comfortable in dealing with those lower numbers and I have faith that Ella will return to the green lagoon as she certainly liked it:) I hope her liver allows her to get there as soon as catanly possible:)

Have a good day everyone!

Tamara & Ella
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405

Good Morning Tamara & Ella,

I am very glad that you were able to get some well deserved and much needed sleep last night. It looks like Ella's liver is working just fine this morning! She will be happy to get fewer pokies today and to be able to catch up on her cat naps. You did great yesterday. I hope that Ella's dose reduction will work out well for you both.

Have a good day at school and try not to worry about Ella. She'll be fine.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405

Great to hear that you got some much deserved sleep last night. Ella will be fine and you are a great bean. Hang in there. Have a wonderful day! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405

Good Morning Tamara. That was quite a day, yesterday nailbite_smile
I am still amazed at the wonderful helpers on this board. :-D
Although the number looks awful this morning, it's temporary, and isn't it nice to know Ella's liver is working as it should?
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405

Awe..thanks everyone:) Your kind words are definitely helping to improve my day.

Barb, I too am amazed by the support and dedication of the people on this board. It makes me teary eyed just thinking about it.
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405

Hi guys .. yep, no worries on this number .. Ella found the green floor .. she knows how to get back down there .. we just have to wait for her next appearance on it! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405

Tamar's...so glad you got some rest!

I also think she'll come back down. It might take a cycle or so because she didn't totally deplete her shed....but then she'll be back at it :-D

Have a great day.
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405

Tamara, I'm sure Ella will get back to the green soon. This AM number will go away soon, and hopefully you will never see it again. :-D

Great job for the last two days, It can be so exhausting, I know.

Think Green! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405

I was following your condo yesterday but didn't want to make it longer while you were getting help. You've done a great job with Ella with the assistance of some great helpers. She will get back to those pretty green Ella numbers. You both needed some well deserved rest.
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295

Thanks for visiting Ann:) I believe she will get back to the greens as well. She just gave me a bit of yellow at 295 which looks so much better on her than the red:)

I think she nadirs late. When I tested her at 10.5 she was 331. I gave her a tsp of food at 'forbidden' snack time because I figured she was high and I don't think the lc spikes her that much. She often dips down before preshots.

Will test at +2.

Thanks for your positive thinking Barb. I will definitely think green!
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 (huge drop!

Oh boy...just tested Ella and she dropped massively to 124!!!
Am I in trouble tonight?

How can this be happening? I thought her shed was draining?!
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 (huge drop!

i think the answer is that she's back on track. that didn't take her long - so yes, you're on duty tonight to monitor her. when we see a 300 at pmps and a 124 at +2 . . . that says that you need to check again in probably 30 minutes. in fact, nothing wrong with giving her some low carb food now and seeing if she'll slow down a little bit.
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 (huge drop!

I just gave her some lc...she is nervous about how fast she dropped. I was editing my post as you posted. How could this be happening if her shed was draining?
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 (huge drop!

Wow...I missed some action last night! And, wow...look at that drop this evening. Slow it down there a bit, Miss Ella!!!
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 (huge drop!

Sometimes it only takes a cycle for the shed. However, you skipped a shot and then reduced the dose. Ella's shed is drained!
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 (huge drop!

+3 64....I was a bit off on my timing and by the time she finished her food it was +3... she is dropping fast..she's eaten about 3/8 less today so that could be the contributing factor. Should I feed her some mc?
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 (huge drop!

perhaps i don't understand...if it is drained then shouldn't it need to fill before using so much?

maybe i dosed her in a vein or muscle?
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 (huge drop!

Hi Tamara,
Your +3 just popped up on your SS as I was reading it. 64 is another big drop. I think you have to get out the Karo and put a drop into her LC. Hopefully she'll stay in the 60s and surf. Did Ella eat her dinner?
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64!

yes she just ate dinner..but she's eaten about 3/8 less today..should i give her a tsp with maple syrup?
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 (huge drop!

:YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Looks like Ella may be telling you she is ready for even less insulin! :mrgreen:

Glad you got some sleep last night! :?
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64!

Yes, I think you should give her a teaspoon of LC with a drop of maple syrup. It's important to have food on board to counteract the action of the insulin.
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64!

ok just gave her a tsp lc with drop of good old canadian maple syrup.
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64!

Can you get another test in 20 minutes ?
If you do not catch another drop, it will give you good info on how the syrup spikes her.
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64!

It's been half an hour since i last tested her but she needs another 10 minutes until it's been 20 min after I gave her the syrup. Does that make sense?
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64!

yes, test when you feel is best...another 5 or 1o minutes.
So it would be something like +3.75 (15-20 min after administering karo/syrup)
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64!

she's 46! and it's been 20 minutes after i gave her the maple syrup.
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=

ok gave her lc with another drop of syrup...if she doesn't rise I will give her hc
 
Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=

34 please help!
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

Yes, at these low numbers, give her maple syrup/gravy/HC and test every 15-20 min until she's >50.

MJ
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

Most important thing right now is to get her up to the 50's...however it needs to be done, ok!

:YMHUG: You are doing GREAT!!!
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

ok...got 1 tsp of gravy out off the ff can...had to syringe it in 4 doses as she won't eat the flakes. time is ticking by as this happens but i'm assuming i test from when i fed her last?
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

I would be apt to test 15 minutes after last test. Ella means business. You really don't want her lower than this.

keep repeating this until she is 2-3 tests OVER 50 and past nadir (I know...bad because you say nadir is +8 :YMSIGH: )
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

At these numbers just keep testing every 15-20 min and get whatever high-carb stuff she'll eat into her. Don't worry about coordinating the feeding/pokeys now; just keep in mind that the carbs probably won't show up in her BGs for a bit.

I'm here for at least a few hours, so I'll be watching.

MJ
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

MJ, did i need to add ms to the hc? the last tsp I gave was hc and the two before that were lc with a drop of ms.

maybe 1 drop of ms isn't enough?!
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

Let's see what the next BG is. If it still isn't budging, add more maple syrup.

I assume she is otherwise acting normal?

MJ
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

You're doing fine. Take a breath or two.

The big picture is test, feed HC and repeat (or, "lather, rinse, repeat") until Ella is in the 50s or above.

FWIW, one drop of syrup when you're seeing this kind of drop isn't enough. You need to give at least 2 - 3 drops until you see the numbers leveling off. When you are feeding HC/gravy, you only want to feed the gravy -- not the solids. Basically, you don't want Ella to get full on what you're feeding.

I use honey or Karo with Gabby. I give her about 1/2 teaspoon of LC with syrup.

Just so you have it handy, here's the post on handling low numbers.
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

ok just tested and she is 46. we`re a bit off in the timing of it all. we just finished giving her 1 tsp hc gravy about 10 minutes before we just tested her. do i give her more now or wait 15 and see what happens?
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

I guess she earns another reduction...this is nuts!

mj: no other synptoms..she's just sleepy
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

tpr said:
ok just tested and she is 46. we`re a bit off in the timing of it all. we just finished giving her 1 tsp hc gravy about 10 minutes before we just tested her. do i give her more now or wait 15 and see what happens?

If she is not above 50 when you take the test, feed immediately and test again in 15 min.
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

When I was trying to raise numbers I had a mixture ready + syringes (in case), right next to the testing stuff. This way you dont have to go back and forth to the kitchen (or where ever).
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

Carb/test every 15-20 min, not necessarily at the same time. Whatever works for you and Miss Ella.

Can you do me a favor and list the most recent BGs when you post so I don't have to refresh your spreadsheet? My poor old PC is easily constipated :?

So far I see PMPS 295
+2 124
+3 64
+3.8 46
+4 34
? 46

correct?

MJ
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

+5 48, i gave her a tsp of hc gravy. this is going to be tough as the insulin is going to be taking effect until morning.
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

MJ+Donovan said:
Carb/test every 15-20 min, not necessarily at the same time. Whatever works for you and Miss Ella.

Can you do me a favor and list the most recent BGs when you post so I don't have to refresh your spreadsheet? My poor old PC is easily constipated :?

So far I see PMPS 295
+2 124
+3 64
+3.8 46
+4 34
? 46

correct?

MJ

yes correct...i will post it this way for you.

So far I see PMPS 295
+2 124
+3 64
+3.8 46
+4 34
+4.5=46
+5=48

times are kind of approximate now.
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

poop! :razz:
Feel free to add some karo/syrup, as Sienne suggested to keep her above 50. And keep doing what you are doing. :YMHUG:
I will check in another time or two before I have to get to bed. MJ is here and she is most awesome to hang out with! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

48 at +5. You're getting close to 50, Tamara! Carolyn, MJ, and Sienne know just what to tell you to do. They have lots of experience. I'm going to be watching, too, but staying out of the way. It looks like Ella wants another reduction, all right!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

At least she's not still going lower. That's good. If it's easier on your brain right now, you can just post your times as, +5:20, for instance, and deal with the math in your SS later. Frankly it's simpler to think "Oh, it has been 20 minutes since the last BG" instead of 0.33 hours :cool:

MJ
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top