4/23 Junior AMPS 450 +6 327

Status
Not open for further replies.

MauiGuppy

Member Since 2011
Good morning everyone!

My second post here in the Lantus forum -- thank you for making the first day great! As I'm writing this, Junior is sitting on the couch with me, getting ready for a nap. He's glued himself to the water bowl since February so this is very exciting for us. Even at 450, I feel like he's finally getting on the right track.

Today will be about making my to do list and include it on his profile link (ie, preparing vet info packet for my vet, switching from high carb canned to low, getting ketone sticks, etc). It'll help me prioritize what I need to do and will help everyone see what's in progress. Hopefully it'll be up there by this tonight.

Looking forward to a great day!
Bonnie

-------------------------
WHY I STARTED POSTING TO LANTUS FORUM THIS WEEK: Junior was diagnosed in Feb and began on 2U of Lantus on 2/21. It wasn't until 3/17 that we increased it to 3U. Vet said to test him once a week and we'd adjust Junior's insulin accordingly.

Monday night I gave Junior a fur shot and posted a question on the main forum. Julia & Bandit were kind enough to provide some add'l thoughts: at 5u his dosage seemed too high, suspected his high numbers was b/c he was on dry food (he was), recommended daily home testing (now being done).

Thursday I switched him to canned (Wellness Lobster & Chicken), his BG dropped 190 points and Julia cautioned about the possibility of hypo b/c he had been on dry. Dosage has lowered from 1.5u (Junior's 14.5 lbs) and feeding canned only. Will need to watch how this new direction will work.
 
Re: 4/23 Junior AMPS 450

Good morning Bonnie & Junior. Sounds as if you've got a full day in front of you. So great that Jr. isn't attached to the water bowl at the moment. Folks here in LL get excited about the small victories. Have a great day.
 
Re: 4/23 Junior AMPS 450

Welcome to lantus land--Glad you got good advice from our members & here you will find the help you need..
Like I tell all newbies, patience & consistancy are the key things we need here..Fd is an unpredictable disease and here you can find advice knowledge you cannot find anywhere else--
The low carb food will make a big difference and you will see changes back to his old behavior--That's when you know you are doing the right things..Welcome to the sugar dance and ask questions, post your numbers daily, you have found the best support group in the world!
 
Re: 4/23 Junior AMPS 450

I know someone mentioned Janet & Binky's food chart but I don't think they linked it for you. If you are going foraging for low carb cat food, the list is invaluable. There are two lists for canned food. We consider low carb (LC) below 10% carb. Most of us feed appreciably lower than 10% -- usually around 4 - 5% (or the amount of carbs in a cat's normal diet of mouse!). You'll also want to have a stock of high carb (HC) food. HC is over 15% carb. You preferably want foods that have a gravy base (e.g., Fancy Feast marinated, grilled, or Gravy Lovers varieties). If you are considering Fancy Feast for low carb, the name changed for the pate-style, LC food. It's now called "Classic."

Also, make sure you have Karo or other syrup in the house.
 
Thanks for sending me the link Sienne! Junior finished the can of Wellness Lobster & Chicken this morning and I happened to have a can of Evo Beef. He ate it with gusto but he usually does that with the first 1/4 can and then turns his nose up on the rest. Crossing my fingers that he'll enjoy the rest.

I just saw I'm down to 3 Alphatrak test strips. Daily testing has burned through my strips really fast! The ones I ordered last week don't come in until Monday so I'm going to hold off on the daily testing until Monday and reserve the strips for emergencies. If he starts acting funny at least I'll have 3 strips to burn through, especially if I have a hard time drawing blood.

This makes me definitely want to switch meters. The Relion sounds good but I want to do more research before I buy. Would hate to rush into another mistake as I did with Alphatrak.
 
you will make your money back quickly by switching to human meter and strips - plus most everything on here is in human meter numbers.

so glad he's feeling better - every time i saw punkin laying against his waterbowl i felt like scum. you're on the way now!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top