4/23 Jupiter PMPS/58 +1/66 +2/59 +3.5/86 +4.5/82

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Yesterdays Condo : viewtopic.php?f=9&t=93841


Jupiter had such great numbers yesterday!! Reallllllyyy hoping to see some more of those numbers again today! *paws crossed* I wonder when he will ever stop bouncing up!!

He is finally completely transitioned off of the shreds in gravy. Sometimes he will act as if he doesnt want to eat the pate and he will meow at his bowl - so occasionally I mix in a little of a fancy feast appetizer.

Todays Numbers:
AMPS - 304
+2 - 293
+4 - 243
+5 - 186
+6 - 136
+8 - 51
+8.5 - 52
+9.25 - 62
+9.75 - 51
+10.25 - 52
+10.75 - 48
+11.25 - 51
+11.75 (PMPS) - 58
shot 1.75u at +12
+0.5 - 67
+1 - 66
+2 - 59
+2.5 - 70
+3.5 - 86
+4.5 - 82
+7.75 - 232

Recap of yesterdays numbers:
AMPS - 280
+3 - 148
+4 - 113
+5 - 62
+6 - 63
+7 - 62
+8 - 80
+9.5 - 139
+11 - 176
PMPS - 178
+2 - 293
+9 - 328
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +4/243

His numbers are finally starting to come down a bit!! Im hoping to see some blues soon!
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +4/243 +5/186

Woo! PRETTY BLUE!! Looks like Susie and Elian are bouncy bouncy too. They bounce until they don't, is what they say.
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +5/186 +6/136 +8/51 need he

just tested at +8 and its 51... IM WORRIED!... when I went to test him he was at his food plate but I do not know how much if any he had eaten yet. I am going to try feeding 2 tsp LC?
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +5/186 +6/136 +8/51 need he

ok he did eat the 2 tsp low carb.. test again 30 min after he ate?
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +5/186 +6/136 +8/51 need he

just tested again and hes at 52. should I try feeding more LC?
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +5/186 +6/136 +8/51 HELP pl

I'd go ahead and give him a bit more LC.

He really is trying to confuse you!! What you're seeing is the bounce breaking. Jupiter has decided he likes green and is clearing the bounce like a pro!
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +5/186 +6/136 +8/51 HELP pl

Sienne, since nobody had gotten back to me yet.. I just fed 2 more tsp about 5 mins ago he got done eating it.. when should I test again?
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +5/186 +6/136 +8/51 HELP pl

When he's low like this but above 50, feed 2 tsp LC and retest in 30.
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +5/186 +6/136 +8/51 HELP pl

Yeah thats what I did... fed him 2 tsp LC. Is it okay to let him eat more if he is hungry or should I pick up the food thats out?
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +5/186 +6/136 +8/51 HELP pl

62 @ +9.25... now that his number has risen a little bit... do I still keep feeding 2 tsp?
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +5/186 +6/136 +8/51 HELP pl

for now, since he still seemed hungry, I fed him 2 more tsp LC.

But if someone can still answer the question for next time - I would appreciate it.. after his numbers have risen a bit do I still keep trying to feed the 2 tsp LC. at what point do I stop
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +5/186 +6/136 +8/51 HELP pl

How about if you test again at +9.75 and if he's still rising then don't feed, and if he's surfing or dropping then give him 1 teaspoon (depending upon his numbers). Hopefully, he'll be rising and continue to rise until PMPS.
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +5/186 +6/136 +8/51 HELP pl

Ideally, you want to see 2 consecutive rising numbers without food. Glad he found the greenies today!! :thumbup
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +5/186 +6/136 +8/51 HELP pl

At this point, you are coming up on +10 so if he wants to eat, I'd let him have some LC so he's finished by +10.

Normally, once you have two rising and stable numbers, you would stop feeding LC/testing every 30 mins and let him go to every hour so you can see if he can stay in the green numbers on his own. You don't want to feed so much that he's full and you also don't want to feed so much that you bump him way up above 100 when a little bit of LC just to get him on a surfboard would work.

Today, if he is still dropping at PMPS but he's above 50, do you think you can shoot his full dose on time so we don't have a repeat of the other day? Will you be able to stay up and test and manage the curve like we've been doing? The one thing I need to let you know is tomorrow is my work day and so I need to be in bed by 1 am your time. My work days start really early and are usually pretty long. I just want you to know upfront that after 1 am, you will likely be on your own so you can decide now.
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +5/186 +6/136 +8/51 HELP pl

I would feed him two more teaspoons of LC, but Marje has been helping you all along, so let's see what she says.
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +5/186 +6/136 +8/51 HELP pl

Actually now he is eating more of it again


if his numbers are still dropping over the next 2 hours.. I dont feed him because it will be after +10?
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +5/186 +6/136 +8/51 HELP pl

Our saying is Feed the Forties, so if he goes below 50, then give him a little food.
Come on Jupiter, get up there boy.
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +5/186 +6/136 +8/51 HELP pl

Sorry...I was responding to another member.

Well I think Jupiter needs to join Gracie's "Lil Stinka" club ;-)

Let's see where he is. Dyana is right....remember the other night when he went into the 40s and I had you feed one tsp of LC? Same drill.

Jupiter does remind me of Gracie on lantus. She did this very same thing every single time she cleared a bounce and I shot more dropping 50s than I could shake a stick at. What I ended up doing was changing her feeding schedule a bit and feeding her a mini-meal at about +9.75 so she would be done eating by +10. Otherwise, she'd drop into the 40s and I would not have been able to shoot without stalling. Normally, we try to not feed after nadir but Jupe might just have a late nadir. Zener is another cat that likes to slide down into his PMPS quite frequently and Anne/Liz had to learn how to shoot the 50s on time or he'd just keep dropping and they would have to skip.
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +5/186 +6/136 +8/51 HELP pl

You're doing great! Breathe!

First, you're not going to shoot a number that's below the 50s. You're coming up on the end of the cycle so numbers should be coming up. However, Jupiter is a cat and they often refuse to follow the rules (as much as there are rules). There are options for shooting low numbers. You may want to review the sticky on Shooting & Handling Low Numbers so you can think about those options should you need to.

(And weren't you wondering just the other day about how to get Jupiter to stay in better numbers?)
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +5/186 +6/136 +8/51 HELP pl

Jupiter isnt on any kind of feeding schedule. He free feeds and I just pick up the food 2 hours prior to shot time. Sometimes in the morning I have a hard time taking it away 2 hours prior... but I am almost always able to in the PM. I usually open a fresh can of food about 10 minutes before +10 so they will come eat otherwise they act like they are starving during those 2 hours and try to find food and misbehave.
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +5/186 +6/136 +8/51 HELP pl

I know there are different options when dealing with a low preshot number - I want to pick whatever is best for Jupiter. I have read a lot of the stickies over and over and over and even have some of them printed out. I still feel like I am not always sure what to do...
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +5/186 +6/136 +8/51 HELP pl

+10.25 - 52

So I should not feed anymore since it is after +10 now right? How soon should I test him again? I am scared to wait until PMPS to test again because what if his numbers are only holding up due to the LC food I was feeding him?
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +5/186 +6/136 +8/51 HELP pl

I would test again at +10.5.
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +6/136 +8/51 +10.25/52 HELP

Sorry if this is a dumb question.. Is it because his numbers are still low and I didnt feed him this time...that I am testing in 15 mins instead of a half hour? I just want to understand everything so I am more prepared and can learn for when this happens in the future
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +6/136 +8/51 +10.25/52 HELP

No, I'm sorry. I didn't mean that. I meant 30 minutes after the last test.
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +2/293 +6/136 +8/51 +10.25/52 HELP

Oh and I figured I should mention this...I was going to shoot 15 minutes earlier tonight because I am still trying to get him back on schedule from the other night...

If it would be best for me not to shoot 15 minutes earlier to get him back on schedule, thats fine, I can just shoot at what +12 would be... and work on getting him back on schedule a different day?
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +6/136 +8/51 +10.25/52 +10.75/48

+10.75 - 48

Dose he get another dose reduction even though he just recently got one?

Also - what should I do now?
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +6/136 +8/51 +10.25/52 +10.75/48

And I apologize if I ask a question that has been answered in a previous post. I am on pain medicine and get confused.
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +6/136 +8/51 +10.25/52 +10.75/48

Okay I see that Dyana did say give him a little bit of food if he goes into the 40's

I fed 1 tsp LC
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +6/136 +8/51 +10.25/52 +10.75/48

Test again in 30 min. If there's one rule to remember, it's feed the 40s.

I hear you on the med. I've been chugging cough medicine!

And yes, Jupiter gets a dose reduction. Enough time has elapsed that this isn't just the depot being overly full.
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +6/136 +8/51 +10.25/52 +10.75/48

Please test again in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +6/136 +8/51 +10.25/52 +10.75/48

Will he get another dose reduction since he is in the 40's even though he just recently had a dose reduction?


Sorry Sienne didnt see your reply... I see it now though.. thanks
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +6/136 +8/51 +10.25/52 +10.75/48

Don't be nervous. You have Dyana, Sienne, and me all watching.

Please just post his next number.
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +6/136 +8/51 +10.25/52 +10.75/48

I know Jupe is in good hands especially with all 3 of you experts watching =] and thank you all for watching and helping

I cant help but feel nervous though. will post his next number in 5 mins
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +6/136 +8/51 +10.25/52 +10.75/48

+11.25 - 51

Dont feed? And retest in 30 mins?


In 30 mins is when I was going to give shot if able...
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +6/136 +8/51 +10.25/52 +10.75/48

I think I'd go for a teaspoon of food and re-test in 30 min.

Jupiter has been on quite a surf. (And remember to breathe, please.)
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +6/136 +8/51 +10.25/52 +10.75/48

Once again Jamie, you're doing a great job! The key to keeping calm is breathing, deep breathing - A LOT of it! You've got the best of the best looking out for you tonight so just follow their directions. And always remember, YOU are in control of those numbers. Hang in there kiddo... this is the part where we kick ourselves in the butt for asking for lower numbers. :mrgreen: But it's also the most wonderful thing for Jupiter. :-D
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +6/136 +8/51 +10.25/52 +10.75/48

Jamie

I think as long as he is coming up and we have some time an hour without food, you would be ok to shoot when you were going to but let's see where he is next test.

Did you read my post much earlier about me having to be in bed by 1 am your time? That does give us plenty of time to deal with low numbers and you do have some experience with it now.
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +6/136 +8/51 +10.25/52 +10.75/48

Well I was originally going to shoot in what is 20 mins from now. (30 minutes from last test)

Did feed him 1 tsp of LC food though - will I have to hold the shot then?
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +6/136 +8/51 +10.25/52 +10.75/48

Let's see where he is 30 mins after you last fed, ok? One step at a time :-D
 
Re: 4/23 Jupiter AMPS/304 +6/136 +8/51 +10.25/52 +10.75/48

Yeah Marje I saw your post. I am a little worried about it but I think I will be okay as long as it would be okay for me to ask a whole bunch(lol) of questions tonight before you go... so that I feel confident enough to do it myself
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top