4/23 Eleanor AM 101 I Don't Shoot This Low-Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...81-6-253-pmps-214-3-192-5-114-5-5-101.156632/

Eleanor dropped to 84 last cycle on 5.50 units. I have been raising her dose according to TR because her bg was so high. The plan was that I would go back to SLGS when her bg came down.
It has now so following SLGS, she dropped below 90 so I am going to reduce. Discussed last night whether to reduce to 5 u or 5.25u. But I'm still not sure how much I should reduce.

Because of my health and requiring sleep, I need to try to keep her from having this kind of duration.

I am sick and exhausted and have not slept because I am so worried. I don't understand
what is going on with her BG. In 4 years this is the first time she has been so weird - going
so high and flat, getting up to 5.50u of insulin, then coming down and staying flat.
I feel completely lost.
@julie & punkin (ga), @Wendy&Neko, @Jill & Alex (GA),@Gill & George

I have to delay because I have never shot this low and just can't do it now when I have no idea what is going on. But I need advice,

When she has dropped down into green before, she has always popped right back up.
 
Last edited:
I just had this a couple times recently in the morning, one I shot and ended up giving carbs, one I skipped and she spent the day high after her food took effect.

Take a deep breath, relax, and wait two hours for the food to kick in, retest and decide what to do with the additional data in hand. By then I'm sure folks more experienced than myself will weigh in.
 
I just had this a couple times recently in the morning, one I shot and ended up giving carbs, one I skipped and she spent the day high after her food took effect.

Take a deep breath, relax, and wait two hours for the food to kick in, retest and decide what to do with the additional data in hand. By then I'm sure folks more experienced than myself will weigh in.

Thank you.
 
If you have not fed her yet retest and see if her numbers are going up. Yesterday you had discussed shooting 5 or 5.25 units today, Her numbers are actually in a very nice range last night and it would be a shame to let her go back into higher numbers. If you are able to test regularly today then you could shoot the 5 units. Remember that her numbers will rise once she has eaten.
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...81-6-253-pmps-214-3-192-5-114-5-5-101.156632/

Eleanor dropped to 84 last cycle on 5.50 units. I have been raising her dose according to TR because her bg was so high. The plan was that I would go back to SLGS when her bg came down.
It has now so following SLGS, she dropped below 90 so I am going to reduce. Discussed last night whether to reduce to 5 u or 5.25u. But I'm still not sure how much I should reduce.

Because of my health and requiring sleep, I need to try to keep her from having this kind of duration.

I am sick and exhausted and have not slept because I am so worried. I don't understand
what is going on with her BG. In 4 years this is the first time she has been so weird - going
so high and flat, getting up to 5.50u of insulin, then coming down and staying flat.
I feel completely lost.
@julie & punkin (ga), @Wendy&Neko, @Jill & Alex (GA)

I have to delay because I have never shot this low and just can't do it now when I have no idea what is going on. But I need advice,

When she has dropped down into green before, she has always popped right back up.
Oh Julie! I wish I could advise you! Maybe tag Gill & George as they are in Spain and probably up? An option that was given to me once when I had the same AMPS was to wait and give a shot at +6 and not give another until the next am scheduled shot to keep on schedule but hopefully someone will be here soon!
 
If youthat'se not fed her yet retest and see if her numbers are going up. Yesterday you had discussed shooting 5 or 5.25 units today, Her numbers are actually in a very nice range last night and it would be a shame to let her go back into higher numbers. If you are able to test regularly today then you could shoot the 5 units. Remember that her numbers will rise once she has eaten.

I've been feeding her.
I know she is in good numbers that's why I am so upset. I don't want to mess her up but I cannot stay up to monitor her.
 
I've been feeding her.
I know she is in good numbers that's why I am so upset. I don't want to mess her up but I cannot stay up to monitor her.


If you have already fed her then the numbers will be food influenced. Since you are not able to monitor her you could consider shooting a reduced shot...maybe 3 units...which will give her some insulin to keep her from going too high but should not bring the numbers down too much.

Unfortunately there are not a lot of people on right now. :bighug:
 
Julie, since you fed her all ready and if you are going to around today, you could do two 18hour cycle. So at what would be the +6 today, you would shoot her and then skip tonight's shot and then shoot her your regular AM time tomorrow. It will keep her from getting too crazy high. That is one option.

Or:

Wait 2 hours today after she has eaten and shoot her but then you will be off 2 hours for your schedule. If you can afford to have her that off schedule, you could do that and each day bring her time up by 30 minutes to get her back on your schedule.
 
Julie, since you fed her all ready and if you are going to around today, you could do two 18hour cycle. So at what would be the +6 today, you would shoot her and then skip tonight's shot and then shoot her your regular AM time tomorrow. It will keep her from getting too crazy high. That is one option.

Or:

Wait 2 hours today after she has eaten and shoot her but then you will be off 2 hours for your schedule. If you can afford to have her that off schedule, you could do that and each day bring her time up by 30 minutes to get her back on your schedule.
Thanks Bobbie!
 
Bobbie And Bubba said:
I'll be on for a bit if you have any questions.

Thank you Bobby. I can get off schedule. I would rather do that and try to catch it as soon as she is at a number I feel comfortable shooting rather than let her get really high.
But how much should I reduce the dose??
 
If you have already fed her then the numbers will be food influenced. Since you are not able to monitor her you could consider shooting a reduced shot...maybe 3 units...which will give her some insulin to keep her from going too high but should not bring the numbers down too much.

Unfortunately there are not a lot of people on right now. :bighug:


Thank you
 
If you want to shoot a reduced dose this morning, I'd try 4.75 units. Have you tested her again since you fed?

I think I would try a 5.25 unit dose when you get back to giving her normal shot. The 5.0 didn't seem to be enough and the 5.5 seems to be too much.
 
Sorry Eleanor, been out pruning trees this morning, didn't get notification of the tag.

Looks like you have a plan, seems to make sense.

:bighug::bighug:
 
Sorry I wasn't around earlier, Julie. I had trouble logging in to FDMB.

I'm not sure why you increased Eleanor from 5.0 to 5.5u. If you're following TR, the only time you increase by -.5u is if your kitty's nadir is over 300. Eleanor has been surfing in yellow numbers. I think you were a little over zealous in your dose increase. If you went back to SLGS, dose increases are made in 0.25u increments only.

It would help if you could update your spreadsheet with this morning's numbers. I can't tell at this point if you've shot or skipped this morning.
 
Sorry I wasn't arounsr, Julie. I had trouble logging in to FDMB.

I'm not sure why you increased Eleanor from 5.0 to 5.5u. If you're following TR, the only time you increase by -.5u is if your kitty's nadir is over 300. Eleanor has been surfing in yellow numbers. I think you were a little over zealous in your dose increase. If you went back to SLGS, dose increases are made in 0.25u increments only.

It would help if you could update your spreadsheet with this morning's numbers. I can't tell at this point if you've shot or skipped this morning.

Sienne, I'm so glad you are here. I'm having trouble with the SS. I have not
shot yet. It is +15, the BG is 198. High enough to shoot but I'm scared.
 
Sorry I wasn't around earlier, Julie. I had trouble logging in to FDMB.

I'm not sure why you increased Eleanor from 5.0 to 5.5u. If you're following TR, the only time you increase by -.5u is if your kitty's nadir is over 300. Eleanor has been surfing in yellow numbers. I think you were a little over zealous in your dose increase. If you went back to SLGS, dose increases are made in 0.25u increments only.

It would help if you could update your spreadsheet with this morning's numbers. I can't tell at this point if you've shot or skipped this morning.

I'm going to try again to update the SS. Please don't leave for a minute.
 
Make sure you're signed in to Google. Sometimes, the site will pitch you out and you need to sign in again. You should see your Google e-mail address in the upper right corner if you're signed in.

While I don't disagree with what several of the experienced people posted 2 days ago about increasing, I would have waited a little longer given the flat yellow cycles and your health concerns. I think it was a judgement call. That said, Eleanor wasn't in dangerously low numbers. At some point, you're going to need to become more comfortable with the green numbers. Those normal range numbers are good for Eleanor's health.

You have a choice, you could skip the AM shot and shoot at your usual PMPS time. Or, you can shoot at +18 today and for the next shot. You'll have to figure out if an 18 hour schedule is feasible for you and your sleep cycle.

 
O
Make sure you're signed in to Google. Sometimes, the site will pitch you out and you need to sign in again. You should see your Google e-mail address in the upper right corner if you're signed in.

While I don't disagree with what several of the experienced people posted 2 days ago about increasing, I would have waited a little longer given the flat yellow cycles and your health concerns. I think it was a judgement call. That said, Eleanor wasn't in dangerously low numbers. At some point, you're going to need to become more comfortable with the green numbers. Those normal range numbers are good for Eleanor's health.

You have a choice, you could skip the AM shot and shoot at your usual PMPS time. Or, you can shoot at +18 today and for the next shot. You'll have to figure out if an 18 hour schedule is feasible for you and your sleep cycle.

Okay. Thank you. Do you have a suggestion on dose?
Problem with the green numbers is I can't stay up if she drops really low.
 
Let's cross that bridge when you get there. Keep in mind, you can always abort a cycle by feeding HC. If you're going back to SLGS, the reduction number is 90 which would give you more breathing room.
 
Sorry, Julie. We don't get "tagged" until we log on to the FDMB. I'm just seeing this now.
The 5.5u dose broke through the predominantly flat yellow cycles and Eleanor's numbers fell into a nice and safe range! Just what we were hoping for. :)
See how things go today...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top