Let me take a stab at explaining. I like to look at the guidelines themselves, so here is the part of the
TR protocol for increasing the dose phase, which is where you are right now. When a cat starts out, they are on the "increasing" phase and once they start hitting green numbers consistently, they are either holding the dose or begin the dose decreasing phase.
INCREASING THE DOSE:
- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
- if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
- when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
- After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
- After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
You always want to be asking the question, "how low can this dose cause my cat's blood sugar to go?" At this point, Carter is getting at least as low as 104 on the dose. With Lantus, the low decides what you do with the dose. So I'd look up at the guidelines above and think that the part I've blued/bolded above applies. The high numbers will pass, but your focus is on the low numbers. It's possible he even got into green numbers last night before he started rising again. It's not terribly important, and you shouldn't feel like you needed to have stayed up longer and checked. He had dropped about 80 points in the 2 hours before the 104 - cats don't drop at a consistent rate per hour, but comparing to the last test can give you an idea of how quickly they are dropping.
So with a nadir close to 100, I'd hold the dose longer rather than shorter, within the guidelines above. You want to see if holding the dose longer - in this case I'd hold 8-10 cycles - will let him get back into that range again. Sometimes the cat will, sometimes it won't.
After waiting 8-10 cycles, if he's not in green numbers you may want to increase. Since he is in the lower blue range, you'd increase by 0.25u. If he gets into green numbers within that 8-10 cycles, then you might want to continue holding the dose longer to see if he can do it again. The more they get into normal range, the more their body "remembers" it's normal and the more time they will spend there. It also will help the bouncing lessen and in many cats, it will eventually end.
One "trick" that can help - when Carter gets into green numbers, try giving him a couple of teaspoons of his regular low carb food. That can help a cat surf, ie, stay in green numbers longer.
You asked about why he's lower at night than day - that's really common. As Sienne mentioned above, I tend to blame
Dawn Phenomenon, although it could be that the lower cycle triggers a little bounce that is resolved by the next evening. Sometimes you can't figure out the why - so you just go with what data you have to make decisions.
The goal of Tight Reg is to get the cat's body back into normal numbers and keep it there. When they are in normal range, the pancreas has the opportunity to heal if that is possible. Many newly diagnosed cats in that circumstance will have their pancreas heal and sputter back to life again, putting out insulin, and sometimes the cat can become diet-controlled and go off of insulin.
That doesn't happen to every cat. Sometimes there are other factors going on in their body that prevent it. The second benefit to getting a cat's body into normal numbers is that it protects the body from the damages of high blood sugar. That's really important - we've had cats live as long as 9 years on insulin.
Here is a thread "
Where Can I Find?" that is a bit of an index to this group and can help you find information that has been given in various threads. In the lower part of the first post, there is a section called
Special strategies that help some cats: Look under there for "Tight Reg Protocol, Myths Debunked" for comments about increasing on a bounce and shooting a dropping number. You might also find the "shooting low" post in the same section to be a little helpful. You're not getting the opportunity to shoot low yet, but you likely will before too long.
I think Carter is close to a good dose. Might be this one, he might need a little more insulin before you've got all green numbers, but he's starting to show potential by getting to blue 2 nights in a row on the 1.5u. He needed 3u on the N to get to green, and that can suggest he'll need a little more than he's got now, but sometimes those aren't exactly the same (comparing N and L doses.)
Hope some of that helps. Keep asking questions - the more you understand, the more you'll be able to help Carter.