? 4/25 Benny AMPS 375 +5 123 +6 101 +7 77 +8 131 PMPS 191

Ben&Squirrel

Member Since 2022
Hello everyone,

Have been having BGs all over the place in the last few days. Vet agrees with SLGS.

I am a shooting wimp. I'm afraid he will get hypoglycemic when I'm asleep and can't help him.

So I wanted to check in to make sure I am doing the right thing by giving him 0.5u with the PMPS of 191. Will it be okay?
 
Last edited:
Diane, I can't believe I am still forgetting to put in my last thread link. I'm not sure how to add that to my spreadsheet. Will add to my sig file now.
 
Diane, I can't believe I am still forgetting to put in my last thread link. I'm not sure how to add that to my spreadsheet. Will add to my sig file now.
That's ok if no one I tagged replies back looking at the SLGS dosing method it says
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
So Benny dropped to 77 today so I would shoot 0.5 units

If you want to try and add SLGS to your spreadsheet just go all the way up top where it says dosing method and just add it there, if it doesn't work no biggie
 
I'm confused about this part:

"Starting Dose:
  • 1u BID if kitty is not on a wet/canned low carb diet
  • 0.5u BID if kitty has been switched to a wet/canned low carb diet"
He is now on an all-wet/canned low carb diet. This would put him at 0.5u. Then, if we decrease that by 0.25, he would be getting 0.25u shot. I'm afraid to give him his shot because if I give him the 0.50 u, that could be double what he should be getting.

ETA that he has already been on 1u BID, so I went with the 0.5u shot after all.
 
Last edited:
I'm confused about this part:

"Starting Dose:
  • 1u BID if kitty is not on a wet/canned low carb diet
  • 0.5u BID if kitty has been switched to a wet/canned low carb diet"
He is now on an all-wet/canned low carb diet. This would put him at 0.5u. Then, if we decrease that by 0.25, he would be getting 0.25u shot. I'm afraid to give him his shot because if I give him the 0.50 u, that could be double what he should be getting.

Catherine I would go back and re read yesterdays post where members have commented on dosing

Since your dosing was all over the place I wouldn't GI by what the starting dose says which you posted

He dropped to 77 this afternoon
So following SLGS if he drops under 90 you reduce by 0.25
So tiu would shoot 0.5 tonight

Previous post

Prevr post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-23-benny-amps-400-5-57-6-112-pmps-516.262397/#post-2941325
 
Did you shoot yet, I meant to say to shoot 0.75 units, I'm so sorry
You shot 1 unit this morning , so he dropped under 90 so you would reduce by 0.25 units so tonight shot would be 0.75
@Ben&Squirrel
If you already shot it's OK, DO NOT GIVE ANY, we can straighten it out tomorrow
 
Yes, I shot 0.5 u. I started the day with SLGS with 1u. Maybe that was wrong. I'm sure some of the members you tagged will be able to give some info for next time. I know Benny's bg values will be settling down now that we will keep a steady dose.
 
Yes, I shot 0.5 u. I started the day with SLGS with 1u. Maybe that was wrong. I'm sure some of the members you tagged will be able to give some info for next time. I know Benny's bg values will be settling down now that we will keep a steady dose.
Don't know if you saw I added to my last post
You shot 1 unit this morning , so he dropped under 90 so you would reduce by 0.25 units so tonight shot would be 0.75
@Ben&Squirrel
If you already shot it's OK, DO NOT GIVE ANY MORE , we can straighten it out tomorrow

If you want to try and add SLGS to your spreadsheet just go all the way up top where it says dosing method and just add it there, if it doesn't work no biggie

You said
He is now on an all-wet/canned low carb diet
Since when
How long has he been on Fancy Feast
 
Last edited:
@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@tiffmaxee
I tagged you but I guess you were not on yet
I was trying to help Ben&Squirrel with her dose
She is following SLGS ,shot 1 unit at AMPS
Dropped to 77 this afternoon ,she was asking about the PMPS dose for tonight 4-25
I told her to reduce and shoot 0.5 units by mistake (very sorry)
I meant to say to reduce and shoot 0.75 units
If you look at her previous post
Prevr post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-23-benny-amps-400-5-57-6-112-pmps-516.262397/#post-2941325

You both gave her advice, her doses were all over the place
Can you please take a look at her SS and read the previous post
just so you can tell her what dose to stick with for tomorrow morning

If you can read post #7 and #8 on her previous post you will see what I'm talking about

Thanks Ladies
 
The dose should have been .75. I think the 2.0 was in play though and why Benny had a low nadir. That’s not taken into account with SLGS normally. So in the morning shoot .75. Sorry I don’t don’t see the tag until now.
 
The dose should have been .75. I think the 2.0 was in play though and why Benny had a low nadir. That’s not taken into account with SLGS normally. So in the morning shoot .75. Sorry I don’t don’t see the tag until now.
Thanks so much Elise, I realized after I told her to shoot 0.5 I screwed up.
I knew it should have been 0.75 :banghead:
Sorry about that
@tiffmaxee
 
The dose should have been .75. I think the 2.0 was in play though and why Benny had a low nadir. That’s not taken into account with SLGS normally. So in the morning shoot .75. Sorry I don’t don’t see the tag until now.

So for tomorrow morning, shoot .75u?

Don’t worry about it, Diane. His dose has been all over the place with the highs and lows. Better too little insulin than too much.

I agree. It's not a problem, Diane.
 
Yes. With SLGS when a reduction is earned it is held for 7 days unless you see a nadir under 90. If that happens you reduce the dose. The same happens when you increase.

By "the same happens when you increase," you mean when an increase is earned it is held for 7 days? Sorry to be so concrete but I want to make sure I understand as well as I can!
 
Back
Top