4/24 Kasha AMPS 333, PMPS 478 DPS dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Very Active Member
Bounce? Can you really bounce that quickly (+11.3 was 189, but I didn't double check that one). Well, any way her numbers are much better than the last week. Is this really becaues of her UTI and the antibiotics? Seems so crazy that her numbers changed so much. She ate breakfast ok (I encouraged her to finish and now she's eating her shredded chicken. I don't cook for myself, but it's perfectly reasonable that I should cook chicken for her :smile: ).

Her shot this morning was a tiny bit skinny - I could only tell under the magnifying glass, but I couldn't seem to get it right and I didn't want to err on the side of fat after the way she dropped yesterday, so there it is. Now I'm going to try to catch just a little bit more sleep before I start a very busy day...

Yesterday's Condo
 
Re: 4/24 Kasha AMPS 333

Come up quick just before your ps? Sure! Oliver does it all the time!
He surfed in the mid 200s for over 4 hours, then at ps he was up to 353 from his +10 of 247, so yeah, that's why I like to take a +10 or +11 so I can tell which way he's really going at ps.
And after dropping down to a 91, you almost expect a pretty big bounce by ps.
 
Re: 4/24 Kasha AMPS 333

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 – Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 – Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Re: 4/24 Kasha AMPS 333

I agree with Gayle, this is a bounce. However, a 333 and a 347 are pretty much the same number. So far, Kasha is surfing in the pinks.
 
Ok - she stayed high-ish all day. Need to come up with my DPS dosage - I'm printing the instructions and putting them up above my counter. Stay with the .5? Thought? Suggestions?
 
remind me when you're leaving and how long you'll be gone? A week?

Have you gone over how to measure small doses with your petsitter?
 
DPS (2 of them) are vet techs - they can easily measure 1/2 units, can probably measure smaller. I will be gone a week, leaving in 11 hours.
 
Anyone weighing on a DPS dose? I have to print this stuff off so I can go to bed. I'm leaving around 7:30 am EST.
 
will the petsitters be testing?

Normally we reduce the dose for petsitters, because often cats run lower when their bean isn't home, and also because someone won't be there with them as much to keep an eye on them. Sometimes they don't eat as well when they're alone, too. We also always try to leave petsitters with a dose that can be measured with a line, so it's easy to measure accurately. In this case, we can't do both, since 0.5 is the smallest line.

If Kasha can be tested, then you're probably ok with a skinny 0.5 (tell them to measure a little less than 0.5) and give them a cutoff number below which you don't want them to give a shot. I don't know what that would be, since Kasha dropped from 482 to green last night! Maybe tell them not to shoot under 150. If they won't be testing, then I would reduce to 0.25. If you do that, be sure to leave a sample syringe with colored liquid in it so they cane see what 0.25 looks like. Don't trust anyone, even a vet tech, to know how to measure the dose. They probably only dose in 1 unit increments at the clinic, maybe 0.5. We've seen vets and vet techs overdose kitties, so you can't be too careful.
 
Before anyone can suggest a dose for DPS, it is needed to be known if DPS will be testing ps or not.
 
They will be testing. They can contact me, but I will not always have phone service where I am... What number should I tell them not to shoot under? I also have a friend and my parents to test somewhere between +4 to +6 on the weekdays and maybe next Saturday.
 
oh good, that helps. You can tell them that if your parents/friend ever get a number under 75, to leave a note for the petsitters to reduce the dose to 0.25 starting with the next shot.

I don't know what to leave as a no-shot number, Kasha can get green from almost anywhere. What if you did something like this:

<150: skip (unless they are able to stall until over 150, but I know that's doubtful with petsitters)
150-250: 0.25 units
>250: skinny 0.5 units

then leaving instructions that if the midcycle test is ever under 75 to reduce everything. That's a lot more complicated than we usually like to leave for petsitters, but Kasha's safety is most important.
 
Ok - thanks. I copied what you just wrote into my instructions. They're going to love this... Everyone already thinks I'm high maintenance!

All right - I'm going to bed soon. They are supposed to send me the AMPS and PMPS numbers and I'll post if I have access to wi-fi or my 3G network.

Thanks for all your help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top