4/23 Orange +4 71, +5 78, +6 96

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie & Orange

Member Since 2012
Last condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69217

Hi everyone.

I've had a scary weekend with Yvette (she was hospitalized all night at the emergency vet yesterday), so I haven't had a chance to check in or ask some of the questions I've wanted to about Orange. And I missed Vyktor's party! :sad: Congratulations Vyktor! :-D

Yvette's doing a little better right now and is home from the emergency clinic and we're waiting for her regular vet's office to open now so we can take her in there. So, I have a few minutes to post.

Orange kitty questions:

- His PMPS on 4/21 was 188. Its the lowest I have seen yet and we weren't going to be able to stay home to watch him and didn't have time to come ask so I was scared to give him the whole dose. I decided to give him 0.25 units so that he would have something. For future reference, was that too much? Too little? Did I screw up his progress?

- Today his AMPS was 97. Not sure where that came from! I'm not sure how low he went last night since I was more worried about Yvette. I didn't give him a shot or feed him and had to run out the door to pick up Yvette. I had 2 very mad kitties yelling at me as I left that they did not have their breakfast yet. I was back an hour later, tested him again and read 198. I'm home for the morning and DH will be here the rest of the day, so I fed Orange and gave him the full dose (0.75 units) and we'll monitor him. Anything else I should be doing right now?

Thank you!
 
Re: 4/23 Orange AMPS 97, delayed 1 hr for AMPS 198 - Advice?

Poor Yvette - what happened???

Make sure you get +2 today that should give you a good idea of where Orange is headed. Looks like it might be bounce time though :YMSIGH:

In respect of the BCS (that is for big chicken shot and could you please add it under the dose for that cycle on the ss so people know why the dose was reduced) on 4/21 you can see from what happened afterwards that it would have been fine to shoot the whole dose - of course that didn't help you at the time :lol: but remember when you do shoot the insulin is not going to kick in for a few hours. He was rising and at 188 (even though it is the lowest number you've shot it is not a low number) and especially since you were able to get home for the midcycle check it would have been ok to shoot the full dose. You won't have screwed up his progress though just put a little teeny delay in it and safety is always paramount, much better a teeny delay than a hypo kitty :-D

Is not too late Orange, we Aussies we like to partee hard and I gotz my second wind now so I send a kangaroo for you ok
 
Re: 4/23 Orange AMPS 97, delayed 1 hr for AMPS 198 - Advice?

The only consideration is that I might not have shaved the dose quite so much on 4/21 but that's by virtue of 20/20 hindsight.

If you're going to stall, I'd probably encourage you to test sooner than 1 hour. Although, it sounds like today it was more a matter of needing to go get Yvette. (And same question as Serryn -- What happened?)

The only thing to be aware of is that the earliest you can shoot tonight in order to get back on schedule is +11.5 tonight. When you've delayed a shot, you can either move your shot time by 15 min. per shot or 30 min. once a day. (The exception is if Orange's numbers are high, you could shoot an hour early in order to get back on schedule. Just keep in mind, though, that an early shot acts like a dose increase. If you do shoot early, you need to be able to monitor closely.)
 
Re: 4/23 Orange AMPS 97, delayed 1 hr for AMPS 198 - Advice?

Hi guys .. no advice from me, but lots of good thoughts being sent yvette's way .. poor baby! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/23 Orange AMPS 97, delayed 1 hr for AMPS 198 - Advice?

Wooohoooo! Orange is jumping right on that kangaroo!!!!!!

He is at 217 for +2. I'll test again at +4.

Sorry for the delay in posting - we had to run out again to take Yvette in to her normal vet.

As for whats wrong with our doggie Yvette, we're not really sure. Here's the story so far: For anyone who hasn't seen the past condos she has been losing weight for a few weeks and just looking all around sick. After many vet visits and lots of tests we got a diagnosis last week of Cushings due to a small tumor in her adrenal gland. (verified by urine test, blood tests, and utltrasound). She was started on Trilostane last Thursday. She didn't seem to be doing any different until yesterday morning - around 9 am we went to take her out in the morning and her leg was all swollen and she wouldn't put any weight on it at all. (the last time before that she was out was right before we went to bed at around 1 am, and she was jogging around just fine). Of course it was a Sunday so off to the emergency vet she went. They did X rays and all sorts of tests, but couldn't find anything wrong execpt that she was slightly anemic and a little high white blood cell count. Her sodium/potassium ratio was normal. They gave her injections of a pain killer and antibiotic and sent us home.

By the time we got home she was completly unresponsive - she wouldn't even pick up her head, so we turned right back around and brought her in again. We were paniked! They admitted her overnight and gave her fluids. It must have been the pain killer that zonked her out or maybe the fluids hepled a lot, because a few hours later she started to perk up again. Today she is putting some weight on that leg and can hobble around a bit, but that might be due to the pain killers and anti-inflamitory. With all of the weight she has lost recently though she doesn't really have the muscle strength in her other 3 legs to support herself well. She's back at our normal vets right now for them to take a look at her and to continue the fluids. I'm not sure yet what kind of tests they are going to want to run on her today.
 
Re: 4/23 Orange AMPS 198, +2 217, +4 116

+4 is 116 - not bad Orange!

I'm going to be leaving for work soon and DH will be in charge. He'll keep an eye on him and get a +6. Should he do a +5 as well?

Hopefully I don't scare my cooworkers too much. I'm all stressed out and look a little like a zombie worrying about my Yvetta girl.
 
Re: 4/23 Orange AMPS 198, +2 217, +4 116, +6 88

I'm back from work in time to get a +11 = 191. I could get used to these kind of numbers :)

He was crying for food just now even though he's eaten his full can of Turducken for the morning (which usually lasts until about +8, but today I think it was gone by +4), plus about 1/4 can of FF that he doesn't even like. Even though its not shot time quite yet I gave in and fed him some - I figure with a 191 an hour before shot time it will be safe to shoot, and I'm going to move up his shot by half an hour anyway to get him back on schedule so he's pretty close to shot time now.

Yvette is back home too. The vet went over all her past tests, talked to the person that did the ultrasound, and a specialist. Now they are thinking that maybe its not Cushings? She has some strange things going on that don't fit: the adrenal gland without the tumor is normal (not small), her liver is slightly small and does not look like a cushings liver, and we can leave her at home all day while we are at work and she will not pee in the house. They still don't know what might be going on though. We've stopped the Trilostane, and have her on antibiotics and pain killers. Right now its a wait and see how she does.
 
Re: 4/23 Orange AMPS 198, +2 217, +4 116, +6 88, +11 191

His PM +3 and +4 are both at 71. Its very nice to see greens, but being new to them its kind of stressful. He ate about half a can of food just after the +3 and another spoonful after +4. He's now eaten what he usually goes through in a cycle. Should I feed him more? Or don't stuff him now incase he goes lower and I need to get some HC food in him?
 
Re: 4/23 Orange +4 71 - Anyone around to hold my hand a bit?

Dont be scared Julie. I am here, though new :lol: ! Read this over & over & be prepared

viewtopic.php?f=28&t=15887

If Orange has just finished his food, his bg will raise in an hrs time. If you are scared, you can test him in 30 min. These green numbers are what we stive to achieve for our DM kitties. Orange is getting himself healing in the green, dont panic. He will be fine with you around.
 
Re: 4/23 Orange +4 71 - Anyone around to hold my hand a bit?

Thank you! I'm not paniced yet, just a little stressed! I know I want him here, I just wish I had a crystal ball that would tell me where he's going next!

He's sitting next to me right now grooming himself and looking fine so I'm planning on waiting til +5 unless he starts acting strange.

I see Ella is going through the same thing! I'm reading over her post and a lot of good info over there.
 
Re: 4/23 Orange +4 71 - Anyone around to hold my hand a bit?

Hi, I'm here too. Give me a minute to read through your condo.
 
Re: 4/23 Orange +4 71 - Anyone around to hold my hand a bit?

Yes, stay calm. In doubt, poke & test. Have the manual & everything ready & both of you will be fine.
If Orange has finished his food, he will be ok as food will raise his bg. But dont think that he will act strange if his bg is very low, sometimes there is no symptom.
I was thinking the other day, it will be great if there is a sort of laser pen like the temp thermometer thing. We just need to shoot the beam & there is a bg reading ready! :lol:
 
Re: 4/23 Orange +4 71 - Anyone around to hold my hand a bit?

I Want one of those laser bg monitors when you develop it! :lol: :lol: :lol:

When is orange's usual nadir? +6? If so you still have a little way to go to then. Definitely get a +5. if he is lower again give a little slightly higher carb food but,Don't over feed. If you need to bring him up you still want him to be hungry. You can handle this.
 
Re: 4/23 Orange +4 71 - Anyone around to hold my hand a bit?

+5 = 78. Looking good! My stress level is decreasing :)

His usual nadir I think is +5 or +6 but I don't have too much data on that yet.
 
Re: 4/23 Orange +4 71 - Anyone around to hold my hand a bit?

He's still acting really hungry, so once we declare him safe I'm going to use this opportunity to put out some Wellness wet food. I want to switch him over (he's currently on Merrick Turducken), but hes a very picky eater. Right now it looks like he would eat anything though!
 
Re: 4/23 Orange +4 71 - Anyone around to hold my hand a bit?

This is good, no need to give extra food yet. nadirs can change too. Get a +6 and probably a +7. What you want to look for is 2 surfing or rising numbers w/out using food to bring them up. surfing right here is perfect.

Tess is keeping me busy tonight too! :lol:
 
Re: 4/23 Orange +4 71 - Anyone around to hold my hand a bit?

Ok.... he hasn't had any food since right after the +4 test, and I'll still hold off on more.
 
Yeah, now that the stress is gone I can't seem to keep my eyes open. Going to put some of that Wellness out to see if he'll actually eat some, then off to bed.

THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top