4/24 Gracie PMPS 189 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

4/24 Gracie PMPS 189

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Moderator
Member since 2010
Gracie's 4/17 Condo

Happy Friday! Sending many vines to all in need and congrats to those who have made it through their OTJ trials.

And yes..another Lupita Friday! Gracie and Tobey both love to get into our shower. It's big with a bench and they have lots of playing room in there. This morning, after Mike and I got out and got dressed, Gracie was sitting outside the shower door and staring up at it willing it to open but we wouldn't let her in because the floor was wet. We left the bathroom and Lupita went in and then called for us to come back in. Gracie was lying on her back with her head closest to the shower door looking at it upside down and rolling slightly from side to side. When she heard us come in, she did a tiny situp to be sure we were admiring how adorable she was. And then.....she saw Lupita. She popped up like a rocket and hissssssss.....I don't care how cutes I am or how much i wants in the shower.....shoo Pita shoo!!!! LBG!

She was doing great on her .75u dose....47 cycles and then yellow...alot of it. The trees on our property are all in full bloom and her eyes have really been watering the last day or so and she has been scratching so I wonder if that has anything to do with her crazy numbers the last day. Dr. B told me to start up the Allerplex and keep the iDrop Vet drops in her eyes daily. I also increased her dose. Other than that, she's been doing spectacular and been very happy and playful.

Last Friday afternoon, I was putting up one of the umbrellas on the pool deck and got my thumb caught in between two poles and sheered off a huge chunk of my thumb although there was still a tiny flap left. By the time I got into the house, I had blood everywhere and I thought Lupita was going to faint. I should have gone to get stitches but Gracie was running too low for me to spend time at urgent care waiting. I've not been able to use that thumb at all which made testing a challenge until Mike got home. Even with all the hydrogen peroxide, it got infected but it is now starting to do better so I can type again instead of chicken peck. I wasn't able to work on my environmental doc for work this week but at least got some files transferred from my work computer hard drive to our management system since I only had to use the mouse. I'm such a klutz!!!

So we hope you've all been well and your kitties as well. We also hope you are having a wonderful spring. I do have to work today but will be back around later. Just when I start to get caught up here......:)

Have a great day.
 
OH!!! I'm so sorry about your thumb! Did you ever get it looked at? I'm sure Mike pampered you when he got home!

So many things can set them off, but it's good to have a probable cause. Take it easy!
 
OW on the thumb. I hope you went in and got some ABs for that infection. Nothing to mess around with - you need your thumb, as you have no doubt been reminded this week! Sending lots of healing vines.

Thanks for our weekly dose of Lupita Friday. LBG never disappoints. :joyful: You paint such a good picture, I can just see the whole scenario playing out. Love it.
icon_lol.gif
icon_lol.gif
icon_lol.gif
 
Feel better vines and I too wonder if you need at least an antibiotic cream if not a round of antibiotics. I guess at this point if it's looking good you don't need it though. :bighug:
 
ha ha ... I love miss gracie....


and yikes on that thumb....
if you want to use it , you should have it looked at.... it will heal much faster that way....
but you know that.....
see a dr.... o_O
 
Love Fridays. End of the work week. Time to unwind. And...for the topping on this weekend cake: LUPITA FRIDAY!!!! Miss LBG you never disappoint! Thanks for the images, Marje. Love that girl.

As for your thumb....get three to a vet, or something. Ouch.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Yikes! It sounds like you'd better watch that infection. Did you get it looked at? Are you soaking it? I'd give you a hard time for not going to Urgent Care when you hurt it, but hypocrisy is not my favorite thing. ;)
 
Poor you with that thumb. I was bitten many years ago by my old mother cat, when I stupidly tried to break up a cat fight and the tooth went though the nail. The mother cat would never have hurt me intentionally. I was months without the use of my thumb and it is sooooo hard to do anything. Hope it gets better soon and the infection has gone. If it hasn't gone, please get it treated because an infected thumb is no fun.
 
Thanks for the Lupita Friday update. :) Gracie really doesn't like her being around.

I'm so sorry about your thumb. I hope it heals quickly. You may want to try soaking it in Epsom Salt if you haven't already.
 
Sorry about your thumb. You should get it looked at. You need to use your thumb for testing Gracie.
Trust me , I know what it is like not to have full use of thumb and fingers, it makes testing and giving shots a real challenge.
Gracie by the shower rolling around has to be too cute. She is just adorable.
Feel better soon!
Paula:) and Michael:cat:
 
I had a little thumb klutz this week too, I was cutting limes of the tree and didn't notice my thumb behind the stalk and snipped through my thumb with the stalk :rolleyes: luckily I had some Vyktor antiseptic left over from when I snipped his leg to apply to it - I really shouldn't be allowed near anything sharp!

LBG - your Lupita antics never fail to brighten my day :cat:
 
Good evening and thank you for all your well wishes and sharing in Gracie's Lupita Friday.

@Ann & Tess Mike definitely took over this week and handled Gracie and Tobey's needs and the cooking. I could use my right hand so there were things I could easily do.
@Tricia & Cinco well I had plenty of Neosporin around here! I think Lupita keeps hoping each week that Gracie will change her mind....uh uh. I hope your break was awesome!
@tiffmaxee yes I have been using some neosporin with the hydrogen peroxide; I'm sure it's helping.
@rhiannon and shadow and @pollydoodle no docs or vets ;) It's really doing much better now.
@suki & crystal I think the worst is over for me but for Lupita.....I am sure Gracie will give her many many more hisses!
@Anne & Zener (GA) looks like Gracie decided to give her Aunties their wish....she took a nosedive all the way to 38 today. Lil Stinka.
@Marycatmom soaking is a great idea....but I didn't. Didn't think of it...I was actually trying to let it dry out some.
@Bron and Sheba a cat bite to the nail is much, much worse than my injury. Those cat bites can get horribly infected....and often do. You are lucky it healed just fine.
@carfurby boy I wish I had thought about soaking it in epsom salts. That would have been a really good idea especially early on.
@Paula Gracie was really super cute rolling around looking at the shower door. Hope springs eternal that she will always get her way!
@Vyktors Mum owie owie.....that sounds like that would hurt SO much more!!! I hope you are ok and Vkytor's antiseptic is working.
 
Hi Marje,
Ow on your thumb. I'm glad it's getting better, but I agree with the others that you should have it looked at and maybe start a course of antibiotics. Putting peroxide on it was probably not a good idea: all the wilderness first-aid courses I have taken have stressed that peroxide damages tissue and the best immediate treatment for wounds is plain soap and water. I have also used sterile saline solution for wound washing. Keep a can of that around for the future!

Too funny on Gracie and the shower. Poor Lupita! Please tell Tobey that next week it's supposed to get warmer here (it was 27 degrees this morning, but no new snow!)

Have a good weekend. Take care of your thumb! Hugs to you and Mike and scritches for the kitties,

Ella & Rusty
 
Hi Marje! I know it's yesterdays condo, but you're not on as much and I keep missing you when I finally post! So Hi! and I miss you. I'm glad that LBG and Tobey are doing so great:). Ick on your thumb (and ouch!) I hope it's feeling better. You're in the home stretch now, I think, for retiring soon? I hope so, so you can relax again;). I hope your weekend is going well, hugs to you all:bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top