Re: 4/24: Cedric amps 175, +2 257, pmps 271
Jesse,
Okay lets try to explain this...at 175 even if he drops a 100pts he is still going to only be at 75 which would still give him another 35 pts to drop before he is anywhere close to hypo range...now if you also factor in that at preshot you feed him which is going to raise him some and he is going to continue to rise just naturally before Lantus kicks in right around +3 he is going to have more than enough wiggle room to come down before he is ever going to be anywhere close to being in hypo range. So you are more than safe to shoot a full dose on a 175.
Yes, I know the board advises newbies not to shoot anything below 200, but that is for those that are just starting out, that have no history of data with their cat and have barely started home testing and could be iffy if they are going to be able to get blood when they need to, to monitor should the cat start dropping like a stone because of all the changes going on in those early day..i.e. insulin, diet change, home testing etc. You don't fall into that catagory nor does Cedric...his diet has been changed for a long time now, you are skilled at testing, to the point you can probably now do it in your sleep. You have months of data on him and this isn't his first rodeo on insulin even this time around. The reason he keeps telling cjleo that he is on a rollercoaster is because everytime he gets those preshots down into decent numbers you get scared and back off his insulin, his shed drains a little or a lot depending on how much you reduce, he goes back up high again and then you increase and the ups and downs start all over again as his shed has to refill again.
What might help you feel a little more secure in shooting him and having to leave him is to try this, tomorrow since I doubt he is going to be that low again..get his preshot, shoot as normal than grab another spot check at +1, see how much food is going to take him up, then grab a third test right before you walk out the door. Remember that he has to fall below 40 to be in any sort of danger of hypo so it you take say 45 away from whatever he is right before you walk out the door you will see how far he has to drop before he is going to be in any kind of danger.
Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang