4/23 Raja AMPS=70 ~ PMPS=80

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Member Since 2009
AMPS=103 ~F0.5u Lev
+2=62
+5=56
+8=57
PMPS=73 ~F0.50u Lev
+3=64
+7=59
AMPS=70 ~F0.50u Lev

Yesterday
Good morning! Raja ate some breffis and when I added more Freeze Dried chicken, she ate a bit more. Twice! She then began burying the food, so that was IT for her. But she did eat a good amount! So happy!
They both have another dose of Bupe for today....
What a nice visit they had from their friends...and such delicious chicken soup! Thank you all! :YMHUG:

The vet tech had given me two syringes in a nice little labeled baggie for each kitty. And on the end of the syringe,she had put their little initials! So cute! I keep thinking about the wonderful vet visit we had yesterday. Going to the new vet was one good thing that came out of this whole horrible episode.

Oh, the ER vet faxed a report to my previous vet. describing what she noted and what actions she took. She wrote:
"Discussed insulin,duration action approx 12=13 hr, typically 8 hr nadir at home (truly "peakless" insulin) so we should be on the safe side of hypo d/t insulin admin. Options are admit, monitor BG and appetite throughout the day w supportive care (IVF, injections) or to go to rDVM and follow up.
Owner is very confident in monitoring at home and very ept at this. Her main concern right now is the appetite/hyporexia and vomiting. Discussed options for this. Decided that she would like to do outpatient care with SQ fluids, injections for nausea and see how he responds over the day. She id try oral famotidine by vomited this.
She will monitor and return or to rDVM if issues persist."


"...Owner is very confident in monitoring at home and very ept at this."
I liked that part! :lol:

So, that was faxed Thursday to my previous vet. I had a call in yesterday to the vet tech who did the dentals. No call from anyone as yet.

Had the vet tech who relayed the message from my vet last Tuesday said anything about giving him pain meds or maybe the anti-nausea meds to help him with his vomiting and inappetance, I might have gone back there. They said to refrain from feeding that evening and through the night...and no water...and bring him in in the morning for the entire day. They would regulate him. They spoke Vetsulin in the past and now speak and understand only Humilin! I really only needed that vet office for lab work and the dentals....the FD treatment was not something I discussed with them after dx really. After joining the FDMB, I realized that they had no idea about our Protocol and had no experience with caregivers who do home testing as we do here on the forum.

I do think that any vet office that received this fax "might" call and see how the kitty is doing since it related to a dental performed at their office. Or, they "might" return calls. *sigh* If they do not....they "might" end up loosing clients...
Hope you all have a wonderful Saturday! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/23 Raja AMPS=70

Sounds like Raja is doing a little better this morning. Must be such a relief to have things beginning to turn around for both kitties. Too funny on the ER report about the home testing. It is wonderful to find a vet that you feel comfortable talking with and who really listens to you. I'm glad that your new vet sounds like someone who meets that criteria. Shame on the old vet for not following up. What is that all about??? Hope your day is a good one.
 
Re: 4/23 Raja AMPS=70

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
I do think that any vet office that received this fax "might" call and see how the kitty is doing since it related to a dental performed at their office. Or, they "might" return calls. *sigh* If they do not....they "might" end up loosing clients...
Hope you all have a wonderful Saturday!
OMG, no kidding, they'd lose clients! Glad you took that action. If you have a losing game, change the game. Good for you and I already like your new vet. They are taking REAL action to help. Unlike your previous vet...I hate it when a vet says/thinks they can 'regulate' a cat on insulin in one day, one week, or even one month. They clearly don't have a clue about Feline diabetes or insulin and how they actually work.

And hee, hee! on the "Owner is very confident in monitoring at home and very ept (?) at this." Love it. (And the new abbreviation for adept.)

Go Raja go!
 
Re: 4/23 Raja AMPS=70

Pat: so glad to hear about Raja....and very sweet number for her this morning.

What a nightmare for you though. And very glad that sometime positive came out of this horrid experience for you....a New Vetty.
 
Re: 4/23 Raja AMPS=70

Love the new vet, and love that she's not afraid to give 'the owner' a pat on the back, where it's deserved.
Raja's saving her food for later...cool, that she didn't just walk away from it.
Very nice day in store for the Princess. :-D
 
Re: 4/23 Raja AMPS=70 ~ PMPS=84

AMPS=70 ~F0.5u Lev
+3=47
+5=56
+7=69
PMPS=84 ~F0.5ou Lev

Raja had 6 Temptations crushed and sprinkled on her LC at +3....she liked that! :mrgreen: Gave them Bupe at +9 and they both came running for the dinner bowls. I offered her some boiled chicken along with her Ff and she was very leery but ended up eating it! :mrgreen: A good day for them....will see how they do tomorrow. Fingers crossed!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top