? 4/24 Yum: hold dose through bounces?NEW LOW

Status
Not open for further replies.

MJW

Member Since 2017
Yum is entering her 8th cycle at 4 units. She is still bouncing: she goes low (AlphaTrak yellows and one blue, would be several Relion blues) then goes high; the numbers don't line up yet with a stable peak/dose/nadir/peak/dose curve.
The TR protocol says: "if the cat is new to numbers under 200 (Relion), it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8 to 10 cycles before increasing".
Is that just a rule for safety, or is it related to bouncing?
I guess my questions are: do I hold the dose until she stops bouncing?
But then maybe they never stop bouncing. How does bouncing relate to the rule?
Is it bad she is still bouncing on her 4th day at 4 units?

Still trying to figure this stuff out.

Thanks.
 
She may be bouncing from the drop to blue yesterday into PMPS but she hasn't been bouncing this whole time necessarily. Rather I don't think she's at the right dose yet. I would hold the dose for 10 cycles as it seems she's coming down into PMPS. Tonight is the 8th cycle on 4u but also think she'll need the increase to 4.25u. I'd get a +2 tonight and see if she's planning anything. Patience is often rewarded and the blue yesterday is a good sign.

About increasing during a bounce. You can safely increase during a bounce but you don't want to increase on a cycle they are possibly breaking that bounce. This is where it becomes tricky. I'm one for waiting to see if they break the bounce before increasing.
 
Very interesting. I will read it 10 times until it sinks in maybe. Thanks!
Just wanted to give you the reference so you know where it came from. Keep asking questions, there's so much to learn and remember. We're all here to help.
 
BTW, if you haven't it's good to peak at other kitties spreadsheets. NOT to copy dosing but just to "see" what other kitties do. :)
 
She may be bouncing from the drop to blue yesterday into PMPS but she hasn't been bouncing this whole time necessarily. Rather I don't think she's at the right dose yet. I would hold the dose for 10 cycles as it seems she's coming down into PMPS. Tonight is the 8th cycle on 4u but also think she'll need the increase to 4.25u. I'd get a +2 tonight and see if she's planning anything. Patience is often rewarded and the blue yesterday is a good sign.

About increasing during a bounce. You can safely increase during a bounce but you don't want to increase on a cycle they are possibly breaking that bounce. This is where it becomes tricky. I'm one for waiting to see if they break the bounce before increasing.
PMPS + 2.5 161 a new low! I'll have to stay awake awhile! I don't understand "you don't want to increase on a cycle they are possibly breaking that bounce". How do I recognize a cycle where she is possibly breaking a bounce?
 
I don't understand "you don't want to increase on a cycle they are possibly breaking that bounce". How do I recognize a cycle where she is possibly breaking a bounce?
IMO, you're too new to even try to figure that out with Yum. It comes with experience, data and more data. Following the protocol like you did by holding the dose and asking questions is the best option for now.

It's OK to give him a little lc snack but not too much. Hopefully that will help him surf. Good idea to get another test in and I might do so in an hour or so just to see if he's slowing down or is going to continue coming down at a faster rate.

Question...are you shooting at the AM +11.5 most days or not testing again at PMPS? We usually test/feed/ shoot at PMPS all within 10 min or so.
 
IMO, you're too new to even try to figure that out with Yum. It comes with experience, data and more data. Following the protocol like you did by holding the dose and asking questions is the best option for now.

It's OK to give him a little lc snack but not too much. Hopefully that will help him surf. Good idea to get another test in and I might do so in an hour or so just to see if he's slowing down or is going to continue coming down at a faster rate.

Question...are you shooting at the AM +11.5 most days or not testing again at PMPS? We usually test/feed/ shoot at PMPS all within 10 min or so.
Okay. Glad it's too early for me to figure that out because I can't.
She free feeds all day (a slow nibbler) and she gets a bit of sardines after each test. That's our contract, signed in blood.
I test Yum as close to shooting as I can without having to chase her. If she is sitting with me then starts to leave---I test her then. I can work on this more. We have improved from no preshot testing to testing within 30 to 45 minutes. It is very stressful. I wake up in the morning and start worrying about whether I will be able to test her preshot or not. Evenings are easier. But 10 minutes is too narrow a window, since the shots have to be spaced at 12 hours plus or minus 15 minutes. I am strategizing right now on how to get her to come back to me for the next test this evening. Hysterical laughter...
 
Some kitties bounce all the way to OTJ..... as you get closer to the right dose you will see her numbers staying better longer hopefully with shorter bounce times.....
Your doing a great job and way to go Yum you get to wear the blue tutu
images
 
Some kitties bounce all the way to OTJ..... as you get closer to the right dose you will see her numbers staying better longer hopefully with shorter bounce times.....
Your doing a great job and way to go Yum you get to wear the blue tutu
images
Yum says "It's SO BEAUTIFUL! Thank you!"
 
The TR protocol says: "if the cat is new to numbers under 200 (Relion), it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8 to 10 cycles before increasing".
Is that just a rule for safety, or is it related to bouncing?
I think it is both. It allows for a bounce to happen and then clear, giving the dose another chance to show what it can or cannot do, as well as reducing the chances of a good dose getting passed by and your kitty possibly ending up over dose.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MJW
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top