? 4/23: Nova--pm+10=65; +1=207 need assistance with TR

LindyNova

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-22-nova-amps-360.228646/

I had really planned to get a +9, but i didn't wake up---Nova woke me with a dry heave. She is super hungry & not at all happy with the poking this morning.

Not sure what is going on with these low (normal) numbers late in the pm cycle. Secondly, not sure what to do about them with TR.

I don't know if I should hold---which is where I'm leaning, or raise or lower the dose....as I would have on SLGS.
 
Last edited:
I would give Nova a snack of low carb food now and test again at +11.
I didn't expect any responses, so thanks!

I didn't give any food, only some 0 carb chix treats to hold her over, as she is (in my opinion) carb sensitive--raising quite a bit after she eats. Got the +11 and it raised so I was happy to shoot. Got the +1 and lo and behold it raised her her normal +100 points. Will keep an eye on her today. Maybe she will hold the lemons, or see the blues today at +6-8/9.

There's always the possibility of another bounce...actually I expect it, so......If you or anyone else has any inclination as to what I should do regarding TR protocol, or what these numbers mean, I am all ears. :)

and....how do you tell if they are glucose toxic, and what do you do then? I'm concerned.
 
Since you are following TR, you would hold the dose or increase. Reductions are earned by going below 50. You could increase to try to get rid of some of the higher numbers. The risk is that nadirs in the 60's don't give a lot of room for an increase and she'd likely earn a reduction fairly quickly. However, sometimes that increase is enough to set them on the path to better numbers overall. Ideally you'd like to get to a dose where you can safely get her in longer stretches of green, so her body gets used to normal numbers and slows down the bouncing. Short form of what I said - TR says to increase but do it when you can monitor closely.
 
Since you are following TR, you would hold the dose or increase. Reductions are earned by going below 50. You could increase to try to get rid of some of the higher numbers. The risk is that nadirs in the 60's don't give a lot of room for an increase and she'd likely earn a reduction fairly quickly. However, sometimes that increase is enough to set them on the path to better numbers overall. Ideally you'd like to get to a dose where you can safely get her in longer stretches of green, so her body gets used to normal numbers and slows down the bouncing. Short form of what I said - TR says to increase but do it when you can monitor closely.

Thanks, Wendy. From another post (from you, maybe) I will start to give her a snack around midnight to hold her over and hopefully prevent the low nadirs and work the curve--not to mention stop the dry heaves in the am. I haven't gotten an OK to purchase the auto feeder, yet. ;)

I figured she needed the increase to hopefully lower those higher #s. I've seen more green and blue, so I am very hopeful her body will start to adapt. I work from home these days, so i monitor more than usual--unless, of course, she decides to hop on the tramp--which she does frequently.

We'll see after today (and maybe early am tomorrow) whether I hold for another day or increase...most likely increase if she is in the higher greens, closer to blue @ +10/amps, since I'm here.
 
If Nova is heaving in the early mornings it is probably because her tummy is empty and there is acid causing issues. I would leave food out over night for her so her tummy is empty.
Who do you have to get permission to buy the automatic feeder from? Not the vet?
 
If Nova is heaving in the early mornings it is probably because her tummy is empty and there is acid causing issues. I would leave food out over night for her so her tummy is empty.
Who do you have to get permission to buy the automatic feeder from? Not the vet?
Yeah, I figured as much about the heaves. I can't leave food out through the night, there is another cat in the house and there is no guarantee he won't get it. So, for now, I get up and give her a snack at midnight. Not too big of a deal for me. I wake often early on... (but seem to snooze through the early hours when I need to get a test in at +9-11)

No, not the vet. I have a bit of opposition at home regarding Nova's treatment, and how I'm handling it with help here, and going against what our vet recommended. It happens.
 
Yeah, I figured as much about the heaves. I can't leave food out through the night, there is another cat in the house and there is no guarantee he won't get it. So, for now, I get up and give her a snack at midnight. Not too big of a deal for me. I wake often early on... (but seem to snooze through the early hours when I need to get a test in at +9-11)

No, not the vet. I have a bit of opposition at home regarding Nova's treatment, and how I'm handling it with help here, and going against what our vet recommended. It happens.
Oh I’m sorry you are having some trouble at home. Some people don’t understand.
 
Back
Top