4/23 Grizoulis PMPS 388,+7 135, AMPS 473

Kokkinoulis

Member
Dear administrators,

@Wendy&Neko , @Bandit's Mom , @tiffmaxee , @Marje and Gracie , @Chris & China (GA)@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Previous post:https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-20-grizoulis-amps-500-pmps-407.300224/#post-3266354

Grizoulis still has high BG levels except at night between +4 to +9 when his BG falls sharply and then rises sharply. Could this be Somogyi effect?
In this case I should reduce insulin instead of increasing it. I don't know what to do. Should I increase insulin dose to 2 iu, stay more days at the same dose or decrease it?
 
Last edited:
The high numbers in the day are him bouncing from the lower numbers at night. It's good to see that he's seeing blues and greens every night. The bouncing will reduce with time - as his body gets used to the lower numbers.

With the nadirs in the 50s that you are seeing on this dose, you don't have scope for an increase. Just hold the dose for now.
 
The high numbers in the day are him bouncing from the lower numbers at night. It's good to see that he's seeing blues and greens every night. The bouncing will reduce with time - as his body gets used to the lower numbers.

With the nadirs in the 50s that you are seeing on this dose, you don't have scope for an increase. Just hold the dose for now.

Dear Bhooma, Thank you for your prompt reply and support as always. How many additional days do you think he should stay at the same insulin dose of 1.75 or we will think about it and discuss it every other day according the BG numbers? Today is the 5th day at 1.75 iu. Have you seen other cats with such a big difference between high numbers all day ( peaks) and nadirs? It is also strange that he and his brother Kokkinoulis are both diabetic. Grizoulis is very thin (3.7 kg) and the libre don't last 14 days on him (average 5 days with gaps) as on his brother and Kokkinoulis is fat (7.3 kg) with acromegaly.
 
Dear Bhooma, Thank you for your prompt reply and support as always. How many additional days do you think he should stay at the same insulin dose of 1.75 or we will think about it and discuss it every other day according the BG numbers? Today is the 5th day at 1.75 iu. Have you seen other cats with such a big difference between high numbers all day ( peaks) and nadirs? It is also strange that he and his brother Kokkinoulis are both diabetic. Grizoulis is very thin (3.7 kg) and the libre don't last 14 days on him (average 5 days with gaps) as on his brother and Kokkinoulis is fat (7.3 kg) with acromegaly.
I have a question about the Libre that you were using As I use a Libre 3 on Ivy All the time. Most of the time with us, I can get close to 14 days (or even 14 days from the Libre).
My question is, is your vet applying the Libre, and are they using glue? If they use glue it can flood the sensor and give bad readings, skips and cause it to fail very early.
I highly recommend joining the Facebook group Freestyle Libre for Dogs and Cats. they have tons of information on how to apply the sensor yourself, how to use it and troubleshooting suggestions.

I apply all of my sensors myself and I never use glue.
I hope this information is helpful. If you need any further information, feel free to let me know. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
How many additional days do you think he should stay at the same insulin dose of 1.75 or we will think about it and discuss it every other day according the BG numbers? Today is the 5th day at 1.75 iu.
When you start seeing nadirs in the range you want them to be in, you hold the dose till the numbers start going up (requiring an increase) or he drops below 50 and earns a reduction. There is no fixed number of days to hold the dose in such a situation.

Have you seen other cats with such a big difference between high numbers all day ( peaks) and nadirs?
Yes, for newly diagnosed diabetics, the bounces can be pretty sharp when they first start seeing greens. They can go from greens to reds in hours. With time, the bouncing will be less wild. I also don't know how much of these swings are due to the Libre which can give pretty different numbers than a meter.

Glad that @Staci & Ivy responded on the Libre. I was going to tag her for it anyway. :-)
 
I have a question about the Libre that you were using As I use a Libre 3 on Ivy All the time. Most of the time with us, I can get close to 14 days (or even 14 days from the Libre).
My question is, is your vet applying the Libre, and are they using glue? If they use glue it can flood the sensor and give bad readings, skips and cause it to fail very early.
I highly recommend joining the Facebook group Freestyle Libre for Dogs and Cats. they have tons of information on how to apply the sensor yourself, how to use it and troubleshooting suggestions.

I apply all of my sensors myself and I never use glue.
I hope this information is helpful. If you need any further information, feel free to let me know. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Ivy,
Thanks a lot for your reply. Here we have only libre 2. The vet uses a little glue and I had no problem at all with my other cat Kokkinoulis (his brother). With this cat the libre has many problems. Maybe the reason is that he has no fat only skin and bones...the same problem I faced some times with insulin as it went out of his skin. Unfortunately I cannot measure him with blood sugar meter because he has very sensitive ears due to his chronic rhinitis and he is also very naughty. I cannot also applied libre to him myself for the same reason and I inject him insulin with difficulty. I have attended this fb group for libre since 1.5 year before when I started to use it to his acro brother. The libre that he wears this week works only when he is calm and he does not move a lot. For this reason I think that it has something to do that he is a very thin cat without fat tissue. How many kg is your cat?
 
Last edited:
Hi Ivy, Thanks a lot for your reply. Here we have only libre 2. The vet uses a little glue and I had no problem with my other cat Kokkinoulis (his brother) at all. With this cat the libre has many problems. Maybe the reason is that he has no fat only skin and bones...the same problem I faced some times with insulin that went out of his skin. Unfortunately I cannot measure him with blood sugar meter because he has very sensitive ears due to his chronic rhinitis and he is also very naughty. I cannot applied libre to him my self for the same reason even I injected him insulin with difficulty. I attended this fb group for libre 1.5 year before when I start to use it to his acro brother. The libre that he wears this week works only when he is calm and he does not move a lot. For this reason I think that has something to do that he is a very thin cat without fat tissue. How many kg is your cat?
Ivy is around 6.8 kg (15 pounds) so she’s probably fatter than your kitty.

I understand the challenges you are facing.

You could try covering the Libre with a Tegaderm covering, which is very thin and sheer. It helps to hold the Libre in place.
I use that instead of glue as the Facebook group insists the glue can kill the sensor. I understand you’re doing the best you can, but I am afraid that that glue is harming the sensor for you.
Here are a few pictures of the Tegaderm and what it looks like. Maybe it’s just something you can consider

upload_2025-4-23_9-4-1.jpeg

upload_2025-4-23_9-4-20.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-4-23_9-4-1.jpeg
    upload_2025-4-23_9-4-1.jpeg
    45.9 KB · Views: 51
  • upload_2025-4-23_9-4-20.jpeg
    upload_2025-4-23_9-4-20.jpeg
    72.8 KB · Views: 50
Back
Top