4/23 Pia +3 @ 30

Status
Not open for further replies.

GinnyBarr

Member Since 2017
She went from 135 to 30 in 3 hours. She's acting fine and literally scarfing down some HC food. What else should I do?
 
Keep testing! Did she just finish eating? Don't feed too much as you are early in the cycle and you may need to keep this up over the next few hours
 
It may take a bit for the food to impact, so good call on the Karo. It will pick up her numbers quickly but will also leave quickly...I will be around for her next numbers. Come on Pia - come back to shore!
 
That is better! I would test in 20 mins as the Karo may wear off and you are still in the first part of your cycle. You will need to keep monitoring over the next little bit.

Maybe feed a bit of LC if her number is ok in 20. See if we can get her to surf a bit.
 
She may drop again when the Karo wears off, since it's still early in the cycle. You'll need to get at least two consecutive rising tests, without food or Karo, before you can call it safe.
What do you mean? She just ate, so when should I test her without food? Like 2 hours no food? And when? Sorry for all the questions.
 
Test her again in 20-30 from last food, if she is still rising test again in another 30. Then once more in an hour.
 
Looks like PJ party time in this condo tonight :cool:

FYI - from the sticky:

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.
 
Looks like PJ party time in this condo tonight :cool:

FYI - from the sticky:

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.
This is some great info. Ty so much.
 
Easy does it with the food - it's early in the cycle and you need to be able to count on her eating for you. With HC food, the gravy is where most of the carbs are -

How is Pia behaving?

Oh and by the way, congratulations on earning a reduction! New dose is 0.25u
 
Easy does it with the food - it's early in the cycle and you need to be able to count on her eating for you. With HC food, the gravy is where most of the carbs are -

How is Pia behaving?

Oh and by the way, congratulations on earning a reduction! New dose is 0.25u
She's acting like herself. She just later down next to me. Purring. Acting totally normal. It's the only thing keeping me sane.
 
Easy does it with the food - it's early in the cycle and you need to be able to count on her eating for you. With HC food, the gravy is where most of the carbs are -

How is Pia behaving?

Oh and by the way, congratulations on earning a reduction! New dose is 0.25u
And yaaay to the reduction.
 
If she's still doing OK in 30 minutes, you can wait an hour for the next test

If she's still OK then, you can truly relax ......we want them to be coming up or holding in safe numbers for 2 hours after the "low".....if she drops below 50 again though, that 2 hour "clock" starts over again
Ok. That's good to know. 2 hours. Ty. I have faith we're gonna stay stable or rise.
 
One quick question.....I know she'sbeing reduced to .25, but is there a number I shouldn't shoot below? Should I still shoot if she comes up at 90 for her amps?
 
Well, we'd normally recommend not shooting below 200, but she's already below that on a regular basis, so I don't know what to suggest. Chris can probably better answer that question.
 
One quick question.....I know she'sbeing reduced to .25, but is there a number I shouldn't shoot below? Should I still shoot if she comes up at 90 for her amps?
I would get a +10 or 11. In general if you have a lower than usual preshot if its higher than +10 or +11, you know the insulin from that cycle is waning , kitty is on her way up, and the number is probably shootable. If it is your first time shooting green, its generally recommended that you stall the first time, even if the number is 80-100. That way you will collect data on what your cat will do when you stall.

Regarding stallling (from the sticky):


Some general rules when stalling (ECID):

** 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
** 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.

  • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
  • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
    • --- Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?
** Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.

Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.
 
Folks, I need to hit the sack, trying to recover from a nasty cold. Is someone else able to stay with Ginny until she's sure Pia is going to be safe?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top