4/23 Maus, AMPS 474, +3/280: finally some yellow

yay for Maus! You're doing amazing work Susan, I remember when you said doing BG tests at home was going to be nigh impossible and look at you now. I am very impressed!
 
Yellow is on the right track! I meant to say this yesterday, but you've only been at this FD thing a short time and you're are doing great!

I note Maus has a good appy, but vomiting? Poor baby :bighug: Do you suspect scarf and barf? Or is it on the empty stomach? They don't sound like furballs? Does he look worse or better afterward? By chance did you ask your vet? :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I note Maus has a good appy, but vomiting? Poor baby :bighug: Do you suspect scarf and barf? Or is it on the empty stomach? They don't sound like furballs? Does he look worse or better afterward? By chance did you ask your vet? :bighug::bighug::bighug:
She's always been a barfer (hazards of a fine undercoat) but stepped it up last fall & was why I took her to the vet in the first place. I asked for the bloodwork just as a matter of covering bases. Glucose was elevated, but not high & while diabetes was mentioned, the vet suspected more likely pancreatitis & prescribed anti nausea meds & pepcid. Maus improved until Feb then was back at it. I'd been out of the country several weeks both times and I thought possibly stress induced. Took her back to the vet upon my return and bloodwork showed elevated glucose, but not alarming, again suspecting pancreatitis but not clear. Back on anti nausea & pepcid plus SD i/d, 2wks rechecked blood and diagnosis became diabetes.

I restarted sprinkling a bit of pepcid on her food (it's tasteless) and that seems to be helping. I check back in with the vet via email on Tuesday & she'll take a look at the spreadsheet & weigh in.
 
Which Pepcid are you giving? The only one I ever gave was bitter.

If Artemis continues with the barfing, more than once a month, you might want to see if you can get an ultrasound done. It's not normal for cats to throw up that often.

With SLGS, you would have one more day at this dose, then increase to 1.5 units, unless you see something below 150 before then. Always so much better to be on the syringe line!
 
Which Pepcid are you giving? The only one I ever gave was bitter.
Equate Famotidine; I tasted & it'a a little chalky but that's about it. I pestle to a powder & sprinkle about 1/4 of one on top of her food & mix in a bit. I'll sprinkle on nutritional yeast if she's feeling picky. She's been a daytime outside all her life & they tend to eat more questionable stuff (I could tell stories) then grass to clear it out along with the hairballs. :eek: I've had quite a few (we need mousers) & they all do it.

you would have one more day at this dose, then increase to 1.5 units, unless you see something below 150 before then
She is nicely down today, as low as 166 so fingers crossed; I really like not being in the red. PMPS in an hour & I'll post an update

Thank you for the feedback
 
I was just going to say, great catch at =8, 166! :cool::cool::cool: Just dont get too hung up on the high numbers because the cat is way more than just those numbers. Don't let it ruin your day! Remember you are very new to FD and it's not a sprint, it's a marathon. You are doing a great job!

Is Artemis still an outdoor kitty then?

RE: My kitty was also a barfer, which is why I was asking. Her vet told me that if the vomit was a white, foamy type, it was probably stomach acid and famatodine could be tried. But, he also said what Wendy said, if actual vomiting is happening more than a few times a year, there is something else going on and further testing is needed. Mine needed Cerenia, which helped a lot.
 
Remember you are very new to FD and it's not a sprint, it's a marathon. You are doing a great job!
Yes, I try to keep that in mind. The beginner curve is very steep though & by nature I fret :nailbiting:

Is Artemis still an outdoor kitty then?
She's always been outside as much as she likes during the day, but generally hangs near me & is in before dark. I have a large garden & greenhouse & spend a lot of time outside. We're very rural, abut national forest, neighbors have barns, chickens, etc. There are also coyotes, cougars, bobcats, etc, hence indoors at night. Our animals have jobs: cats mouse & dogs keep other predators away. She's been nearly 24/7 indoors since this started last fall, doesn't seem to mind, but that's also an indication to me that she's not feeling the best.

We're sort-of accustomed to cats regurgitating things that aren't easily digested or not well chewed, but I do worry when it's just liquid. She also could gain a pound or two. My vet looks at the SS and will see my notes.
 
Back
Top