4/23 Kasha PMPS 482 +3 ~ 257, +4 ~ 145, +5~91

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Very Active Member
Pretty much no curve at all again last night. The insulin is just not doing anything for her. Could she suddenly need a much larger dose? I'm going to try to get her into the vet, but I'm pretty hopeless right now. Looks like I'm canceling my trip next week - I really needed the mental break. Please give suggestions, help. Anyone seen anything like this?

Appetite is good, btw. Better than good this morning. She's also drinking a LOT of water (not a big surprise with those readings, I think).


Yesterday's Condo
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507. Help!!!!!

When you shoot, do you check the site to be sure it's not damp afterward? Lantus has a strong smell so you might be able to sniff her to check too. If you check and it's not damp, the juice went in.

You got a new vial and started that last night correct?

Have you seen the pictures of fine doses? That was a big help to me when we got to doses smaller than whole or half units.

I hope someone can help you figure this all out, I can see how much you care about your girl and how worried you are.
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507. Help!!!!!

I have no experience with UTI - what did the vet say about that and what is being done to treat? Would the condition not possibly affect the numbers?
One other thing is that you just increased the dose, so there's always the shed that has to be filled before all of the increased shot goes to kitty to use.

Aside from the numbers, how is Kasha acting compared to before? What changes are you seeing other than drinking more water? Eating is always good to see so that's one good thing.

Some times, kitties may need more insulin; you will see others how their doses fluctuates over time, but you just need to stick with the protocol and be sure that dose changes are done only when needed. It could well be that Kasha is not feeling well and that's the reason for the higher numbers. Also, you had that bit of crazy low green numbers, and maybe some of those high numbers could be some ugly bouncing?

I am just guessing at all of this, but just to toss out some things for thought. Others with the experience will surely have more to help you soon.

Always remember that kitties will see your stress and may absorb some of it, so the best thing to do at those times is to just give some extra special pats and cuddles to Kasha and I bet you will both benefit from the cuddle time.
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507. Help!!!!!

I saw Kasha's amps and the help in your post title and felt that I had to stop in and see if I could give you some support. I haven't visited your condo in a while, so I had to go back and read some of your previous posts (thank goodness we now put a link into our previous day's condos in our daily ones). One thing that stuck out to me was that Kashawas dx'd with a UTI on 4/20...may be one reason why amps was so high. She received Convenia for her UTI. Is it possible that Kasha may be having some type of reaction to the Convenia? I know you said he had gotten it before and had no ill effects from it, but it could be possible. I know there was some debate on this AB around October. Spot had the shot when he got ill around that time and I remember reading about it after he got the shot. Spot did not have any ill effects, but other cats had. It's just a thought I'm throwing out there.

I hope things get better for you by the end of the day. Come on Kasha, please bring those numbers back down. You are worrying your mamabean sick.
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507. Help!!!!!

I've got a vet appt at 1:40, so I'm going to work and leaving early.

She had Convenia before (twice) with no side effects. When she was diagnosed w/diabetes on 12 March, she had a UTI and they gave her Convenia. I began BG testing soon after and her numbers went down as expected, nothing odd.

I can't stand this. I am quite definitely at my wit's end. :cry:
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507. Help!!!!!

Just tested at +1.5 and she's around 400. I'm going to stick around for a little bit before work and see what she is at +2.
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507. Help!!!!!

Something is up (no pun). There is a slim, but should be considered, chance that she is getting too much insulin. Is she hard to pill? I'm not sure for the reasons but I know people do not like the covenia as an AB treatment. I think if a cat is impossible to pill then it is better than no meds.

ETA: just saw the 107 drop at +1.5, let's hope it continues downward. Maybe the 0.5u will do the trick through the UTI. The +1.5 drop is likely before onset, it will be interesting to see the next BGs.
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507. Help!!!!!

I see on SS that your nerves are shot. Besides how dreadfully hard this can be is it also because you are worried about the high red numbers? Kasha is going to be ok -- these high numbers are not going to last long. Are you urine testing for ketones?

ETA: My Noisy was in pink and red for two months, he was fine and went into remission. Not to suggest Kasha will be in pink/red for two months, Noisy was a hard kitty -- I don't think Kasha is going to be hard.
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507. 389 @ +2

I have not been urine testing thus far, but I believe she was just tested at the vet on Tuesday (4/20) and ketones were negative.
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507. Help!!!!!

no advice here .. just wanted to say I understand your frustration and I'm sorry you guys are dealing with this.
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507. Help!!!!!

While she is in these high numbers you should urine test. You don't want to mess around with ketones. Lots of kitties can run high with no signs of ketones but you wouldn't want to risk that.

Don't know if you have strips but if not this is what you want.
200.jpg
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507. Help!!!!!

I agree with D---please test for ketone. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507. Help!!!!!

((Krys))

It may also be that the Convenia is not sufficiently specific to knock out the bacteria causing the UTI. If the vet doesn't suggest it, I would encourage you to push for a cytocentesis and a culture and sensitivity so you can be sure that Kasha is getting the appropriate antibiotic to do the job. Please keep us up-dated.
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507. Help!!!!!

I understand your frustration & upset! All suggestions should be considered--Moonie also had a UTI but was treated with oral ab's, and she did get better--Sending Healing vibes to Kasha & hope her numbers go down for you both today--HUGS from Us~!!!
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507. Help!!!!!

I'm going to push for that cytocentesis and C&S. I'm worried though because I saw that Convenia stays in the system so long and can have drug interactions with other ABs...

I just haven't had time to get the test stix for ketones. I haven't had time to feed myself most days lately - running back and forth to the vet with not just Kasha but the other ones aren't doing well either. It's just unreasonably hard right now.

Yesterday Joyce (Tuscany) told me about testing the urine clumps in the litter (after testing the litter itself). I can try that. I just don't know if I can get urine from her any other way w/o freaking her out. After 17 years, she's only recently got to the point where she will use the litter box if I'm in the same room with it. She used to just look at me like, "can you give me some privacy, please?"

I'm wondering what her numbers will be when I get home. She seemed to be moving lower when I checked before leaving.
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507. Help!!!!!

Sending HUGS to you....keep taking deep breaths! Good that the numbers are going down in the right direction!
Wishing you well at the vet's.... :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507. Help!!!!!

I know it doesn't sound like much, but it will get better!! Hugs to you and Kasha.

BTW...I think the contraversy about convenia is because it is an AB that stays in the system for two weeks. If the cat has some type of reaction to the AB you can not just "quit" it like you can do for oral AB's. Spot got the convenia when he was DX'd with a UTI and he did fine on it.
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507: Vet update

Ok - vet update: My vet did bloodwork - said she looks generally good, her BUN is higher than last time (in the high range) which may mean dehydration or kidney failure. She's been borderline on her kidney values for years, so I don't know if her current situation is just causing the BUN to be higher or what. They gave her sub-q fluids to help.

My vet said she looks really good otherwise and told me to go on my trip. The vet tech assisting was one of the ones who will be coming to my house - she said she would be willing to test BG, along with whatever else. The vet said they can contact her at any time, day or night, if something looks off. That made me feel a little better (I need a break, really). She said if this were her cat, she'd go on the trip. So...

About her numbers: vet said that a urinary infection could have artificially lowered her values last weekend, making me think a dose decrease was due when it really wasn't. She suggested keeping the .5 unit dose while I'm gone. Anyone heard anything like this before? Thoughts?
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507: Vet update

Hi Krys-

No advice, just want to say that it sounds like you have a very kind vet!!! My vet is so busy - she'd never let anyone call her day or night. That's incredible! And it's great that you've got a vet tech doing the care in your house. Go away! You deserve it! Now tell me where you're going so I can be jealous. :lol: I need a vacation SO bad!!!
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507. Help!!!!!

kryskat said:
Yesterday Joyce (Tuscany) told me about testing the urine clumps in the litter (after testing the litter itself). I can try that. I just don't know if I can get urine from her any other way w/o freaking her out. After 17 years, she's only recently got to the point where she will use the litter box if I'm in the same room with it. She used to just look at me like, "can you give me some privacy, please?"
The first time my vet told me I'd have to test Frank's urine every day, I thought "how on earth will I do that every day!?!?". :shock:

The vet had a couple ideas, one being to wrap saran wrap around the LB to catch pee...I was thinking..WHAT??! "Frank's not going to pee on saran wrap for me", I said. A little more discussion, she finally said, "Some cats will pee in a litter box with these pellets in it" and she hands me a cup full of little plastic pellets. The idea was to use a LB with just these pellets, no litter. He could scratch around in them and pee....and he did!! Good ole Frank doesn't mind peeing on plastic pellets. :mrgreen:

Whenever I want to test his ketones, I place the pellet LB down, put Frank in it...and often he is ready to go and pees immediately. A quick dip of the keto-stick and then I need to clean the pellets to reuse them. The LB is right next to a sink, so I add/swish a bit of H20 in the LB, and pour all through a kitchen sieve, catching the pellets. Then I throw the pellets back in the LB to dry . The next day it's dry and ready to use again.

Wacky but wonderful. :razz: Good ole Frank.....
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507: Vet update

You deserve a break and am glad to har you will be taking one.
I'm curious to hear any other experiences with UTI's in connection to what you vet said. She sure sounds helpful and nice. Not very often you hear of a vet who will take calls anytime.
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507: Vet update

Yeah - I've got 2 vet techs taking turns coming out - at least that's the idea. They can give Kash her shots, etc. and change the bandage on Blue's foot (kitty with a necrotic tumor on his foot) and give my other cat his cyproheptadine pills (we don't know what's wrong with him, but he's not right and this seems to help). The fact that all of these medical conditions got diagnosed at one time within the last 2 months is a big reason why I need a break. In fact, I was pretty stressed BEFORE all this happened. I'm a basket case now.

Where am I going? Well, hopefully, I'm going to meet my oldest friend (as in, been friends longer than with anyone else) who lives in California for a week long road trip through some of the National parks in Southern Utah. She's pregnant and it's going to be her last road trip before she's a mom (and then no road trips for a while!). We've been planning this for months... Have to go before she's too big to hike!

BTW, kasha' s BG at the vet's was in the 300s - pretty good for the stress...
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507, PMPS 482 DPS dose question?

vet said that a urinary infection could have artificially lowered her values last weekend

I guess anything is possible but typically, infection raises BG. Maybe if Kasha is one of those kitties who's numbers drop when stressed (e.g., some cat's numbers go up due to vet stress and others go down), it's possible.
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507, PMPS 482 DPS dose question?

She had a strange little head tremor while eating. It didn't bug her, but it freaked me out. Vet office closes at 5 on Fridays, so I called up one of my vet tech people and asked her about it. She said to note what happened, how long it lasted (maybe 15 - 30 seconds?, kind of like a twitch/spasm/tremor - I can't describe it because I'm not sure) and whether Kasha was concerned about it. Kasha kept eating thru it, so she said just to keep an eye on her. It was odd, but she ate her dinner ok and she's resting comfortably now... Just more worries for me.

Oh - and the vet said that the cytocentesis (sp?) would not be reliable right now because of the Convenia (antibiotic). Something about it could skew the results. And she knows the vet techs who are watching my kitties next week, so I'm sure that's why she said they could call her any time...


Is it too soon to ask about DPS dose? My vet recommended I stick with the .5 units while I'm gone. Kasha seemed to spend most of the day in the pinks, even at the vet today, which is an improvement over the last few days. Suggestions?
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507, PMPS 482 DPS dose question?

Yes, too soon to figure out the dose. Let's see how numbers play out for a few more days.
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507, PMPS 482 DPS dose question?

Oops.... You're right. Once an AB is started the results from a C & S will be off. I think have to wait at least a week or two once the AB has done it's job to make sure the infection has cleared.
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507, PMPS 482 DPS dose question?

I'm leaving Sunday morning - so I've only got thru tomorrow really to know about the dose...
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507, PMPS 482 DPS dose question?

Tomorrow evening will be a better time to discuss it. Don't worry, we'll be here. You never know what a cat is going to do -- in 48 hours all kinds of stuff might occur, making dose discussions now useless.
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507, PMPS 482 +2.3 ~ 299

OMG - a yellow number? I wanted to test again to make sure, but figured the test strip might be better used in another half hour or 40 min at her +3... We'll see.
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507, PMPS 482 +3 ~ 257!

257 @ +3 - it wasn't a fluke! Yellow! I've never liked yellow much until tonight. Now I think it's kind of pretty...
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha AMPS 507, PMPS 482 +3 ~ 257!

Great numbers for Kasha!!

This is why we don't set up doses until closer to departure day!!

Just a bit of precautionary advice. If the antibiotic is kicking in, Kasha's numbers might drop fairly quickly. You will need to keep an eye on things if this is the case. She's already dropped over 200 points in 3 hours. That's a substantial drop so be attentive. If it were me, I'd be sure to get a +5.
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha PMPS 482 +3 ~ 257, +4 ~ 145

Her +4 is 145... I didn't double check - she's eating a turkey snack (her idea - she got up and went over to her bowl)... I'm going to be checking, I'm keeping an eye on her...
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha PMPS 482 +3~257, +4~145, +4.5~116

Still dropping. In cases like this - do I continue to give this dose at my AM shot? She's been dropping so much, so fast tonight... Kind of scary, especially since I'm exhausted and keeping myself awake to watch her...
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha PMPS 482 +3 ~ 257, +5 ~ 91

Who thought we'd see green tonight? What a rollercoaster... I just gave her a medium carb snack (a little gravy and food) in the hopes that she won't plummet like a stone (any more than she already has)... I need to sleep!!! I can't guarantee I'll make it to +6 at this point... but I'm going to try.

I'm kind of afraid to give this dose in the morning after I saw what it just did tonight. And I will be out tomorrow morning - another creature of mine needs meds before I go away for a week... one that's too big to live at my house.
 
Kasha isn't on that big of a dose. There's also a very good chance that she's going to be bouncing to the moon by AMPS. Don't worry in advance. Get a check in by +11 or +11.5 and post. Usually there's someone around who can help you to brainstorm.
 
Our morning shot is going to be between 6:30 and 7:00 am - there's not always many people on at that time... I'm exhausted - getting ready for bed... She's gong to keep me running till the moment I get to the airport on Sunday!
 
Re: 4/23 Kasha PMPS 482 +3 , +5~91, +11.3~189

Ok- +11.3 is 189. Unless someone suggests otherwise, I guess I should shoot another .5? I'm a little concerned cuz I will be out and can't monitor her all morning. Not to mention, I have to get at least a couple more hours of sleep after her shot... Anyone up with suggestions? I have to shoot by 6:45 am EST or so
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top