4/24/18/Ravan/+7 83/+8 157/pmps490/+4 372/+7 409/

Status
Not open for further replies.
How nice to see that green and blue on Ravan's ss yesterday! And although he bounced to the moon by PMPS, it looks like he was coming down from it last night. Waiting to see what his AMPS is like!
 
Oh my goodness Ravan so you've decided to play with the sharks eh? :rolleyes:
Joybee, I believe you will want to reduce his dose tonight by .25. Looks like you're breaking through the insulin resistance YAY!
Edited to add: should have said glucose toxicity, not insulin resistance!
 
Last edited:
@Sharon14
@Bellasmom
@Judy and Boomer

It was such a nice day today guess what Ravan did? He decided to play with the sharks!

I wasn't going to check him for another 45 mins ( he was sleeping) but at 3 pm I just got this feeling to check. When I saw 39 on the meter I thought I had it upside down.

I tested a second time & 39! He was acting OK so I just opened a can of FF Gravy Lovers & he gobbled it down.

Then we went outside & sat in the sun for a while. When we came in he wanted more food so I put down another can. He ate most of that too.

I figure he's got this handled. Nothing for me to do but open the cans!

I checked at 3:45 & bg 83 I was watching him closely if at any time he looked shakey or just weird I would have given him some honey.

So now what? This big drop was again unexpected. Shouldn't bg being going down slowly?

If I give him the 2 units at bedtime he might drop again too low? That big difference can't be good for his body either.

Yesterday 540 today 39 ! This doesn't feel right at all.
 
@Sharon14
@Bellasmom
@Judy and Boomer

It was such a nice day today guess what Ravan did? He decided to play with the sharks!

I wasn't going to check him for another 45 mins ( he was sleeping) but at 3 pm I just got this feeling to check. When I saw 39 on the meter I thought I had it upside down.

I tested a second time & 39! He was acting OK so I just opened a can of FF Gravy Lovers & he gobbled it down.

Then we went outside & sat in the sun for a while. When we came in he wanted more food so I put down another can. He ate most of that too.

I figure he's got this handled. Nothing for me to do but open the cans!

I checked at 3:45 & bg 83 I was watching him closely if at any time he looked shakey or just weird I would have given him some honey.

So now what? This big drop was again unexpected. Shouldn't bg being going down slowly?

If I give him the 2 units at bedtime he might drop again too low? That big difference can't be good for his body either.

Yesterday 540 today 39 ! This doesn't feel right at all.
Reduce dose .25 agree with judy
 
@Judy and Boomer

If I reduce his dose could he still drop to Too Low?
One thing about glucose toxicity...once you start breaking through it, the Bg can come down quickly. Reduce by .25u tonight.
I see you tested 15 minutes after you got the 39 so that's good! The food will keep him up for a bit but you'll need to keep on testing. Try not to feed too much. If it's been half an hour since the last test I would test again.
 
On the SS in the remarks column, when I write something for yesterday it scrolls down & it's in the next days spot? Does this all the time?
 
@Judy and Boomer

Why don't feed him too much? Too late now he had at least 1 1/2 cans of FF gravy! He just asked for more food a few mins ago. I thought he's taking care of the low bg?
It's fine....you brought him out of the danger zone and kept him safe! Good job handing your first really low number!

Generally, you want to give him just enough food to bring his numbers up out of the danger zone. And you don't want him to be too full in case you need to steer his numbers with food later in the cycle (this is especially important if the low happens early in the cycle). Also, the higher carb foods may make the bounce worse.

When he gets that low, don't be afraid to give a tiny bit of syrup or caro. His BG will react quicker to the syrup/caro and when he gets that low it's important to bring him up quickly out of the danger zone.

The general rule of thumb is that if a kitty can go 2 hours without food and their BG is stable or rising, they're back in the safe zone. Important for when you need to go out or go to bed!
 
@Sharon14
I'd like your input. If Ravan's bg is 200 at shot time do I still shoot? After these huge drops I'm very concerned about tonight!
 
Last edited:
Good catch today, congrats on the reduction. You did a great job both catching the low number and responding quickly to get him up and safe.

I just looked at Ravan's SS from yesterday. I didn't check him till +7.5 & he was 79 He might have been at 39 at +6 yesterday also?
Unlikely, I'm sure he would have bounced much higher afterwards. He might also bounce tonight, I would get a +2 or +3 to see what he has planned for the night time cycle. The 2.0 unit depot will still be hanging around a bit, so it's a possibility of a more active cycle.
 
You have an hour and a half before shot time and he’s already going up, so you should be ok to shoot the new reduced dose. You did a great job catching and steering the low number!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top