4/24 MOUSE AMPS 220, +6 217 glucose toxicity help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mouse & Me

Member Since 2016
This is more like Mouse's usual pre shot numbers. I don't want to see HI again!
I upped the dosage to 1.5, will hold for three days unless something comes up
So if I understand this properly, if she continues to surf in the 200s, I should up her dose on the morning of the 27th by 1.4 unit?

Before her shot today, she was heaving under the bed, nothing came of it. She never vomits. I hope this is not the start of something new....
 
Mouse is gorgeous. You would increase to 1.75 units on the 27th. Hang in there, you will get through it eventually. Olive is the same with a tumor added into the mix. We are just breaking through that toxicity ceiling after 2 months. She just earned a reducie yesterday. If she hold it is another question.

You will get there. Patience.
 
Yes, your next increase would be no less than 6 cycles and the new dose would be 1.75. It probably will take some time and more than one increase to move past this, but you never know. Cats like to be unpredictable and they love to prove us wrong. :rolleyes:

How old is Mouse? When Asia vomits but nothing comes of it, or it’s clear, it usually means she has acid tummy and has gone too long without food. My vet once explained it like this: cats will know it’s close to a regular feeding time and their body responds by starting the digestive juices up in anticipation of the food. If they don’t have food when this happens, it can cause tummy upset and dry heaving. Did she not eat one of her overnight meals by chance? Or was her breakfast portion delayed more than usual? I hope it was an isolated incident and she feels better soon. :bighug:
 
Good luck with the new dose. I hope she gets back to blue and green very soon.

Reassess the dose every 6 cycles (unless she earns a reduction with a drop below 50)
So if her Nadirs are not where you need them to be, you would consider taking the dose up again on the morning of 4/27
 
Good luck with the new dose. I hope she gets back to blue and green very soon.

Reassess the dose every 6 cycles (unless she earns a reduction with a drop below 50)
So if her Nadirs are not where you need them to be, you would consider taking the dose up again on the morning of 4/27
below 50 or 40?
 
Yes, your next increase would be no less than 6 cycles and the new dose would be 1.75. It probably will take some time and more than one increase to move past this, but you never know. Cats like to be unpredictable and they love to prove us wrong. :rolleyes:

How old is Mouse? When Asia vomits but nothing comes of it, or it’s clear, it usually means she has acid tummy and has gone too long without food. My vet once explained it like this: cats will know it’s close to a regular feeding time and their body responds by starting the digestive juices up in anticipation of the food. If they don’t have food when this happens, it can cause tummy upset and dry heaving. Did she not eat one of her overnight meals by chance? Or was her breakfast portion delayed more than usual? I hope it was an isolated incident and she feels better soon. :bighug:
Whew! sounds like what happened. the incident was five minutes before feeding time, and these cats know when it's time to eat. The male yowls 15 minutes before mealtime, everyday, twice a day....
They both didn't finish their autofeeder food, a sign too much humidity got to the food, making it soft. They can't stand fancy feast turkey & giblet in pate form, but will eat it as freeze dried. If it softens, it's like hardened pate,& they won't touch it.
They won't eat wet food left out for more than 20 minutes, cold or warm.

Mouse is probably 8-10 years old. The shelter she came from couldn't cofirm their age. They had to be separated from other cats, living in a cage together for 18 months, because they are scared of other cats, even kittens. The shelter waived the fees so I could take them to a home right away. It took awhile to get them to behave differently. They will never be normal. They don't jump well, only recently played with toys, ate off a plate after a few weeks, didn't meow for months. I had to use a tacker, so I could find them in the house, since they didn't make a sound.
Mouse suffered from lots of infections until I could figure out that she needed a special litter. She was abused, has scarring, so her urine would collect around her bottom. The litter I use keeps her clean & healthy.
The infections probably brought down her immune system, add the nothing but dry food for years, and it's no wonder she became diabetic.
This cat deserves to get her health back
 
Oh I’m glad it seems like it was just that! Yay!

Aw, poor Mouse, is that how she got her name? Quiet as a mouse?

It’s really great that you gave them a safe and loving home. I’m glad you were able to show them humans (the right humans) can be trusted and they have come out of their shells a bit.

They do deserve to get their health back, I’m glad you are so committed to them. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh I’m glad it seems like it was just that! Yay!

Aw, poor Mouse, is that how she got her name? Quiet as a mouse?

It’s really great that you gave them a safe and loving home. I’m glad you were able to show them humans (the right humans) can be trusted and they have come out of their shells a bit.

They do deserve to get their health back, I’m glad you are so committed to them. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Quiet as a mouse, yes. If you hear her meow, it must be very important. She also has bad eyesight, so she walks edges of rooms and furniture all the time. She claimed the edge of my bed as her place to sleep. So honored!
 
Mouse is gorgeous. You would increase to 1.75 units on the 27th. Hang in there, you will get through it eventually. Olive is the same with a tumor added into the mix. We are just breaking through that toxicity ceiling after 2 months. She just earned a reducie yesterday. If she hold it is another question.

You will get there. Patience.
Is it typical for the cat to "surf"? That's what Mouse is doing, as I predicted, surfing in the 200's. She will most likely go down quickly in a few days, then zoom back up. My goal has been to keep her in a bracket for a week, even in the 200s. It can't be good to bounce severely like she does.
 
They get use to the new "surf" so when it drops again it creates the bounce because they think the new surf is normal.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top