4/24 Honey AMPS 236, +6.25 90/73, +6.75 111, PMPS 234

I just got a 90 and did a 2nd test and got 73. I was going to feed her now, do I need to give any high carb or just regular food?

She has never had a number this low.

I assume tonight I am reducing dose?
 
I wouldn’t give HC this late in the cycle. Give her a few tsp of LC and test 30 mins after she eats.

Did you use the same meter in the retest?

Can you pls update the SS so I can advise on the dose for tonight? Thanks!

PS you can take down the 911.
 
I wouldn’t give HC this late in the cycle. Give her a few tsp of LC and test 30 mins after she eats.

Did you use the same meter in the retest?

Can you pls update the SS so I can advise on the dose for tonight? Thanks!

PS you can take down the 911.
Ok, thanks. I just gave her 1 oz. reg LC

Same meter AT with AT strips both times
 
Glad to see she’s up.

You should reduce the dose tonight but I wouldn’t be surprised if she doesn’t hold the reduction. It’s rally important to get at least one test after PMPS every night like a before bed. She might be going lower on you than you realize.
 
Ok, thanks. So what does that mean for tomorrow morning?

It sounds like you think she should go up tomorrow by saying, you wouldn’t be surprised if she doesn’t hold reduction, right?
It means you let the bounce clear and see if she comes back into green. If she doesn’t, then she has failed the reduction and the dose would go back up at that time. It might take two cycles for the bounce to clear or it might take up to six. However long it takes, if she doesn’t get back to green, then go back up.

The reason I will be surprised if you don’t have to take the dose back up within the next six cycles is because from what I can see with the tests you have, she wasn’t really doing that great on 1u. The first test on the AT was likely the most accurate and it was 90. The reduction point is below 90 but, without you getting more tests in at night to see what she’s really doing, I’m not willing to risk her safety.

So, watch over the next few cycles and see how she does. She’s going to bounce but you’ll need some data at night to know how low the new dose of 0.75u is taking her. If she isn’t getting back to green after the bounce clears, increase back up to 1u.

Sound good?
 
It means you let the bounce clear and see if she comes back into green. If she doesn’t, then she has failed the reduction and the dose would go back up at that time. It might take two cycles for the bounce to clear or it might take up to six. However long it takes, if she doesn’t get back to green, then go back up.

The reason I will be surprised if you don’t have to take the dose back up within the next six cycles is because from what I can see with the tests you have, she wasn’t really doing that great on 1u. The first test on the AT was likely the most accurate and it was 90. The reduction point is below 90 but, without you getting more tests in at night to see what she’s really doing, I’m not willing to risk her safety.

So, watch over the next few cycles and see how she does. She’s going to bounce but you’ll need some data at night to know how low the new dose of 0.75u is taking her. If she isn’t getting back to green after the bounce clears, increase back up to 1u.

Sound good?
Ok, thanks. I will try to get a test at +2.5 tonight. Shot late, will see if I can shoot 15 early in morning to get back on track especially with the reduction.
 
Ok, thanks. I will try to get a test at +2.5 tonight. Shot late, will see if I can shoot 15 early in morning to get back on track especially with the reduction.
How late did you shoot? If it’s no more than an hour and she’s red or pink in the morning, just shoot at your regular time.

Thanks for trying to get tests at night. If I’m asked about a dose increase and there are no tests at night, I’m not willing to risk safety because I don’t know how low the current dose is taking the kitty.
 
Only 20 minutes late tonight. I wanted to get a test around +2 or later and then she started eating some food she had left, I didn’t know there was any out. I tested her after she had been eating for about 5 minutes, so hopefully that would not have affected much, she was around 290. I usually wait 2 hours even if not at pre shots. I’m going to bed now. Thanks for your help.
 
Only 20 minutes late tonight. I wanted to get a test around +2 or later and then she started eating some food she had left, I didn’t know there was any out. I tested her after she had been eating for about 5 minutes, so hopefully that would not have affected much, she was around 290. I usually wait 2 hours even if not at pre shots. I’m going to bed now. Thanks for your help.
You’re welcome. You can just shoot on time in the morning.
 
Back
Top