4/23 Enana +13.75/44 +14/64 +14.5/64 skipping PMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/23 Enana AMPS 148 +1/128 +2/67 +2.5/46

No spitting at sweet Enana ...Gordo...that's not nice.

Good catch on the +2.5 there...Surf it Enana.
 
Re: 4/23 Enana AMPS 148 +3.3/47 +3.6/52 +4/49 +4.5/46 +5/49

Wow -- Enana is certainly is doing some amazing things today. Glad you were around to test at the +3 and catch what looks to be an interesting day.
 
Re: 4/23 Enana AMPS 148 +3.3/47 +3.6/52 +4/49 +4.5/46 +5/49

Thanks everybody! Im so excited :-D :-D :-D

Gave 1/2 tsp of HC at +5 :-D :-D Thanks Sienne.
 
Re: 4/23 Enana AMPS 148 +4/49 +4.5/46 +5/49 +5.5 47 +6/53

Natalia: with a number below 50, a newly diagnosed kitty earns a .25u reduction. I see from your SS that you've been following the protocol like that. If you do feel like she is not holding reductions, you can try and shave. Quite often you have to go up and down a bit to finally get down and I see that's what you've been doing. She has earned a reduction, though.
 
Re: 4/23 Enana AMPS 148 +4.5/46 +5/49 +5.5 47 +6/53 +9/101

Thanks Marjorie. I have been reducing when she drops below 40 though. She didnt today but got to 41 @-)
 
Re: 4/23 Enana AMPS 148 +4.5/46 +5/49 +5.5 47 +6/53 +9/101

Then you should probably be consistent with what you have been doing especially if one of the folks more experienced with dosing has been helping you on that. It is an automatic reduction for ANY cat that drops below 40. So if she doesn't drop below 40, how do you keep her reductions going? I know some of the longer-term FD kitties don't reduce until they see three numbers on different days under 50. I've done that with Gracie as well. Like I said, tho, I'd go for consistency with what you've been doing especially if it works.
 
Re: 4/23 Enana AMPS 148 +11/85 +12/65 Stall?

Natalia: this is the lowest number you've ever shot; you got her up today by giving her HC so that blue number is manipulated. Therefore, we don't know if this is a dropping number or this is the 2nd dip of lantus and it makes a big difference. A dropping number could be unsafe to shoot; a dip is not. FWIW and IMHO, if I didn't have any more data than you do for shooting these low numbers, I'd probably stall. But it's your decision. If you do stall, you need to NOT FEED and check every 15-20 mins to catch the rise. As soon as she starts rising, you can shoot.
 
Re: 4/23 Enana Stalling +12/65 +12.25/56

Sorry...lantus lingo
FWIW: for what it's worth
IMHO: in my humble opinion :lol: :lol:

Remember when we stall, we usually only do it up to +14. If she's not rising by then, we skip the shot and start over again tomorrow at whatever time you need to. Looks like she is continuing to drop. IF she goes below 50, feed her (always feed the 40s and below when stalling) but then you'll have to get a couple of rising numbers after food so you don't shoot a food spike. If I were you, I'd move "stalling" to the end of the numbers in your subject line....it kinda gets lost when it's next to "Enana". I'll check back in in 30 mins. If she rises, I'm not sure what dose you want to shoot.....she came so close to going below your cutoff number for reductions of 40 today. I'm hoping someone else will check in to help you with what dose to shoot once she starts to rise.
 
Re: 4/23 Enana +12/65 +12.25/56 +12.5/53 Stalling

I cannot stall past +13.25. :?

If I have to feed below 50 and not shoot a food spike...how do I know is not a food spike? @-) @-)
 
Re: 4/23 Enana +12/65 +12.25/56 +12.5/53 Stalling

You have to wait.....until you get two rising numbers about 30 mins apart each. Going to look at your SS. BRB.
 
Re: 4/23 Enana +12/65 +12.25/56 +12.5/53 +12.75/52 Stalling

Here is some very important info if you haven't seen this before; this applies to low numbers typically during the cycle but it's got some important info to always keep in mind:

How to Handle Low Numbers

I always think you should err on the side of caution so if she comes up enough for you to shoot and no one comes along to advise you, I would shoot the BCS dose because you don't have data. EVEN if you do that, you must stay on top of it. You must get a +1, +2, +3 to make sure where she is. If you can't monitor her tonight (and I'm assuming you have HC since you did earlier), then I would skip the shot. Right now it looks like she's surfing...all those last three numbers are essentially the same.
 
Re: 4/23 Enana +12/65 +12.25/56 +12.5/53 +12.75/52 Stalling

What is up enough for me to shoot?

If she starts rising...should I shoot 60?
 
Re: 4/23 Enana +12.25/56 +12.5/53 +12.75/52 +13/ 49 Stalling

Ok...she means business tonight doesn't she.

If she's rising and you are comfortable that it is not food as I explained before, then you can shoot a 60 but you really must stay on top of it. Theoretically, if she's rising without it being a food rise, then she's at the end of her AM cycle; the number will come up a bit, you shoot, and then you get a beautiful overlap in a perfect world because then shortly thereafter, she'll start her PM onset. Natalia...remember, safety first, though. I don't know if you have time now to feed her and have her come up enough to know you are not shooting a food spike.
 
Re: 4/23 Enana +12.5/53 +12.75/52 +13/49 +13.25/41 Stalling

You probably need to plan to skip this shot and she definitely gets a dose reduction.
 
Re: 4/23 Enana +12.5/53 +12.75/52 +13/49 +13.25/41 Stalling

Yes, you need to skip if you can't stall any longer. At this point, I would try to get her up above 50 and plan on skipping...don't be afraid to get the karo out. This is a definite dose reduction.
 
Re: 4/23 Enana +12.5/53 +12.75/52 +13/49 +13.25/41 Stalling

you can always start again tomorrow.....good job! both of you!!! looks like she wants that reduction....so if it were me i'd skip tonight.....as Marjorie said....
 
Re: 4/23 Enana +12.5/53 +12.75/52 +13/49 +13.25/41 Stalling

Natalia: so tomorrow morning, just get her back on her regular time since you missed a shot. You don't have to worry about any delays, etc. Also, you should get her above 50 but you shouldn't have to worry about her hypoing tonight if she's not had insulin. I would probably make sure she is up and continuing to go up and then get a good night's rest. She may bounce big time...or may not. You never know. Good work!!!
 
Re: 4/23 Enana +12.5/53 +12.75/52 +13/49 +13.25/41 Stalling

WOW Enana, whatcha up to girlfriend??? This sure is a change huh? I'm so glad to see you in the greens but let's not go too low k? I just tested Choco before giving him his (late :roll: ) dinner and he was at 55. Uuuuhhhh, I'm thinking that is kinda low and I'm not sure what's up with that but I'll test him again in 2hrs. Maybe there is just something in the air tonight making some of the kitties numbers low. I hope you start to come up and surf the green waves for a while. Have a great night guys! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/23 Enana skipping PMPS

You should be happy, Natalia....look at Enana's SS! She saw green 3 cycles in a row...nice!!! :mrgreen:

Good job managing her numbers today, too. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top