4/23 Shadow AMPS Hi +4 346

Status
Not open for further replies.

BradB

Member Since 2012
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69341&p=754390

Just raised his dose to 3.25. My mom let him inside today while the dog food was down so when i went to go test him I saw him eating it. Grrrrrr. On a good note I am most likely moving soon so this will no longer be an issue as there will be no dog food around!
 
Re: 4/23 Shadow AMPS Hi

Hi Brad, I've been following Shadow's story but haven't said much because I don't have dose advice or anything like that. But I was wondering if his health seems any better since he's been on the insulin?

I also agree with you that it is really important to keep him away from that dog food. They just love kibble and it's so bad for their blood sugar numbers. :sad: Poor guy. It looks to me like you are doing a really good job getting tests and moving him up the dosing ladder, though again as I mentioned, I am certainly not an expert. Good luck taking care of your kitty!
 
Brad

Glad to see you back!!

I think you are holding on to the doses too long. Unless he comes down into blue/green, I'd be increasing his dose religiously every six cycles. If his nadir is above 300, increase him by .5u every six cycles.

I also hope the dry food issue gets resolved......

Let us know if you have any questions.
 
Re: 4/23 Shadow AMPS Hi

@saimasmom

Hello! He is actually acting a lot better since i have been doing home testing and dosing. When I was following the vet's instructions he wasn't getting better at all and was steadily getting worse and they had me considering euthanizing him. Since getting his numbers a little bit lower and pretty consistent in the 300s his cat box is still a mess and he is peeing way too much still, so I haven't saw any change there.

Every day he gets in the dog food his numbers rocket up! I will have to do a test one day to see how high it makes him go up when I have the time.

@marjorie

Hey there! Thanks a bunch. It's been a really busy past month for me but I want to keep you guys up to date on this! Sometimes it's just hard juggling everything. This week I'm going to start moving so it's gonna be even more hectic!

Sad to see that I'm holding the doses too long. A cycle is from preshot to the next shot? So 3 days would be 6 cycles? It seems that he's going to get a blue number or two sometime shortly hopefully! We had 2 yellows last night but none today.

The dry food issue will be resolved once I move and then I think we will definitely see some better progress :).

Thanks for stopping by my thread :) Hope you all are having a great week!
 
Come on blue!

I have a feeling that once the dog food is not longer an issue that you will be seeing some progress, too ;-)

Good luck with the moving. I hate moving. But, you're young, so you don't have that much accumulated, yet.
I would move Shadow last, and watch the doors closely once you're in your new place, so he doesn't escape. Make sure he wears a collar with your cell phone number on it. My cats have collars with id tags and bells, and are microchipped.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top