borg the gorb
Member Since 2026
Gave him .75 units as per @Marje and Gracie advice, going to test him again in 2 hours from now to see where hes at
April 23rd 2026 George - AMPS 228 - +2 169
April 23rd 2026 George - AMPS 228 - +2 169
Easy question firstCould you link the methodology again? Just so I know i am doing the right thing![]()
Also, could it be explained how the increases and decreases work on a 30u syringe? I just want to be informed and be sure im doing the right thing. The little lines are each unit, correct? So .75 is just slightly less than 1 unit on the little lines, yes?
His syringes are these ones. If he needs different ones I can easily purchase new ones, just let me know what to getEasy question firstdid you buy syringes with 0.5u markings? That makes it easiest to adjust the dose. I have a few left-over syringes so I took this photo for you.
The biggest thing is consistency so once you determine where your 0.75u is, be as consistent as you can. Most members dose with calipers for accuracy as the syringes themselves are marked inaccurately but I don’t think you need to rush yourself to deal with that right now. Just do the best you can and when you feel more comfortable with everything, you can then give it a try.
Rather than recreate the wheel, this post has some diagrams to help you understand the markings on the syringes but it’s important to have syringes with 0.5u markings to make it easier.
If you look back on yesterday’s condo, Staci linked the SLGS methodology for you (BTW, the “stickys” at the top of this forum are vitally important so please start with the first and read through them as you can; ask questions). The main gist of SLGS is:
—unless the BG drops below 90, hold the dose for an entire week (7 days)
—at the end of the week, do a curve for one cycle (am cycle is best) testing every two hours
—based on the nadir (lowest part of the cycle and peak action of insulin), adjust the dose as follows:
The priority in making dose changes for any methodology is to know how low the current dose is taking him before increasing the dose. Obviously, if you see below 90, you’ll know to decrease by 0.25u but it doesn’t hurt to check in here if you have the chance as we have to be careful about giving too many reductions too fast.
- If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
- If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
- If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
When you have time, glance through the SLGS methodology and let me know if you have additional questions. I don’t want to overwhelm you with a lot of the finer points until you are comfortable with the major ones just because, for all of us, there is so much to absorb and learn at first.
You are doing great and we are here to support you. Be sure if you have a question, you use the “?” Prefix before the subject. We do “triage” in this forum so if we are glancing down the list of posters, the ones with emergencies go first, then those with questions, and lastly the ones who are just posting but don’t need anything. However, it’s important to keep the subject line updated with test results because sometimes experienced members will see something there that you might not think is important but we do![]()
I think most members use either ReliOn from Walmart or perhaps BD but what you want is U100, 0.3cc, 31g with 0.5u markings. Most are now short needle which is 8mm or 5/16” which I liked better than the long needle.His syringes are these ones. If he needs different ones I can easily purchase new ones, just let me know what to getView attachment 77934
He’s actually relatively flat if you consider each meter can have a 20% variance from reading to reading. You are also emptying the depot a tad. No worries!Update: im not sure why his BG gone up today, i hope he didnt get into anything but thats my working theory
Ohhh okay I was a bit worriedHe’s actually relatively flat if you consider each meter can have a 20% variance from reading to reading. You are also emptying the depot a tad. No worries!
Hi George’s dad!I think most members use either ReliOn from Walmart or perhaps BD but what you want is U100, 0.3cc, 31g with 0.5u markings. Most are now short needle which is 8mm or 5/16” which I liked better than the long needle.
You can look around American Diabetes Wholesale as they sell insulin syringes made for pets but it’s not necessary to specifically have a syringe made for pets. Just be sure you search the specifics I gave you on type (U100, 0.3cc, 31g with 0.5u markings).