4/24 Mim AMPS 344,+5~140 Help Please, Need Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.
Could someone please check Mims spreadsheet - there has been some green at this dose but it hasn't lasted very long. The last 2 weeks numbers have been very unlike Mim and I'm not sure whether to increase or decrease his dose. I'm wondering if something else is going on to be causing his numbers so much variation (pain?).

Thanks :-D
 
Re: 4/24 Mim AMPS 344 Help Please, Need Advice

Hard to say. Wonder if Mim went lower than that BG 70 the night of 4/22. On ss, I see what might be a delayed bounce trend in Mim. Bounces can show up 2-3 cycles after the low or fast track down and then last for a couple of days. Anything else going on with Mim?
BTW, that photo is insanely great.
 
Re: 4/24 Mim AMPS 344 Help Please, Need Advice

I finally found the old post I hadn't been able to find the last time I looked - Jojo had posted this and I wondered if you had seen it then.
jojo and bunny said:
andrew someone paged me to this post today, sorry just seeing it, i'm not around everyday anymore.

gee, the video was rough to see. :( mim has cardiac issues, can you talk to your vet about this possibility of this being ischemic neuromyopathy?* was really the first thing i thought of as i was watching the video. this doesn't look like arthritis or diabetic neuropathy to me (and the time frame is wrong for diabetic neuropathy, doesn't make sense that he would develop it now at this point when so regulated). how are his electrolyte levels? (not hypokalemic (low potassium) or hypocalcemic right?) what was the time frame from starting raw to this starting... is there a link? are you sure he is getting enough thiamine?

hope your vet is able to help, really don't like seeing mim like that.
~jojo


*Ischemic Neuromyopathy occurs in cats with cardiomyopathy, subsequent to thrombosis of the caudal aorta or its principal branches. The ischemic injury to both muscle and peripheral nerve is produced by collateral circulation vasoconstriction induced by substances such as serotonin and thromboxane A2 released by platelets trapped in the thrombus.
~from 2008 WSAVA proceeding
http://www.vin.com/proceedings/Proceedi ... &O=Generic
 
Re: 4/24 Mim AMPS 344 Help Please, Need Advice

Thank-you - Mim had blood/electrolyte checked a couple of months ago and all was ok. The specialists are speculating about either a neurological or orthopaedic cause of his forelimb problem. The range of potential tests is beyond my financial means and I am reluctant anyway to put Mim through potentially multiple general anaesthetics and surgery (for possible carpal hyperextension). He has been happy enough in himself despite his difficulty walking and doesn't appear to be in pain. However, given his recent blood glucose levels we are thinking to trial some pain-medication to see if there is any change. One specialist suggested pancreatitis maybe currently an underlying cause of his BG being un-regulated & queried the amount of fat in his diet (Dr.Lisa's raw chicken). Mim's recent BG levels are definately not normal for him but I feel like I'm only guessing about the cause & what to do about it. I have an appointment with the local vet soon but don't have a lot of confidence in him (he was the only one available today).
 
I don't know, Andrew, I hope the vets can figure something out. The insulin dose looks close, you could maybe add a drop but not much more than that. You would need to monitor more to be sure that's not dropping him too much, but it's something to try.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top