? 4/24, Chaz, amps 385, pmps 70 and dropping

Kelly & Chaz

Member Since 2019
Well, it’s been an interesting day for Chaz today. After some very low and great numbers lately, he started out high, perhaps an overnight low that caused a bounce? Then gradually lower thru the day, til he was at 70 pmps. Held off, tested a few more times - + 1.5 was @ 57. He was really hungry, so we caved and fed him, skipped the shot. Hated to skip, figuring this is going to mess up the nice trend we’ve been on. Should I have given him a lesser dose? I felt pretty squeamish dosing @ 57 on the way down. Any thoughts on how much this is going to mess up the depot?

last post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...another-earned-reduction.228679/#post-2560354
 
Last edited:
Next time you get a PS too low to shoot, don't stall much more than an hour (at most)….since you're not feeding when you're stalling, sometimes it can cause the cat to continue to drop (like it did!)

You might want to start getting an occasional +1 just because it will give you an idea of how much of a food bump Chaz will usually give you. That can be an important thing to know when you shoot a lower number.

I think a good case could be made to drop him down to 2.5 tomorrow. Although we don't usually recommend back to back reductions, he dropped below 50 two days ago (but that could have been due to the 3U depot still having an impact) and then he dropped below 50 again yesterday when the 3U depot shouldn't have as much of an impact....and then today he dropped through the entire cycle.
 
Next time you get a PS too low to shoot, don't stall much more than an hour (at most)….since you're not feeding when you're stalling, sometimes it can cause the cat to continue to drop (like it did!)

You might want to start getting an occasional +1 just because it will give you an idea of how much of a food bump Chaz will usually give you. That can be an important thing to know when you shoot a lower number.

I think a good case could be made to drop him down to 2.5 tomorrow. Although we don't usually recommend back to back reductions, he dropped below 50 two days ago (but that could have been due to the 3U depot still having an impact) and then he dropped below 50 again yesterday when the 3U depot shouldn't have as much of an impact....and then today he dropped through the entire cycle.

This is good to know, thanks Chris. I did not see your reply until after I have already done his morning routine, so he has 2.75 this am, but will definitely look to take it down to 2.50 if we have another similar day today. I realize we have messed with the depot now too so not sure what affect that’s going to have on these next few cycles. I just keep on learning :)

Have a great day!
 
Back
Top