4/23 Jez - PMBG 87....+13 77 +14 71

Status
Not open for further replies.

morrieb1

Member Since 2013
Dinner a couple of hours ago - so no food in this number. I'm definitely not shooting it.....but looking at whats been happening the last cycle and this one - I know I should stall, but I'm wondering if maybe I should just skip this shot entirely and see where that takes her?
Shouldn't be any need for any more food tonight unless I shoot.


What do you think - I really am not sure what the best option is - the low flatness from 9.5 on is really odd to me. My biggest concern about shooting late is that I would then have to shoot early or skip tomorrow.

So I'm tempted to experiment and see what happens - I guess I could always shoot when/if she starts to climb - but then again, she took herself down this afternoon - because she doesn't nadir late.

Talking out loud......please feel free to join in - my gut tells me to let her go and see what happens, but that could just be me being overly excited and rushing things.....
 
Re: 4/23 Jez - PMPS 87....

I'll think out loud along with you.

Looking at some of the data over the last week, it looks like you are getting a 40-60 point food spike. Not too sure this interpretation is correct because your spreadsheet says one thing and your post says something different.

For example, the spreadsheet says you fed today, 4/23, at 11.5. Yet in your post you say you fed a couple of hours ago.
Dinner a couple of hours ago - so no food in this number

Not sure where I'm going with this except that 87 plus 40 = 127 87 plus 60 = 147. Those numbers might warrant at least a small dose.

Of course, you need to understand that when I picked up my foster kitty Wink from the shelter, they advised me it was ok to shoot unless the number was under 100. Anything over 100 was ok to shoot. So I would shoot 104, 102. Skipped shots and saw the numbers skyrocket into the 300's so decided to never skip again. I got brave and shot 89, 67, 93. And the numbers I'm quoting you were using an Alphatrak monitor, 30 points higher than a human glucometer. That was before I discovered this forum and learned a few things. Still winged it with Wink, supporting him through several hypos, gradually decreasing the dose almost daily. All this while transitioning him to low carb canned. It got to the point where I said, no more dry, no more insulin, lets see how he does. I ended up microdosing him for a couple of weeks after failed OTJ trial number 1 and then did OTJ trial number 2.

Are you ready to support a surf or a hypo tonight? If not, skipping would be ok, just remember that tomorrow he will be high and bounce for a while.
 
Re: 4/23 Jez - PMPS 87....

Deb & Wink said:
I'll think out loud along with you.

Looking at some of the data over the last week, it looks like you are getting a 40-60 point food spike. Not too sure this interpretation is correct because your spreadsheet says one thing and your post says something different.

For example, the spreadsheet says you fed today, 4/23, at 11.5. Yet in your post you say you fed a couple of hours ago.
Dinner a couple of hours ago - so no food in this number

I fed in the morning at 11.5 - that's why you see it the first comment - see how it says PMPS 12.5 after that (I know it can be confusing if you haven't been following the journey in Relaxed Lantus Land. That's actually a typo - should be AMPS 12.5 - thats why there are two numbers in the AMPS column. I haven't found an easy way to explain those unusual situations - but then again, I forget that other people look at these things

Not sure where I'm going with this except that 87 plus 40 = 127 87 plus 60 = 147. Those numbers might warrant at least a small dose.

As a rule - I get about a 40 point food spike - you will see it in the PM numbers sometimes because there are occasions where I have to feed at +11

Of course, you need to understand that when I picked up my foster kitty Wink from the shelter, they advised me it was ok to shoot unless the number was under 100. Anything over 100 was ok to shoot. So I would shoot 104, 102. Skipped shots and saw the numbers skyrocket into the 300's so decided to never skip again. I got brave and shot 89, 67, 93. And the numbers I'm quoting you were using an Alphatrak monitor, 30 points higher than a human glucometer. That was before I discovered this forum and learned a few things. Still winged it with Wink, supporting him through several hypos, gradually decreasing the dose almost daily. All this while transitioning him to low carb canned. It got to the point where I said, no more dry, no more insulin, lets see how he does. I ended up microdosing him for a couple of weeks after failed OTJ trial number 1 and then did OTJ trial number 2.

Are you ready to support a surf or a hypo tonight? If not, skipping would be ok, just remember that tomorrow he will be high and bounce for a while.


The answer there is no - I just can't stay up past midnight tonight I've been up late for me the past two nights shooting numbers below 150 and just don't have it in me to do a three-peat.

And an even bigger problem is that if I shoot late tonight I can't shoot +12 tomorrow = it would have to be a +10 or +11 or skip....so one way or another there is likely going to be a skip in there somewhere

Thanks - I appreciate you thinking out loud as well.....now let me go see where she sits - cause its only an hour late and maybe she'll be up enough that it becomes workable.

In the words of the Terminator - I'll be back...
 
Re: 4/23 Jez - PMBG 87....+13 77

Deb and Wink said" Are you ready to support a surf or a hypo tonight? If not, skipping would be ok, just remember that tomorrow he will be high and bounce for a while.

and you replied:
The answer there is no - I just can't stay up past midnight tonight I've been up late for me the past two nights shooting numbers below 150 and just don't have it in me to do a three-peat.

And an even bigger problem is that if I shoot late tonight I can't shoot +12 tomorrow = it would have to be a +10 or +11 or skip....so one way or another there is likely going to be a skip in there somewhere

In that case, if I were you I would skip the shot for tonight. You are just too exhausted and have a fixed commitment you must do tomorrow.

Tomorrow is another day.

Edited to add: still dropping. I see the BG is down to 77 so, yes skip the shot and note that on the SS.
 
Took the question mark off - thanks for your help Deb and Wink. She's been flat green since +9.5 and is holding steady - even dropping a bit.
I'd like to test a bit more but she's not enthusiastic about it - and since I'm not planning on feeding any more this evening - we'll just see what I get in the morning.

Autumn, it certainly seems like she took your advice about the gud greens :mrgreen:
 
Yep skip tonight you can pick it back up tomorrow if you need to, but you need sleep and you have to work in the morning and function. So just skip tonight get a good night's sleep and tomorrow will be another day...

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top