4/23 Ella+2=82,+3=68+4=70 +5=55 5.5=73+6.5=115+8=124

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/23 Ella+10=117+11=113 pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68

she`s sitting upright on the bed,looking around like she`s hallucinating. She just ate another tbsp of lc. my +4 is suppossed to be in 10 but i think i should do it now.
 
Re: 4/23 Ella+10=117+11=113 pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70

She is surfing. I would do a +5 since the typical nadir has not hit yet, and you are feeding bits with each test. I will be heading to bed soon, but can probably check before I go. I think there are a few late nighters who can help if you need it.

Whew! What a day you have had! But look @ miss ella go!
 
Re: 4/23 Ella+10=117+11=113 pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70

Hi tpr, I'm just on for a few min., my head is killing me, but saw this post.

I've only been at this since Nov 2011, but I do have one suggestion. I see you are feeding at every test and thats good, so do I, kinda for a treat, but I use the food… The thing that may be a problem is if you feed two tbsp. of food each test, she may get to full, and when she goes even lower, she may not want to eat at all. So I usually give 1/2 tsp. of food, at each if it looks like she is going to keep going down.

I'll be on and off tonight, after my head stops hurting.
 
Re: 4/23 Ella+10=117+11=113 pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70

Thanks Carolyn!

Dyana said that if she went below 50 she would earn a dose reduction. Seeing as I'm helping her surf, is it possible that she would go under 50 if I wasn't here to help?
 
Re: 4/23 Ella+10=117+11=113 pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70

Thanks for the tip Daphne! She does get full so I should pace her. Does she have to eat with every test?
 
Re: 4/23 Ella pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70 +5=55 (hc?)

we are at 55. should i feed her some hc? her nadir is usually near +8
 
Re: 4/23 Ella+10=117+11=113 pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70

Does she have to eat with every test?

No, not at all, I just give it for a treat after getting poked. Daphne loves her food so much, I use it as a treat, but just a 1/2 tsp. if I know she is going low, and I need her eat, otherwise, I give her a 1 tsp. for snacks, about 2 to 4 a day. I just had an example last night, she went low on me, you can see the SS.
 
Re: 4/23 Ella+10=117+11=113 pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70

I see that you are testing Ella every hour. I dont give Rosy any food as treat for her poke, instead I give her a tiny tiny piece of no grain salmon treat( this I got from the local pet shop). I give her HC gravy only when she falls very low (bg<40), but thats only me. If you give her food every hour, she will easily get full & refuse to have food. And esp when Ella is not a great eater, she might connect food to poking which you dont want.
I read from your previous that Ella doesnt eat on her own, she wants her dry knibble? Can you give her ONE pcs of the no grain dry knibble as treat instead of feeding her the tsp of wet canned which can be very filling with the water content?
 
Re: 4/23 Ella pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70 +5=55 (hc?)

I'm not supposed to give dose advice yet, but if I'm the only one on here, (hope someone comes on soon), I would see if she goes lower, so you will know if she gets a dose reduction. (that would be below 50), so I would give her some LC at 55 and see what the next test is. I would test now.
 
Re: 4/23 Ella pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70 +5=55 (hc?)

Yes I agree with Daphne. If Ella is my cat, I'll let her have little bit of LC & let her surf. Take her bg in an hr, if you are scared 30min. The LC will not raise her bg too much. If you give her HC, yes you'll feel "safe" but Ella's bg will zoom. It all depends on what you want from her. Dont worry, read the protocol Tamara. Yopu are doing great!
 
Re: 4/23 Ella pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70 +5=55 (hc?)

If you want to see if she should get a reduction... no.
If you want her to surf, feed what you think is appropriate (m/c or h/c).
Test @ 5.5 or 6. And act accoeding to the numbers.

If she does not nadir until +8 you could be in for a long night. :( naps are good!

I have to get to sleep (5am wake up). Stay online and keep asking for help if you need it. You have done an amazing job today!
 
Re: 4/23 Ella pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70 +5=55 (hc?)

she doesn't want her food:(
i don't have grain free kibble. i have some of her m/d diabetic kibble. she doesn't eat treats.

daphne: thanks for being here with me as well. it's ok that you can't give dosing advice. i appreciate the comapny:)
 
Re: 4/23 Ella pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70 +5=55 (hc?)

so just to clarify: if she's under 50 then give her hc. That's what I believe the protocol says.
 
Re: 4/23 Ella pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70 +5=55 (hc?)

That's fine if she does not want to eat right now.
If she goes below 50, you will want to give her a small bit of karo and test again in 15~20 minutes. Repeat until you see 2~3 rising numbers.

Small bit could be a few drops or more. Ecid! Rub it on her gums if need be.
 
Re: 4/23 Ella pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70 +5=55 (hc?)

I am too new to give you advice on dosing but I relied on the help from forum members & this to help me along
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=15887
Dont panic Tamara. If you are scared of Ella go into a hypo which is unlikely, give her tsp of HC. If you are really scared, you can mix in a wee bit of sugar or syrup with her usual wet & give her. This will boost her up immediately.
 
Re: 4/23 Ella pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70 +5=55 (hc?)

I could also give her hc if she drops below 50. I don't have karo but I have maple syrup. The hc I have is 18% carbs.

sorry carolyn...i know you have to go to bed!
 
Re: 4/23 Ella pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70 +5=55 (hc?)

I'm here for a while. So if she goes below 50, and she doesn't want food, give her the Karo like carolyn said. You don't need much of that, just a little on her gums. Its important to test every 20 to half hour… until you know she is going to stay in safe numbers, I think it should be 2 test in 2 hours, something like that.
 
Re: 4/23 Ella pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70 +5=55 (hc?)

Ok, the syrup or the 18% then… try to give the gravy part of the food, it has the most carbs. and she won't get as full. You want her to stay hungry.
 
Re: 4/23 Ella pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70 +5=55 (hc?)

Hi there Ella and tpr. I'm in the same boat as you tonight. New to greens and +3 and +4 both at 71. This is stressful, but Orange will keep you company!
 
Re: 4/23 Ella pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70 +5=55 (hc?)

ok thanks ladies! The info sheet is helpful although it says I should feed all the way to 60 and if she refuse then give her some syrup. I will test again soon.
 
Re: 4/23 Ella pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70 +5=55 (hc?)

Glad to know we have other friends in our boat to keep us company:)
 
Re: 4/23 Ella pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70 +5=55 (hc?)

I'm pretty sure it says after you get her to stay at a safe number for two hours. So test every half hour until you see a 55 or 60, then test in an hour, and if the number is higher then, test one more time in another hour, and if that number is the same or higher, then she is pretty safe. Don't forget if she is below 50, you get a reduction if she is newly dx.
 
Re: 4/23 Ella pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70 +5=55 5.5=73

Just got 73 at 5.5 so according to your info i can test again in an hour. I wonder if the lc influenced this number?
 
Re: 4/23 Ella pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70 +5=55 5.5=73

ECID, do you know if Ella is very carb sensitive. Daphne isn't too much, kinda surprised at the 73 at 5.5, that was fast, so maybe Ella is very carb sensitive. Also, what % was your LC?
 
Re: 4/23 Ella pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70 +5=55 5.5=73

she was carb sensitive with the dry but not as much with the wet. it's only 4%. her nadir, at least i think, is closer to +8 so I'm going to have to monitor.
 
Re: 4/23 Ella pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70 +5=55 5.5=73

her nadir, at least i think, is closer to +8 so I'm going to have to monitor.

Yes, I hope you can. I just went through a reduction myself with Daphne two nights ago, and I'm exhausted. I hope you get a few test in before you go to bed. I'll check back in a bit, I need to rest some… You'll probably get some late night people on soon.
 
Re: 4/23 Ella pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70 +5=55 5.5=73+6.5=1

+6.5=115

hmmm..i was hoping she wasn't going to bounce. will nap for a bit and check her at +8
 
Re: 4/23 Ella pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70 +5=55 5.5=73+6.5=1

Just checking on Ella, looks like you are ok for tonight. I'm just not that experienced with this yet, I don't know if it was the food that gave you the 73 and the 115, or it's a bounce. I'm sure someone will be able to tell you that if you ask that question. I wouldn't want this to start all over again tomorrow. I would want to know that answer, especially if you will be going to work again in the AM and you did not get a reduction tonight. I'm off to bed, I'll need to get up for Daphne's +3 tomorrow, until she is settled into her new dose.

Also, try to keep Karo on hand and some wet HC with gravy for next time, and you can be sure there will be a next time. :mrgreen:

Nice numbers tonight for Ella, and good job keeping here surfing.

Hope someone will be able to help you in the early AM if needed.
 
Re: 4/23 Ella pm= 93+1=99+2=82,+3=68+4=70 +5=55 5.5=73+6.5=1

+8= 124

Thanks for checking in Daphne! Yes, it would be nice to know what made her numbers jump. She's still in the blues and rsising slowly so I don't think it's a bounce.
I hope you have a restful night! I have tons of wet food,strips and syrup around in case this happens next time.

Tamara
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top