4/24 Max Vet News Scary +4.5=156PMPS 138+1=143+2.5=220+4=282

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S ROTTEN NUMBERS
AMPS 320 +4=324 +6=368
PMPS 380 +3=325

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=117689

Only one dose but he's still high. I will try to get in to see the vet today or tomorrow. I pray he will fit me in but if he does I hope he will run everything. He needs BP, labs and urine will not be a problem. I think he might need x-rays. He is still making the strange grunting noise at times but didn't have any major episodes since two nights ago. I think a mini one early last night. I heard the noise while he was eating this morning. He did eat some freeze dried chicken early. Would that effect BG?

Vet is fitting us in at 2:30. Got noise on video.
 
Re: 4/24 Max AMPS 345+3=217 Vet @2:30+4.5=156

Prayers are needed for Max. My vet took x-rays of his lungs and one view showed infiltration. If it is infection, the convenia shot should take care of it. I questioned the use of convenia, but I think it is better than possible GI issues right now. If it isn't infection, it is big. His heart murmur is worse and so I need to make an appointment with a cardiologist. If anyone in West L.A. has used either Dr. Jarret or Tsugawa would you please PM me with your opinion of them. Thanks.
 
Re: 4/24 Max AMPS 345+3=217 Vet @2:30+4.5=156

Sending prayers and healing vines Max's way. Convenia was developed for skin infections, so may or may not be the best AB for the job if it's an internal infection. Has Max had Convenia before? The worry is possible allergy as once it's in it's there for 2 weeks. Something in the lungs might explain the grunting.

Good to see he's coming down today. You might want to post in the Health Forum asking for opinions on cardiologists in West LA. We only have one here but I really liked him. Neko heart murmur is level 2/3.

As for FD chicken - it doesn't impact most kitties, but I've heard that Jill's Alex is really carb sensitive and gets a BG bump from it. As usual, it's ECID.
 
Re: 4/24 Max AMPS 345+3=217 Vet+4.5=156 PMPS 138

So in spite of a vet visit his BG is lower than it was at +6. I'm a little afraid to shoot the full 2 units. This has been the scariest day and I'm not ready for a hypo.
 
Re: 4/24 Max Vet News Scary +4.5=156PMPS 138 Afraid

Elise

He won't hypo as long as you are testing and feeding. You are in control. Just remember that. And you have us around. If the board goes down and you need help, there is a feline diabetes group on Facebook. It's the one with over a thousand members. Hopefully, the board will work tonight.

Please start with a +1 ok?

And I'm sorry to hear about the dx. Isn't it possible it's just asthma? I had an asthmatic cat and that is the way they described her lungs but there was no infection, etc. She responded beautifully to Allerplex but I know some cats, like Tarragon, have much worse asthma and need steroids. And also remember that heart murmurs are sometimes just murmurs and nothing else. I had a kitty for many, many years with a Grade IV/VI murmur and the cardiologist could find no actual cardiovascular condition. He just had a bit of a leaky valve but no cardiomyopathy. He did not pass from any heart issues.

Big hugs. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/24 Max Vet News Scary +4.5=156PMPS 138 Afraid

The Board is acting wacky again. I keep getting that error message but my posts so far are going through, just quite slow.

Thanks, Marje. It still could be asthma. He doesn't know if it's an infection, asthma, or a mass. The radiologist will hopefully know. Two of the three x-rays were really good. I don't know which view showed the marking but it was large. He did say to him it didn't look like a typical mass. I need to try and stay positive until I know otherwise. He's had a heart murmur since he was 5 and it didn't change until now. My vet said it could be a valve issue or something else and that's why he wants me to see the cardiologist for a diagnosis and staging so he knows how to treat it. Of courses I'm second guessing myself as to why I didn't demand more US after the initial that showed his heart was normal. But two vets at the practice said it hadn't changed.

I gave him the shot.
 
Re: 4/24 Max Vet News Scary +4.5=156PMPS 138 Afraid

oh elise, i'm sorry for the scary news. try to assume the best until you know for certain what the situation really is.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

we're here for you.
 
Re: 4/24 Max Vet News Scary +4.5=156PMPS 138 Afraid

I' really trying, Julie. It seems hard to believe he could end up with his heart much worse and a mass at the same time. I mean he was checked just 3 1/2 months ago. So I am trying not to overreact. And then I start to cry. I will get a +1 Marje. Thanks.
 
Re: 4/24 Max Vet News Scary +4.5=156PMPS 138 Afraid

Adding my prayers.....
and Scritches for Max.

Try to Breathe....easy to say...
Just hold Max and enjoy his purrs.....
 
Re: 4/24 Max Vet News Scary +4.5=156PMPS 138 Afraid

Sending many many prayers for Max.
:YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/24 Max Vet News Scary +4.5=156PMPS 138 Afraid

Sending lots of vines for Max and hugs for you. I hope Marje is right and the dx is something not so scary. cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/24 Max Vet News Scary +4.5=156PMPS 138 Afraid

More prayers and positive thoughts on the way for Max.

Thinking of you tonight, Elise. Stay positive!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/24 Max Vet News Scary +4.5=156PMPS 138 Afraid

(((Elise)))), I'm so sorry for all you're going through right now, and I'm so sorry I haven't responded sooner. (I need about 50 pairs of patience pants for this site this week.) Just know that you've been in my thoughts all day! You've made a step forward today. You knew something wasn't right with Max, and you now have a starting point for helping him. The additional tests will help you pinpoint the issue so that you can then come up with a treatment plan. I know it's hard to look at such scary news as "progress," but it really is.

Remember- take one day at a time. Do the things you can do and try not to worry about the things you can't do. (I know - much easier said than done.) Tonight, the only thing you can do to help Max is give him lots of love. Tomorrow, focus on the next step.

As others have said, we're all here for you. I know that doesn't take away the fear, the heartache, or the worry. Maybe, though, it will help bring you just a little bit of comfort tonight.

I'm continuing to send out lots and lots of prayers for you and Max. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
Shelly
 
Re: 4/24 Max Vet News Scary +4.5=156PMPS 138 +1=143

Great job on the shooting. I would anticipate based on his +1, that his +2 might be lower.

Shelly has great advice. And we are all here to support you. You've had many tough times between Max and your mom. It's a lot of stress. But a step at a time is all you need to do.
 
Re: 4/24 Max Vet News Scary +4.5=156PMPS 138 +1=143

marje's comment to take one step at a time is excellent advice. Whenever life overwhelms me, i try to do exactly that. Just plan what i need to do for today and not think about the rest of it.

hugs, julie
 
Re: 4/24 Max Vet News Scary +4.5=156PMPS 138 +1=143

Thanks everyone. I so appreciate each and every one of you. So you think I should get a +2 or wait for -+3?
 
Re: 4/24 Max Vet News Scary +4.5=156PMPS 138 +1=143+2.5=220

Wow that +2.5 surprises me. Looks like you two might get some rest. I'd just get a before bed test and sleep well if he's still up.
 
Re: 4/24 Max Vet News Scary +4.5=156PMPS 138 +1=143+2.5=220

{{{Elise}}}

Sending lots of healing vines for Max and calming vines and hugs for you. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

You have a lot of people praying for you guys. Hang in there and keep positive thoughts. It's hard, I know (really, I do), but try. Max can sense your stress and worry, so try to send him positive vibes and just love him. We'll all be watching for your posts tomorrow.
 
Re: 4/24 Max Vet News Scary +4.5=156PMPS 138+1=143+2.5=220+4

Thanks Tricia. He surprised me again too. I don't understand why his BG is on the rise again either. He seems comfortable for now at least. I hope it stays that way.
 
Re: 4/24 Max Vet News Scary +4.5=156PMPS 138+1=143+2.5=220+4

Elise I'm so sad to read about today's developments at the vet but I'm really happy that you took him. I still can't stop thinking about pancreatitis though even though he has an appetite. I read online somewhere that coughing can be a symptom of P-titis. Are you going to have the vet run those tests too or has it been ruled out by a test already so you didn't mention it?

I was saying so many Medicine Buddha prayers today, for hours..

Please try to get some much needed to sleep tonight. If Max is near you when he makes that grunting noise tonight, reach over and give him a pet and tell it's going to all right, that you love him very much.
 
Re: 4/24 Max Vet News Scary +4.5=156PMPS 138+1=143+2.5=220+4

Sending prayers for Max for clear lungs and a healthy heart. I know we sometimes fear the worst and we love these cats.
 
Re: 4/24 Max Vet News Scary +4.5=156PMPS 138+1=143+2.5=220+4

Thanks to all of you for the vines and prayers. Please keep them coming as I know you are. This is a super group of people on this board and I am so lucky to have found you.

Tina, it isn't p'itis. We have the x-rays now. His heart is a little enlarged and my vet wants a diagnosis but I got the feeling he is much more concerned about the lung as am I. I can hear the noise as I'm writing this. At least he doesn't seem uncomfortable right now. All I can do is take one step at a time. I will hear today about blood tests and likely the radiologist's opinion. I will make an appointment with one of the cardiologists. I know that can be treated no matter what it is but the lung I'm not so sure.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top