4/24 Do Lou pmps281

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa and Do Lou (GA)

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12745

I just was finally able to get some food into him he did not eat all night that combined with his dose change last night I guess made for the 107 I am reluctant to shoot 5.75 on a 107 but am going to retest in 15 min to see if he went up with the food hate to totally mess him up but I am sooo not uses to seeing a 107 which I like but just not sure about giving him the higher dose nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

Well after waiting a hour for dose advice and I know its early and no one is up I went on a shot a reduced dose late which I am sure will undo the increase last night but I just was not sure about shooting a increased dose at such a low amps since he was not wanting to eat
+20 min 133

he acts like he feels really good just not wanting to eat much this am and he even had his dry out last night but did not touch it
 
Re: 4/24 Do Lou amps 107

sorry no one was around to give you dosing advice ... I'm sorry to hear do lou did not eat at all last night ... I will send positive thoughts he eats today!
 
Re: 4/24 Do Lou amps 107

Hey Lisa! Wow look at your amps!! You must have been soooo excited and scared! I remember the first time I got a low pre-shot # for Scrabble I was so afraid but happy at the same time. Sorry no one was here to help but I think you did the right thing! Hope your Caturday goes well and will be interesting to see where Do Lou goes from here!
 
Re: 4/24 Do Lou amps 107

Michelle & Scrabble said:
Hey Lisa! Wow look at your amps!! You must have been soooo excited and scared! I remember the first time I got a low pre-shot # for Scrabble I was so afraid but happy at the same time. Sorry no one was here to help but I think you did the right thing! Hope your Caturday goes well and will be interesting to see where Do Lou goes from here!
Yep you are so right I was scared and excited at the same time since I want him lower but just had no idea what to do still not sure I did the right thing since I did not shoot until +13 hoping dose advice would appear but anyway got him to eat some more FF so I am going to test in about 10 min to see where we are
 
Re: 4/24 Do Lou amps 107

Lisa, You did fine. You can't really follow the protocol to the letter in a kitty that is transitioning from dry to wet. The protocol is directed to a cat that is on a LC diet. I like seeing this BG 107 -- you did what I was referring to when I said watch for the drop -- you reduced dose. The extra hour is good for the schedule, yes? At least it gives us some play room if he needs an early shot. I was calculating him going around the clock and it would take a long time to get to a good shooting time -- this +13 helps with schedule.
 
Re: 4/24 Do Lou amps 107

D and Noisy said:
Lisa, You did fine. You can't really follow the protocol to the letter in a kitty that is transitioning from dry to wet. The protocol is directed to a cat that is on a LC diet. I like seeing this BG 107 -- you did what I was referring to when I said watch for the drop -- you reduced dose. The extra hour is good for the schedule, yes? At least it gives us some play room if he needs an early shot. I was calculating him going around the clock and it would take a long time to get to a good shooting time -- this +13 helps with schedule.
Oh I am soooooooo glad to see you D I just was so unsure as to what to do I know we want to see him drop and I once I got some food into him had to make some kind of decision since no one had responded to my dose advice that I had in my subject line at the time. It was just too early on a Saturday morn. Yes it will help to get him back on a more normal time frame but I was afraid I was going to mess him up since we increased last night and I gave the late shot and a dosecrease both
 
Re: 4/24 Do Lou amps 107

I wouldn't think of this period as us messing up, no matter what is done. It is more about us adjusting to him as his diet is changing. Sure, we might make a move that tells us to make another move in a different direction, that's not messing up that's how it works. By waiting and shooting a reduced dose was prudent -- you are keeping him safe. Even if he shoots back up to pink, which he might do from a bounce not so much from the reduced dose -- JoJoism "if he got there once, he'll get there again."

Now let's celebrate this beautiful number! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/24 Do Lou amps 107

D and Noisy said:
I wouldn't think of this period as us messing up, no matter what is done. It is more about us adjusting to him as his diet is changing. Sure, we might make a move that tells us to make another move in a different direction, that's not messing up that's how it works. By waiting and shooting a reduced dose was prudent -- you are keeping him safe. Even if he shoots back up to pink, which he might do from a bounce not from the reduced dose, JoJoism "if he got there once, he'll get there again."
Ok he is 266 now and its almost +2 just 10 min away I shot around 6ish I was so busy going bk and forth from the laptop to testing him I did not get the exact time but its about that and pretty close to a +13 from last night
 
Re: 4/24 Do Lou amps 107+2 266

I would not be surprised if he went up today. As I said, not so much from a reduced, delayed shot but more from a bounce from his new lows.
You are not allowed to be disappointed with pink today -- it won't be the same kind of pink as before, know what I mean?
 
Re: 4/24 Do Lou amps 107+2 266

D and Noisy said:
I would not be surprised if he went up today. As I said, not so much from a reduced, delayed shot but more from a bounce from his new lows.
You are not allowed to be disappointed with pink today -- it won't be the same kind of pink as before, know what I mean?
Ok if you say so D I am not allowed to be disappointed with pink I will say that 3 times and do a flip or something to remind myself no disappointment from pink today per D :mrgreen: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/24 Do Lou amps 107+2 266

He may have seen green last night. I "could" go as far as to say -- we welcome the pink, it tells us Mr. Liver will step in if needed.
 
Re: 4/24 Do Lou amps 107+2 266

Great to see this almost-green. He may bounce, but he got here once, he can do it again.
 
Re: 4/24 Do Lou amps 107+2 266+3 238

Lisa--You know + 1 & +2 are a food spike, the +3 down they go!! So sorry no one was here to help!!
I usually see peeps on here at 4 am, but you absolutely did the right thing By shooting a lesser dose--Better to be safe!!
Great job, & look you did it on your own!! You are in control!! Have a great Caturday!!
 
Re: 4/24 Do Lou amps 107+2 266+3 238

Roni and Moonie said:
Lisa--You know + 1 & +2 are a food spike, the +3 down they go!! So sorry no one was here to help!!
I usually see peeps on here at 4 am, but you absolutely did the right thing By shooting a lesser dose--Better to be safe!!
Great job, & look you did it on your own!! You are in control!! Have a great Caturday!!
Yes well I was quite nervous nailbite_smile nailbite_smile and so unsure but knew he had to have insulin and did not want to drop him too much which I feel I did anyway but giving a +13 combined with a reduced dose but we shall see what our numbers are today he is eating so much less dry that is hard to gauge whats going to happen with him now and no I actually was not aware that +1 and 2 are food spikes I do now.
 
Re: 4/24 Do Lou amps 107+2 266+3 238

Sometimes cat's don't spike early in the cycle. This is another one of those ECID things. To be honest, I've had Gabby's numbers plummet by +2. Generally, your pre-shot and +2 should be about the same. But, ECID and every cycle can be different. Take a look at the hour-by-hour breakdown in the New to Lantus sticky -- it will give you some perspective on how an ideal cycle plays out.

For future reference, especially since you are an early shooter, there are a couple of options if you have a PS number that you are uncomfortable shooting.
  • Like today, you can stall. However, do not feed. Retest in 15 min. You may have to do this repeatedly. You want to see if Do Lo is surfing or better yet if numbers are really low, if they are rising. You do not want to shoot a dropping number unless you have a ton of data.
  • Shoot a reduced, BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose.
  • Skip the shot
Each of these options has an effect on the shed so it helps to weigh the option in light of the numbers. We try to not stall for overly long and reduce the dose since it has double the effect on the shed but sometimes it's the best option.

You did a great job this morning. I'm glad to hear that the food transition is going OK. Sometimes, crumbling a bit of freeze dried chicken on top of the wet stuff will entice a cat to eat. Likewise, tuna juice or chicken broth, Parmesan cheese, or in a pinch, a crumbled piece of kibble may be an inducement.
 
Re: 4/24 Do Lou amps 107+2 266+3 238

Good morning, Lisa and Do Lou.. great job this morning :thumbup
It can sure be exciting, but scary too when you first shoot a lower #.. you handled it sooooo well. For what it is worth, everytime I "thought" I messed Baby up, is when I got better results :o Also.. like D said.. any higher #s don't be disappointed.. it is just a bounce.. infamous Liver Training School (LTS) this is soooo different than before!! Happy Caturday!!
 
Re: 4/24 Do Lou amps 107+2 266+3 238

Well I still have soooo much learning to do in this and yes I did feed so I did not realize that I should have been testing and not feeding so I have now learned something there. I just knew that when I got up with the alarm and did his amps and saw 107 I thought now what :? what to do did not feel comfortable really going with our increase of 5.75 last night but also wanted to keep the momentum so really I just felt quite lost DH woke up and asked what was going on and was he too low and I said no he was just right but that I just did not know what to do about his shot and no one is online for advice so I told him I was trying to make a choice on what to do. I need to get come dried tuna flakes he loves them and the p-cheese he also loves that to have both on hand for sprinkling
 
Re: 4/24 Do Lou amps 107+2 266+3 238+6 285

Lisa, I was always told, do what you're comfortable with. Seems to me you did the right thing this morning by shooting only what you felt comfortable doing. Once you learn everything ( :lol: who learns EVERYTHING??), you'll feel even more comfortable!
 
Re: 4/24 Do Lou amps 107+2 266+3 238+6 285+10 282

Darn, I'm headed out. Wanted to spend some time in here.
If you see a pink at +11.5 -- hoot a little early. Do you want to go back to 5.75u or 5.5u?
Or you could opt for a fat5.5u -- a drop under the 5.75u.
Keep in mind the bounce can show up 48 hours after the low -- so if he starts climbing you'd want to shoot the 5.75u through the bounce cycle.
 
Re: 4/24 Do Lou amps 107+2 266+3 238+6 285+10 282

not bad, no pink yet!

Good job this morning, Lisa. Do Lou surprised you, but you handled it well.
 
Re: 4/24 Do Lou amps 107+2 266+3 238+6 285+10 282

D and Noisy said:
Darn, I'm headed out. Wanted to spend some time in here.
If you see a pink at +11.5 -- hoot a little early. Do you want to go back to 5.75u or 5.5u?
Or you could opt for a fat5.5u -- a drop under the 5.75u.
Keep in mind the bounce can show up 48 hours after the low -- so if he starts climbing you'd want to shoot the 5.75u through the bounce cycle.
Ok D he has ate almost nothing but raw today with a bit of RC dry I actually think he numbers are lower with the bit of RC dry vs the evo the other night when they went pink after he ate that so I just wonder if even though its less carbs then what he has now he may metabolize it differently I am trying to keep him off dry as much as possible anyway but am still letting him have a little he is so close to 300 tonight I was kinda wondering what to do actually you want me to go with the 5.75?
 
Re: 4/24 Do Lou amps 107+2 266+3 238+6 285+10 282

I want you to go with your intuition. I'm on the fence but was leaning towards the 5.75u but now that you mention the food I'm back thinking a fat 5.5u. Now I'm really out the door -- can't wait to check back in on you guys.
 
Hi Lisa, This has been an exciting day for Do Lou (and you, too, of course!). You did a great job all by yourself this morning. Good Show! I hope that the new dose will work out for you. Looking forward to your next post.

Ella & Stu
 
Nice numbers today, Lisa. Looks like you're getting there with the food. I had to be out all day, so i'm just getting around to condos now. Thanks for the encouragement this morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top