MauiGuppy
Member Since 2011
Good morning everyone!
My second post here in the Lantus forum -- thank you for making the first day great! As I'm writing this, Junior is sitting on the couch with me, getting ready for a nap. He's glued himself to the water bowl since February so this is very exciting for us. Even at 450, I feel like he's finally getting on the right track.
Today will be about making my to do list and include it on his profile link (ie, preparing vet info packet for my vet, switching from high carb canned to low, getting ketone sticks, etc). It'll help me prioritize what I need to do and will help everyone see what's in progress. Hopefully it'll be up there by this tonight.
Looking forward to a great day!
Bonnie
-------------------------
WHY I STARTED POSTING TO LANTUS FORUM THIS WEEK: Junior was diagnosed in Feb and began on 2U of Lantus on 2/21. It wasn't until 3/17 that we increased it to 3U. Vet said to test him once a week and we'd adjust Junior's insulin accordingly.
Monday night I gave Junior a fur shot and posted a question on the main forum. Julia & Bandit were kind enough to provide some add'l thoughts: at 5u his dosage seemed too high, suspected his high numbers was b/c he was on dry food (he was), recommended daily home testing (now being done).
Thursday I switched him to canned (Wellness Lobster & Chicken), his BG dropped 190 points and Julia cautioned about the possibility of hypo b/c he had been on dry. Dosage has lowered from 1.5u (Junior's 14.5 lbs) and feeding canned only. Will need to watch how this new direction will work.
My second post here in the Lantus forum -- thank you for making the first day great! As I'm writing this, Junior is sitting on the couch with me, getting ready for a nap. He's glued himself to the water bowl since February so this is very exciting for us. Even at 450, I feel like he's finally getting on the right track.
Today will be about making my to do list and include it on his profile link (ie, preparing vet info packet for my vet, switching from high carb canned to low, getting ketone sticks, etc). It'll help me prioritize what I need to do and will help everyone see what's in progress. Hopefully it'll be up there by this tonight.
Looking forward to a great day!
Bonnie
-------------------------
WHY I STARTED POSTING TO LANTUS FORUM THIS WEEK: Junior was diagnosed in Feb and began on 2U of Lantus on 2/21. It wasn't until 3/17 that we increased it to 3U. Vet said to test him once a week and we'd adjust Junior's insulin accordingly.
Monday night I gave Junior a fur shot and posted a question on the main forum. Julia & Bandit were kind enough to provide some add'l thoughts: at 5u his dosage seemed too high, suspected his high numbers was b/c he was on dry food (he was), recommended daily home testing (now being done).
Thursday I switched him to canned (Wellness Lobster & Chicken), his BG dropped 190 points and Julia cautioned about the possibility of hypo b/c he had been on dry. Dosage has lowered from 1.5u (Junior's 14.5 lbs) and feeding canned only. Will need to watch how this new direction will work.