4/24 Dimitri PMPS 104 +5 34, +5.5 110, +6 135

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChEMom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's Condo

surfing-cat-6407.jpg


Looks like Dimitri is back on his board today! I'll be checking numbers frequently to see "how low can you go?"
 
Re: 4/24 Dimitri AMPS 62

Good shooting!!

You should get a +1 and +2 if at all possible, but boy what a difference a day makes!!

Go Dimitri!! Surf safe for your mamabean!!!
 
Re: 4/24 Dimitri AMPS 62

He just earned himself a 0.25 reduction this evening. As soon as I saw that number, I pulled out my Hypo Kit (thank y'all so much for that Sticky!) and gave
him a 3 oz. can of FF "Gravy Lovers" which he polished off in about 3 minutes. I'll recheck in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 4/24 Dimitri AMPS 62 +2 39

LOL...Good catch but I guess we might need to make some clarifications on the stickies!

When you break out the hypo kit, we generally tell you to strain the gravy off (by pulling the lid, then putting it back down and pressing hard...the gravy part oozes out into a bowl for you to use)

The gravy is where the carbs are, not in the "meat" part of the food, so you want to only give a few teaspoons of the gravy and then re-test in about 15-20 minutes to see if they're above 50. If not, you repeat the gravy/testing until they are up into at least the 60's.

Then you can start testing every 30 minutes but you always keep testing for at least 2 hours since the last time they had any food to make sure they're staying up on their own without having food/karo keeping them up

We don't want to overfeed early because once the carbs wear off, their BG might come crashing back down and if we "fill them up" too early, we might not be able to get them to eat later on when we need them to

I wouldn't be surprised if you get a much higher number next test....but you do want to test again about 20 minutes after you feed

Time to come up now Dimitri...you've made your point!

(and don't worry about overfeeding...other than the possible problem of needing him to eat later, at this point, he's earned his reduction so it doesn't matter so much if he goes high now)
 
Re: 4/24 Dimitri AMPS 62 +2 39 +2.5 47

Whoops, misunderstood. Thanks for explaining. Well, his number is up some. I'll keep retesting until he's in the 60's.

I think the main problem this morning is that when I first got up, I found him in the kitchen, licking a bit of food out of
his bowl from last night, and after that, he wouldn't eat his usual "big" breakfast of LC Friskies. So the whole morning got
thrown off. From now on, I'll make sure to wash out his bowl before I go to bed.
 
Re: 4/24 Dimitri AMPS 62 +2 39 +2.5 47

If you still have some, as long as he's below 50, you want to keep giving him a little of the "gravy" part....if not, a couple of drops of Karo, syrup or honey mixed with a little low carb food or rubbed on his gums will work (this is why you don't want to feed too much, too soon....if he continues to stay below 50, you may need him to eat more for awhile)

Then once he's into the 60's, keep testing until it's been at least 2 hours since he's had any food/karo...if after that he's still above 60, you can relax a little, but since it's so early in the cycle, you might want to test until you know for sure he's up and staying up (until after his usual nadir)

I have to leave to go to the doctor, but if you need some help, go to your first post today and "edit" it to add the 911 icon if he's still low. That will get you help sooner from others that are scanning the board.

I know Dimitri will be fine! You're doing an excellent job with him! And we ALL overdue it the first time we see low numbers...I think I gave China 1/2 cup of pancake syrup...LOL
 
Re: 4/24 Dimitri AMPS 62 +2 39 +2.5 47 +3 61

He's much better, 61 now at the +3 hour mark. He just ate some of his usual LC food. I will keep tabs on him until he's
safely past his nadir. Thanks for all the help Chris!
 
Re: 4/24 Dimitri AMPS 62 +2 39 +2.5 47 +3 61

Good Morning ~O) :cool:

I see Dimitri earned a reduction - wonderful!

Good catch on that +2 and good job whipping out the HC.

It's still a bit early in the cycle and it's possible his BG may dip down again.
The general rule of thumb is we like to see 2 tests with rising numbers, without influence of food
Once you get past +6 if kitty is in the 80's, you are OK with once an hour testing as long as he's not diving down.

ETA - It's a good idea to note what & how much was fed and when. It is valuable data that will come in handy the next time around :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/24 Dimitri AMPS 62 +2 39 +2.5 47 +3 61 +5 59

O.K, he went 2 hours with no food (from +3 to +5) and is 59. So he got 3 treats after the ear poke and ate some more (about 1 tbs.)
of his usual LC Friskies.

Once I drop his dose this evening, how long does it take for the depot to decrease? I'm just wondering if I should be feeding him some MC
food for the next couple of days to use up that bit of extra insulin?
 
Re: 4/24 Dimitri AMPS 62 +2 39 +2.5 47 +3 61 +5 59

Oh, and just double-checking, "medium carb" is the food that is 10-15% carbs, right? High is anything over 15%?
 
Re: 4/24 Dimitri AMPS 62 +2 39 +2.5 47 +3 61 +5 59

ChEMom said:
Once I drop his dose this evening, how long does it take for the depot to decrease? I'm just wondering if I should be feeding him some MC
food for the next couple of days to use up that bit of extra insulin?
I can't say how long the depot action will last - could be a couple cycles, depending on the size.
However return to LC food. If you feed MC it will cloud the picture. You want to see numbers resulting from LC.
Raise the carbs only if the BG calls for it -not in a preemptive manner.

I'm not sure about what is considered MC however someone who does will likely answer that.
Back in our day we just used LC and HC (although there was a time or 2 I mixed half and half).
I used HC that was at least 18%.
 
Re: 4/24 Dimitri AMPS 62 +2 39 +2.5 47 +3 61 +5 59

Thanks Sandy. I hope his depot reduces pretty quickly, cause he is really stressing me out with these almost-low-but-not-quite numbers today.

He's chilling in the sunshine outside right now. He looks very content.
 

Attachments

  • Dimitri in the sunshine.jpg
    Dimitri in the sunshine.jpg
    74.8 KB · Views: 346
Re: 4/24 Dimitri AMPS 62 +2 39 +2.5 47 +3 61 +5 59 +7 68

His PMPS was 104, and I reduced his dose to 0.75.
 
Re: 4/24 Dimitri AMPS 62 +2 39 +2.5 47 +3 61 +5 59 +7 68

Hi there :cool:

What a handsome devil he is !
ChEMom said:
I hope his depot reduces pretty quickly, cause he is really stressing me out with these almost-low-but-not-quite numbers today.
And what a day you have had! Well done!

Regarding the depot, in a couple cycles you may get a feel for how long it takes the depot to adjust. It's an ECID thing. That info will come in handy when navigating future reductions.

Regarding Dimitri riding the edge today, all I can say is there will be times along the FD journey when you have to fasten your seatbelt. . . :cool:
 
Re: 4/24 Dimitri AMPS 62 +2 39 +2.5 47 +3 61 +5 59 +7 68

WOWSER! Dimitri looks FANTASTIC today! an all normal-numbers day and after yesterday's great numbers too! The longer he goes without bouncing, the more his pancreas can heal, and hopefully kick back on.

well, Janet. Let's just watch and see what Dimitri does tonight. This is great. Have I mentioned this is great? :lol:

you're doing a great job monitoring him. he's just moved into the "be extra vigilant" phase of testing.
 
Re: 4/24 Dimitri AMPS 62 +2 39 +2.5 47 +3 61 +5 59 +7 68

And I'm glad y'all told me to be "extra vigilant" cause he just gave me a 34 at +5. So I gave him some FF gravy and am monitoring (I have honey and corn syrup too if needed.)
 
Re: 4/24 Dimitri AMPS 62 +2 39 +2.5 47 +3 61 +5 59 +7 68

Good catch! :cool:

please re-check 20-30 mins. following the gravy and post the results. . .
you have plenty of strips?

Please edit the subject line of your condo to reflect PMPS and PM+5. . .

Oh, and fasten your seat-belt ;-)
 
Re: 4/24 Dimitri PMPS 104 +5 32 +5.5 110

Sandy, I just reread one of the Stickies on "low numbers" and realize I should have immediately done a retest, in case
it was "operator error." I just retested at 20 minutes and got 110. So maybe the 34 was wrong? Is it possible for the
HC food & gravy to have that much effect that fast? I'm going to retest in another 20 minutes.

Thanks for being here.
 
Re: 4/24 Dimitri AMPS 62 +2 39 +2.5 47 +3 61 +5 59 +7 68

Oh boy - 20 mins is right on the border. . . hard to say. Others may be able to shed some light on that. . .

In any case, get a +6 and take it from there :cool:

Don't feel bad about not re-testing right away - you sprung into action!
(we have all done it :oops: )
He is safe - most important
 
Alright, I guess that was the food, cause he's even higher at +6. But now I'm really not sure if the 34 was accurate.

Thanks again for the help Sandy. Good night.
 
Now that I've calmed down, I just read where you live. Small world, sort of. I grew up in Maryland, in a little town called Seabrook,
that is close to College Park.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top