4/24 Rusty PMPS 88, +4.5 76

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69373

Good Morning, Everyone,

This seems to be the start of the 4th day of a new pattern for Rusty: high(ish) AMPS (bounce? food-influenced?) and then a gradual decline to PMPS and beyond. I'm not sure what to make of this, but I think it could be caused by the greater amount of FF T&G that he has been eating (because of the pancreatitis episode), and maybe by the slightly raised dose. His pancreas may still be somewhat inflamed?Unfortunately, I don't have enough nighttime data because we seniors need our 6 hours of sleep :o (every time I set an alarm for the middle of the night, it is impossible to get back to sleep). So for now I am keeping his dose where it is (1.75 skinny) and am going to begin decreasing the amount of FF in his diet to get back to the proportions he was eating before pancreatitis. We'll see what happens.

Rusty had a good night and woke me up with squirms, head butts, kitty kisses and face licks about an hour before the "ducks" spoke. He smelled of turkey, so he must have just finished his nighttime food. We had a good test, shot, breakfast (the FF gobbled; half of the Wellness left for later), and a nap in his little bed by the radiator; today he chose the bed rather than the basket). I took Edward to yoga and when I returned Rusty and I had a game with the tinsel wand. Now he is sitting on his sack, grooming.

We still have rain/snow/sleet, but also intervals of sunshine. This is definitely not paddling weather! The Robin is still attacking his reflection in the window. Today I am going to see if I can get some sort of covering up there.

Wishing you all a fine Tuesday,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/24 Rusty AMPS 172

Good morning! Not bad AMPS but not Rusty like either. I know that after Tarragon's pancreatitis attack, he really had bouncing going on. It took awhile for that to settle back down, especially since I was feeding him whatever he would eat just to get food in.

That does not sound like paddling weather to me. Better to stay home by the radiator and pet a certain someone.

Have a great day Ella!
 
Re: 4/24 Rusty AMPS 172

Hi guys .. A nice blue start to the day .. rusty could take this places if he wanted to .. Good luck with changing out the food situation .. hopefully that can bring rusty back down to "rusty" numbers .. Hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 4/24 Rusty AMPS 172

Hey Ella! We did increase his dose. He was also recovering from DKA at the same time so I was very strict on the 6 doses and then up if no improvement. He was at 2U when he went in the hospital and was up to 3U within 2 weeks. Of course once his pancrease kicked in, he went back down pretty fast, all the way down to 1.25U. (Now that he is on prednisone, he is back up to 3.5U.) The vet told us that it was going to take that to get the pancrease jump started again. What ever it was, it worked. I'm not sure if others had the same experience but that was ours. He became very bouncy for awhile as well. If you look on the 2011 tab of his ss around 9/1/11, that is when he got out of the hospital.
 
Re: 4/24 Rusty AMPS 172

Thanks, Melissa. I'm going to look at Tarragon's SS again. Depending on what happens today, I may take Rusty up another notch. His pancreatitis was/is mild, so I don't want to overdose, but at the same time I don't like to see the higher numbers.

Ella
 
Re: 4/24 Rusty AMPS 172

Good luck with the dosing Ella - I find Melissa's experience with Tarragon enlightening. I am sure you will get him back to the greens, as I can imagine that these higher amps are a bit disconcerting, understandable, but still... . Good luck!

up and at 'em an hour early for Rusty? oh wow.... no 6 hours for you last night. Funny - that time frame is what I find In need too... :-D

bummer on the weather... I am glad that you guys are not trying to paddle in that. I do hope the weather improves sooner than predicted. nice to have some sun breaks though.

Enjoy your day!!
 
Re: 4/24 Rusty AMPS 172, +6 83

Looks like Rusty joined the gang of bad boys on the green floor this morning! Hopefully they aren't a bad influence on him!!! :lol:
 
Re: 4/24 Rusty AMPS 172, +6 83

Good luck, Ella, with the food and dosing experiment. It's nice you have Melissa and Tarragon's experience, too. I know how much Rusty loves the FF T&G. I'm glad he's feeling so well with his loving in the mornings. I saw the snow on the weather channel, I guess your last snowfall hopefully. Have a nice day.
 
Re: 4/24 Rusty AMPS 172, +6 83

Nicely done Rusty! :thumbup

I wonder if his eating schedule could be off? You said his breath smelled of turkey this morning. he could consistently be finishing his late night snack within 2 hours of when you test. After a disruption like the pancreatitis habits can change.

Wise move not to paddle today. Playing w/ a kitter is much better.
 
Re: 4/24 Rusty AMPS 172, +6 83

Numbers looking good, but still sending Healing green vines for his pancreatitis..
Sounds like =he feels pretty well & his numbers show that!Keep improving dear Rusty!! We lubs you!

Moonie has been off today, staying mostly all day & evening in the bedroom.eating, not drinking so much......You know I worry so, about her & all the kitties...
Hope the snow leaves you Already!!!!!!!! YOU ALL NEED some Spring to feel all better up there!!
Hugs & Much Love from us To all of you up there!!!
 
Re: 4/24 Rusty AMPS 172, +6 83, +9 75, PMPS 88

Hi again,
Rusty has had a great green day after the AMPS. Ann, I think you are right about his eating the remains of his bedtime food less than 2 hours before breakfast. This is something he has always done off and on, but now he seems to do it more often. (He has always been a "free feeder" to a large extent and doesn't always finish his meals all at once, but returns to them; since the pancreatitis this is even more so.)

Weather has not improved today: lots of snow squalls and rain squalls. Our robin seems to have given up his fight with his own reflection and has moved on. I guess he will be looking for more friendly territory! He was here this morning, but I haven't seen him since the mid morning. No carcass on the ground (he never hit the window very hard), so we wish him well. He was very active and very alert, so must have been eating enough despite his battles!

Everyone have a good evening. Check out my post about Monoject syringes and the new requirements at ADW. (I'm about to write it.)

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/24 Rusty AMPS 172, +6 83, +9 75, PMPS 88

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: GO RUSTY!! Love that PMPS.

ADW has new requirements for monojets? I just bought a box 3 days ago from them, no change for me. Ok - I will have to read your post.
 
Re: 4/24 Rusty AMPS 172, +6 83, +9 75, PMPS 88

Rusty boy! Nicve PM number!! BTW there is a sillouette of an owi you can put on your windows, it's supposed to stop birds from flying into the windows thinking it's an owl!! Never had one, but some peeps use them--
6 hours sleep, that's what I usually get--Have a good evening you all! Hugs from us!
 
Re: 4/24 Rusty AMPS 172, +6 83, +9 75, PMPS 88

Very nice recovery Rusty :-D Do we know what the carb content of FF T & G is anymore? I hear different things all the time, sometimes i hear its 7% and other times i hear its much lower than that. Its good that you're feeding him whatever he wants now with his whole pancreatitis issue, i remember our vetty saying "let Leo eat whatever he wants, and that includes his junk food" when Leo had his pancreatitis bout. It took me a loooong time to get Leo eating his regular low carb food after that.

I hear ya on the sleep issue, the beans need their sleep!

Have a great evening Ella and Rusty.
 
Very lovely day for Rusty and I'm glad he's feeling better. I think you have a great idea to bring his FFT&G back down and see if that helps his numbers in the morning. Do you have to have another test done to make sure his spec fPL is normal?

Brrrrr.sounds so cold there. Tobey said in spite of it, he will gladly come for cimmamum!
 
We are thinking about Rusty and sending lots of healing vines. These :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: numbers must mean he is feeling better!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top