? 4/24 Marshmellow AMPS 284. Not as bouncy, but is this normal??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marshmellow & Steve

Member Since 2015
Looks like Marshmellow had another small bump in numbers last evening, is this normal as she gets used to the lower numbers? I would have liked to get more BG's last night, but work wouldn't allow it. It's great she is acting herself again, fights (plays) with her civie sister Lizzy. Planning on trying to test for keytones again today, I just hope eventually these numbers stable out a bit.
 
The bouncing is very normal. Marshmellow's body has to get reacquainted with what normal BG levels feel like. The more time she spends in the normal range, the less the bouncing around should occur. Because most of our kitties were probably experiencing high BG levels before we realized they were diabetic, their bodies get "used" to the higher ranges. As a result, when they drop into lower numbers, their liver and pancreas panic and dump a stored form of glucose along with counter regulatory hormones into the blood stream. It can take as long as 3 days for bounces to clear.
 
I'll just echo that Oren started out as a big bouncer, and now that he has finally been spending some quality time in blues and greens, he's bouncing a bit less, both in terms of 'height' and length to clear them. Hang in there. It is frustrating and baffling at first (well, all the time ;)) but another thing to remember, that you will hear here a lot is that our kitties are more than their numbers. So if Marshmellow is feeling good and acting more like herself, that's progress too! Most of us have had to get used to wearing 'patience pants'; I'm sure they come in men's sizes too!;):smuggrin:.

You and Marshmellow have a great day!
 
Thank you for the confirmation, that's what I understood from the protocol, I just wanted to be sure. Next question, in the SLGS protocol, it says after 7 days , do a curve and then adjust from there. Since Marshmellow seems to bounce easily at this time, should I wait until she levels off a little, then adjust 7 days from there? As much as I would love to see her in the blues and greens, I want to try to stabilize her also. My vet is supporting me, as she thinks when she started Marshmellow on insulin, she might have rushed it in the beginning (though she still doesn't like the idea of me using a human meter).
 
The only issue with a bounce and changing dose is that you don't want to increase the dose at the same time a bounce is breaking. If numbers are coming back down after a bounce, there's a degree of momentum behind the bounce ending. If you raise the dose at the time the bounce is breaking, there's the potential for even more momentum being added and it can be challenging to chase after the dropping numbers. If the 7 days is in the middle of a bounce and you're raising then, you should be fine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top