4/24: Cedric amps 175, +2 257, pmps 271, +2 265

Status
Not open for further replies.

doombuggy

Member Since 2011
So I gave him about 1 unit instead of 1.25 because of that lower number (damn bubble). I will delay going to work to check him - I can work from this lap top. Back soon...
 
Re: 4/24: Cedric amps 175

doombuggy said:
So I gave him about 1 unit instead of 1.25 because of that lower number (damn bubble). I will delay going to work to check him - I can work from this lap top. Back soon...


NIce start there Cedric - surf safely so mom can get her work done.....
 
Re: 4/24: Cedric amps 175, +2 257

He went up to 257 probably from the food, but I feel better about leaving him home. I am off to work.
 
Re: 4/24: Cedric amps 175, +2 257

You probably would have been safe to have gone ahead and shot the full 1.25u today because he was going to continue to rise until at least +3 plus the spike that food gives him, but I can understand being nervous about shooting and having to leave for work right now since he has just had a dose increase and you aren't entirely sure exactly how low it will take him by his nadir.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/24: Cedric amps 175, +2 257

MommaOfMuse said:
You probably would have been safe to have gone ahead and shot the full 1.25u today because he was going to continue to rise until at least +3 plus the spike that food gives him, but I can understand being nervous about shooting and having to leave for work right now since he has just had a dose increase and you aren't entirely sure exactly how low it will take him by his nadir.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang

Yeah - I'm thinking we should call this Nervous rather than Relaxed Lantus lately :)
 
Re: 4/24: Cedric amps 175, +2 257

morrieb1 said:
Yeah - I'm thinking we should call this Nervous rather than Relaxed Lantus lately :)

I've never always said that the only thing that is truly relaxed about this board is our posting style. :lol: There is nothing Relaxed about the way we care for our furkids, and because of that we still are often nailbite_smile about the numbers they are giving us. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/24: Cedric amps 175, +2 257

you are right Mel. I should have given him the 1.25 and stayed home for as long as possible to make sure he was ok. I can access the office server from my lap top anyway (which I actually did for almost an hour). Was stuck in traffic and it took me about 45 minutes to get to work, the last 20 being about 2 miles away (traffic accident). I would have been better off staying there until 10! that's what will happen next time!

Just got of a webcast so I am off to eat my spagettos!
 
Re: 4/24: Cedric amps 175, +2 257

Jesse,

What a great morning number. I was so happy.

Can I ask why you reduced the dose on a 175?? Under 100, I would agree with your dose drop. But, I think he was probably very safe with the new dose.

Questions??? Please ask me if you don't understand my thinking about the dosing.

Claudia
 
Re: 4/24: Cedric amps 175, +2 257

because I don't know what i am doing? Thought it would be too much insulin...
If I get that kind of number tomorrow I won't do the same thing and will stay home if needed.
It's been a very frustrating day...more bubbles to boot!

cat(2)_steam
 
Re: 4/24: Cedric amps 175, +2 257, pmps 271

Jesse,

Okay lets try to explain this...at 175 even if he drops a 100pts he is still going to only be at 75 which would still give him another 35 pts to drop before he is anywhere close to hypo range...now if you also factor in that at preshot you feed him which is going to raise him some and he is going to continue to rise just naturally before Lantus kicks in right around +3 he is going to have more than enough wiggle room to come down before he is ever going to be anywhere close to being in hypo range. So you are more than safe to shoot a full dose on a 175.

Yes, I know the board advises newbies not to shoot anything below 200, but that is for those that are just starting out, that have no history of data with their cat and have barely started home testing and could be iffy if they are going to be able to get blood when they need to, to monitor should the cat start dropping like a stone because of all the changes going on in those early day..i.e. insulin, diet change, home testing etc. You don't fall into that catagory nor does Cedric...his diet has been changed for a long time now, you are skilled at testing, to the point you can probably now do it in your sleep. You have months of data on him and this isn't his first rodeo on insulin even this time around. The reason he keeps telling cjleo that he is on a rollercoaster is because everytime he gets those preshots down into decent numbers you get scared and back off his insulin, his shed drains a little or a lot depending on how much you reduce, he goes back up high again and then you increase and the ups and downs start all over again as his shed has to refill again.

What might help you feel a little more secure in shooting him and having to leave him is to try this, tomorrow since I doubt he is going to be that low again..get his preshot, shoot as normal than grab another spot check at +1, see how much food is going to take him up, then grab a third test right before you walk out the door. Remember that he has to fall below 40 to be in any sort of danger of hypo so it you take say 45 away from whatever he is right before you walk out the door you will see how far he has to drop before he is going to be in any kind of danger.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/24: Cedric amps 175, +2 257, pmps 271

Actually, I normally leave for work at 7:15, but could stay if needed.

I really don't think of my self as much more than a newbie. Cedric was only on insulin for a month last time and what really did it for him was a combo of stuff, lantus included. I completely changed his diet, gave him 4 small meals instead of 2 larger ones, and moved him into a house twice the size of the apt (and it has stairs, which he is not fond of). On top of being scared that something will happen to him while I am gone...

Am going to check his 8pm +2 number now...
 
Hi Jesse.

Seems Mr. Cedric is steadily coming down on the 1.5. The bounce on the 1st was disconcerting, but yesterday and today are looking better.

Best,

Claudia
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top