? 4/24/17 Sprocket. AMPS/325 +2/139, +3/89.+4/98.+7/142.PMPS/265. +2/293. Vomited/AM. Eatig now.Dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darnell & Sprocket (GA)

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...s-264-2-5-209-4-75-232-bounce-2nd-day.176807/
Yesterday's post.

Today. 325 amps.
Vomited 10mins later. Brown bile.
Gave some tuna juice.
Doesn't want to eat. Licked his lips some.
Gave 3.5 u insulin at 650am.
Cyproheptadine & famotidine.
Seeking plastic.
Had some liquid from the chicken flavor food. Lying down some.

Waiting to see if I should give the ondansetron too?
Someone can come help me syringe it to him after 8am.
In half hour.
 
I would give the ondansetron as it will help with nausea and hopefully get him to feel well enough to eat. Fingers crossed.
Try to get a ketone test as soon as you can.
It looks like he could use a dose increase soon, too.
 
An increase??! U nuts?? He isn't balanced at all on this dose. He keeps going into 100s then bouncing!
Sorry just freaking out here.

+2/139. Gave ondansetron and he ate after. 3oz now but wont eat anything else.
+3/89. He is gonna bounce after this.
Gave some sauce from shredded food. 1tblsp & 1tsp.

He is now gonna get ondansetron 2xday
 
He's spent most of his time in pink and yellow numbers, so, looking at his patterns before this morning, yes, he probably does need more insulin.

Today, however, he's really dropping. Glad you gave some gravy and that he ate at least some breakfast. Please test again in 30mins-- we'll want to keep a close eye on him today with that drop.
 
Adding: normally we wouldn't give the gravy or go to a 30min testing schedule on a number like 89-- that's a great number, very very safe and great for his pancreas! I'm just being extra-cautious on the testing because of the vomiting this morning and the large drop from the AMPS. He should be fine since he did decide to eat some breakfast, but let's keep an eye on him!

Hope the ondansetron does the trick and gets him feeling better!
 
I'm glad you gave ondansetron. I always did immediately and avoided it long term that way many tines.
 
Any time Fritz is on an AB I give ondansetron 1/2 hour before the AB I give him the 4mg pill so give the pill and then he gets 1/2 teaspoon food you want to make sure the pill goes down.
Are you following SLGS or TR?
IMHO he is surfing you don't need to give MC or HC or gravy till he hits 50 you want him to be in that range it gives the pancreas time to heal if it's going to;)
 
Ok dont know most abbreviations yet.
What AB and IMHO?

Please dont just look at his colors. Please read why he is in those colors. I am putting all the info in the remarks section. He was bouncing from the huge drop when he stopped the sugary meds that the vet wrote a script for.

He keeps bouncing when he goes into the blues and dark greens.

I am crushing n syringing the ondansetron. I asked pharmacist n said its fine for the pill i have.

Tested again at +4/98.
He wouldn't eat other food so I tried proplan chunky chicken 4carb. He ate about 2oz of that.
 
AB =antibiotic
IMBO= in my humble opinion
98 is a safe number yes it is early in the cycle. When Fritz my kitty is above 68 (pet meter) early in the cycle I just give small amount of food and he surfs for at least an hour to 2 on that food keeping him in the greens & low blues. ECID
Iv'e heard the pill is really bitter are you not comfortable giving the pill or using a pill dispenser.
That 2oz will keep him surfing.
Surf safe Sprocket:cat:
 
I said soon, not now, especially since the dose threat worked :rolleyes:
Since Sprocket is prone to ketones, I'm just trying to help you get him into better numbers like more blues and greens, to keep those ketones at bay.
AB is antibiotic and IMHO is In My Humble Opinion.
 
Hi Darnell

I think what you may be seeing today is the clearing of the bounce he has been in after hitting those lovely blues 04/21/PM.

Question - what is 'seeking plastic' about?
 
He is off any antibiotics now. Only on ursodiol, cyproheptadine (appetite stim), famotidine (antacid) & ondansetron ( antinausea.) Now 2day a day

I crushed & syrniged in tuna juice & he didnt act like it was horrible.
I can't pill him. I try to have some vet techs do it. Sometimes it works, other times he spits it out. Cant use pill gun either. He freaks to be held down was abused as a baby.
If it tastes good he doesn't seem to freak as much.
Dyana, are you trying to make me freak more? Lol. He hasn't had a few days to be on one dose without something happening to screw up the cycles.

So he needs no issues for a few days to see what this dose can actually do.

Yea I thought today we would see what happens after bounce but then he got nauseous.
I cant get a ketone test yet. He hasn't peed yet.

He seeks plastic alot lately. Starting to see he does it when he is nauseous or high bg.

Gonna test again soon.
 
If you treat the nausea tgen you likely won't need cyproheptadine. You don't want to give an appetite stimulant to a nauseous cat. You can create food aversions. I had to find the right dose of ondansetron to stop cyproheptadine. It's often a higher dose than first thought. Also you need to keep giving the ondansetron if it is working until back to normal.
 
Vet said to give 2x a day now. 1mg each.
He has had it 1xday for a week.
Hope that will work. I will need to get that compounded too.

Appetite stim also helps for when i have to feed him when he gets the lows fast.


??This is where I don't understand.
Besides him bouncing after falling fast 2x on this dose of 3.5u I have been feeding him so he doesn't go down too fast.

If these 100s are good and make him not want to eat as much then how do I get him to eat when he goes too fast?

Doesn't that say dose is not right?

What about doing struct low carb (ff pate/proplan under 4 carbs) ?
To not have to feed the numbers, and hopefully keep him lower once all the issues work out??

Hope that makes sense. I am exhausted.

He is off antibiotic. Has all sugar free meds now. Still has fluids daily. Been ketone negatives for 2 weeks.

Hope all infections are gone.
Last test his liver was almost normal .

Shouldn't he balance on 3.25 if I am feeding at 3.5 so he doesn't go too low?
 
Last edited:
Shouldn't he balance on 3.25 if I am feeding at 3.5 so he doesn't go too low?
I am not sure I get what you mean, but IMHO the 3.5 dose works well for Sprocket - look at those gorgeous Dark Greens! :cool: He hasn't seen them i a while! You feed a little when he lowers to keep him in safe low, like you did at +3 - +4. Not to take him up too much from there.

I am no vet but I do question the necessity of Famotidine. Maybe someone else can explain why the vet keeps him on it for so long without gastritis or ulcers diagnosed? Both Ducia and I vomited after taking Fam sometime ago; I cancelled it.

Have a great surf Sprocket!
You rock!:bighug::cool::bighug:
 
I am not feedig a little to keep him up. I am feeding ALOt to keep him up.

It's hard for me to understand the Remarks but :
I am I correct in thinking that after at +3 BG 89 you fed 1.5oz (I didn't get the carbs value of this meal)? Is 1.5 oz = 2 Tablespoons?

Then you tested in 1 hour at +4 and got BG 98 and you fed another 1 Tablespoon of something (carbs%?) plus 1 teaspoon of sauce (carbs%?)
and the next test at +7 was 142. Is that correct sequence?

If yes, then 1 Tbs+ 1 tsp sauce isn't a lot at all but it was capable of bumping Sprocket up and he was at 142 three hours later.

ECID but I mean you might not need to feed a lot to keep him safe/ to make the lowering gradual.
I am assuming he didn't eat anything after +4 because nothing listed in the Remarks. Being at 142 3 hours after a moderate size meal is good result, in my humble opinion. I think you both did great!

He had beautiful cycle this AM!
:bighug:
 
The carb counts are listed along with times I gave them. I had to sleep so I have not put the rest yet. He has been eating all day after the antinausea meds this morning.
8.75oz in total now

Sorry. Apparently I forgot how to type this morning too. I corrected it now and updated.
 
Last edited:
265 pmps.
He ate ff 3carb. 1.5oz
Gave .75 of a 1 carb too but he hasnt eaten yet. He is very tired today.

He got @50ml fluids. Hard to tell with bag. One way you hold it it looks like 50ml. Another way you hold looks like more.

I hope quiet cycle. I need sleep bad.
And got 5meal auto feeder and dont got batteries yet. Plus it says remove batteries to shut off. So i assume i have to program daily if i have to remove batteries each day. Pathetic device. Why cant someone make a good reliable autofeeder?
 
OK, so the way I see it, you have a couple of options. You say you want to reduce his dose because you think the 3.5u is too much, but to be able to do that with any guarantee that the lower dose has a chance of working then you need to give Sprocket the chance to actually earn the reduction. If you continue to carb him early, you're making him really work for that...he has to fight against the carbs as well as his own body to get low enough to be reduced. While it's fine to feed to prevent him earning a reduction if you don't want him to have one, in the situation where you actually want the reduction to be earned, he needs to be able to show you what the dose he's on can really do. Which does mean waiting to see what happens if you don't carb him once he hits the high greens. At the moment, there is no actual proof that he's either all that carb sensitive or that he would actually drop further if you didn't give carbs (13% is really not all that high given that non-diabetic cats, given the choice, will eat 12% carb food...it's pretty close to his biological needs and for some cats still classes as low carb). Alternatively, you can continue to feed the high greens and prevent the reduction, but if you do that and he really would be able to earn a reduction if you didn't carb him, you may have to feed this way for some time. My concern with giving carbs too early is that it may be fueling the much higher numbers he sees later in the cycle - that 265 tonight, for instance. Which may be making any bouncing worse and which does increase the risk of ketones as it leaves him spending too long in those higher numbers.
 
293 at +2.
Fed 1.5oz of ff 1carb.

Will test before bed n set up the auto feeder n hope they work.

12.5oz for food today so far. He usually has less than this by this time.
I need to start spacing food out further apart again.
So hard when he keeps going low fast so I have to feed the drop.
 
OK, so the way I see it, you have a couple of options. You say you want to reduce his dose because you think the 3.5u is too much, but to be able to do that with any guarantee that the lower dose has a chance of working then you need to give Sprocket the chance to actually earn the reduction. If you continue to carb him early, you're making him really work for that...he has to fight against the carbs as well as his own body to get low enough to be reduced. While it's fine to feed to prevent him earning a reduction if you don't want him to have one, in the situation where you actually want the reduction to be earned, he needs to be able to show you what the dose he's on can really do. Which does mean waiting to see what happens if you don't carb him once he hits the high greens. At the moment, there is no actual proof that he's either all that carb sensitive or that he would actually drop further if you didn't give carbs (13% is really not all that high given that non-diabetic cats, given the choice, will eat 12% carb food...it's pretty close to his biological needs and for some cats still classes as low carb). Alternatively, you can continue to feed the high greens and prevent the reduction, but if you do that and he really would be able to earn a reduction if you didn't carb him, you may have to feed this way for some time. My concern with giving carbs too early is that it may be fueling the much higher numbers he sees later in the cycle - that 265 tonight, for instance. Which may be making any bouncing worse and which does increase the risk of ketones as it leaves him spending too long in those higher numbers.

Well its hard for me to watch him go down n do nothing.

I have been feeding him ff pate or proplan pate (a few flavors). Under 3carb.
So should I feed a 4, 5, or 6 carb for amps & pmps?
Then feed low rest of time to balance?
 
Well its hard for me to watch him go down n do nothing.
If he goes for that reduction, you'll have plenty to do. But we'd always prefer to see him actually earn it rather than guessing at whether or not he wants one. :)

You can try going higher with the carbs at pre-shot. Personally, I'm not convinced it makes the slightest difference for most cats to feed a 6% instead of a 2%, especially as the values are calculated and vary between batches of food so just aren't all that accurate to begin with. But it's worth a try.
 
Hey Darnell. I have the 5 petsafe. You don't need to take the batteries out or you will have to reset it. Mine is set up for pretty much the same schedule every day. It stays that way unless I need to change it for some reason.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top